We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
32
24
18
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
24
18
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half board room was recently refurbished double room a great place to stay bed and breakfast bugibba square sea front swimming pool stay there again guesthouse frankie charlie toilet malta cereal kettle
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

Good:
- Room was sufficiently large and clean
- Everything I needed was provided
- The breakfast was more than adequate
- The staff was very friendly
Less good:
- The room in front of the toilet was a little bit too small, but I am 1.94m tall
- You could hardly call the pool a swimming pool, but I did not use it anyway
In short: for a stay of 4 nights it has more than enough fulfilled the expectations.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mobile823048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

We recently stayjed at the Bucanneer (8/09/2018 t0 18/0/2018) on a recomendation from a friend who has used it many times and we were not disappointed. We were late in booking accomodation and accepted a family room even though there was only 2 of us but not an issue for us. The night before we flew out we had a call from staff at the Bucanneer to say there was an issue with the shower in this room would we accept a double room for the first 2 nights to which we agreed. They subsequently paid our taxi fare from the airport because of this..
We arrived before midday and our room was ready immediately and we checked in within minutes of arriving. The room was small but not cramped with a bathroom with shower and WC. It appeared to be recently decorated and was comfortable. We had been informed that there were few coat hangers so took a few of our own but no great problem. We had booked half-board so enjoyed our first meal there in the evening. Great selection of 3 courses and reasonably priced with the inclusive deal. We had plenty to eat but for large appetites not sure it would suffice. Breakfast was continental and again for us, enough choice and enough to eat.
Monday we were transferred to the bigger family room which was a good size but again short on coat hangers. All rooms seemed to be air conditioned and the units were very quiet and efficient. There was a large fridge in the rooms which was handy for keeping drinks cold. The rooms were clean and well presented, cleaned every day with small shampoo and shower gel bottles being supplied every day and also coffee tea and milk. There was only enough for 1 cup each a day but again easy enough to by a small jar of coffee and some milk.
All the staff were very polite, pleasant and helpful and seemed to genuinly care about the clients in the guest house.
There was a wireless internet connection provided (free) and we had no issues connecting to it. There was a sun terrace with chairs and sun loungers and a small pool that was the size of a jaccuzzi but without the bubbles. We used it a couple of times just to cool off at the end of the day.
Our room had sockets with usb charger points on them which was very handy, a small balcony but this unfortunately overlooked a main road so we rarely used it. We were only about a 5 minute walk to the front anyway and to be honest spent most of our time out of the room and sight seeing. Buggiba Square was no more than a 10 minute walk away with lots of bars and restaurants and we spent most evenings just watching the world go buy. Seemed that many of the locals met up here in the evenings and especially at weekends.
Would we go back again? Very definitely but perhaps next time just go bed and breakfast not because of any problems but now we have been to Malta we know there are more places to see in the evening.

Room tip: Not all rooms had a balcony and not aware of any rooms having a sea view.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithspalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Family of 3 in a triple room.
We stay there for 6 nights.
No Bed sheets or towels changed all this time. We had brekfast in the price that was nothing for nothing a simple can - juice coffee, and typical marmelade. The Owners were unfriendly not even a typical "Goodmorning".
The room has a glass door to the minimal toilet, that permits others to share the experince of use. I have good comments only for the girl and the Lady that serve us. Never again!

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank bas22533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Back from an enjoyable 11 night stay at the Buccaneers Boutique Guesthouse in Bugibba. On arrival & throughout our stay the staff at this family run hotel were both helpful & friendly. It is in a great position, only a 2 minute walk to the square or to the seafront. Drinks & food are very reasonably priced, we ate here from the ala carte menu 3 times & the food was delicious, as well as the English breakfast on a morning. The hotel has recently undergone a refurbishment & our room was very modern & comfortable. The only problem was that the room & bathroom could do with more cupboards & storage space for clothes & toiletries. The sun terrace on the roof was very handy with a tub & there was never any problem getting a sun lounger during our stay. All in all it was a great little hotel that served our purposes superbly & we would definitely stay here again if ever we returned to Bugibba.

Room tip: We stayed in room 15 which was very quiet & very comfortable........had a great nights sleep every night.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

I recently stayed a night here in a twin room. The room had seemingly been recently refurbished (not the best decorating job but good enough and fine for the money), and it was stylish/functional, and clean. A warm welcome on arrival once we found the reception desk which is tucked at the back of the cafe/bar. There's a useful lift as well as wide stairs up to the hotel rooms and ramps for trolley bags as access is via the next external door from the cafe/bar/restaurant. Tasty food and attentive staff member at the restaurant, even though it was fairly late as we didn't check in until 9pm, with a discount for being a hotel guest. It's also in a great location, very close to Bugibba Square and the beach. Breakfast was free and a continental selection with attentive staff.

The only thing that let it down was the feeling of being taken advantage of as we left. We checked out and asked where the taxi rank was as we were transferring to an apartment we had for the week from the day after arriving in the country. The person on reception that day (different to the night before), instead of telling us where to find the nearest taxi, said sit down I'll call one to collect you, which he did. However, when the taxi dropped us off we were charged E10. We only traveled 1 mile which would have been a 15-20 minute walk (which we had planned to do but ended up with too much luggage). This seemed like a complete scam. There's no way a taxi would cost E10 during day time; we paid E20 to travel all the way from St Julian's to Quawra at 1am!!! So this was obviously a scam between the hotel/hotel worker and the taxi driver he called. It left a very sour taste to our holiday and most definitely on the hotel which is why I can't give it the 5 stars I would have otherwise.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews