We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
21
47
80
43
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
47
80
43
116
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2018

PROS: Close to the beach and city-centre. We had hot water only after waiting for the boiler to be ready.
CONS: Compared to the price per night, we did not have high expectations. But the rooms were dirty, it smelled very ugly, one bed was broken... I recommend you bring your own towels. There is NO WI-FI in the rooms, only the reception. What bothered us the most was the LACK OF COMMON SENSE of the employees (especially the receptionists). I traveled a lot and was never treated with so little respect (not only me, my entire family). When the caretakers were informed to clean the rooms, because they were very dirty, we felt bad for calling them - they were using the same wiping cloth for the tables (where we eat), as well as for cleaning the balcony, with no proper cleaning solutions...
We traveled a lot during the day and only came back to take a shower and sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 9 weeks. We are used to going to budget hotels but this was the worst place we have ever stayed in. The day after we got there we asked for a blanket, pillow and a heater the man behind the reception said an heater would be 50e and he would bring pillow and blanket that evening, none ever arrived so we went out and bought the items. The room was damp, it had no outside light so was really dark all the time. The mattresses were filthy. The towels and teatowels and bathmats were full of holes. Workmen were drilling and hammering most mornings from 7.30 am. The staff were really miserable. We asked for another room twice but never got moved so tried to stay out for as long as possible. The room was that closed in you couldn't get a phone signal. The Internet you could get was downstairs near Cardor reception but they turn the lights off about 4.30 ish so you have to sit in the dark.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cath131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We weren't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews but we were very happy with our apartment, we stayed just down the road from the hotel in the complex court. Rooms were cleaned every day and cleaners were very friendly. The only thing to let this hotel down was how rude the staff were. Women on reception never had a clue, spoke rude and down to you. Too be honest all the women staff in the hotel all had faces on them and was rude. The men were alot better except the little old bloke that takes your room number in the restaurant, no manners what so ever, so rude and aggressive with how he says things. Other than the staff our stay was enjoyable. After a couple of days you will know how the hotel works, we were never told you had to order snacks at the bar so we always went in for lunch and didn't really enjoy it. Entertainment is more for older generation. We would definitely visit Malta again and come back to this same area as everything was around including the main bus station but we would try another hotel just because of the staff.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Just got back and have to say it was a nice place ..its being done up and when we got there there was no hot water in the room but this was soon sorted ...room cleaned every day and clean towels brought ...the staff are friendly and helpful it was busy so that speaks volumes ...a nice holiday not far from the sea and shops

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michellew2851967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Must have stayed at the Cardor/Canifor about 10 times over many years visiting Malta & I have to say I have never had a problem with either staff, cleanliness or food.
My appartment was cleaned daily, the towels looked newish & appart from one short period the only lift was constantly working. The appartments are basic no doubt but very functional, the bath has a shower which i ended up using because the baths are very deep and the water runs cold before its full.The choice of food at the Canifor is in my view very good, the hotel is excellently situated near the bus station, and many of the best bars, I'm there again in June & next March....love the place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JOHNNYHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews