We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Pool Living Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Pool
Pool
Living Area
Dinning table
Kitchen
Dinning Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Play area
Jacuzzi
Jacuzzi
Outdoor relaxing area
Pool
Pool
Pool
Outdoor dinning area
Pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
St. Paul's Bay, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
170206
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The photos of this place, as beautiful as they are, really do not do it justice. The setting and views are breathtaking and it feels like you are in the middle of nowhere - so peaceful and secluded yet only 5 mins walk from a few cafes and a supermarket - about 20 mins walk to bustling Qawra/Bugibba. We had not one complaint about the farmhouse, it is maintained and furnished to a superb standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and barbeque area are great
Liked least: The paths to Qawra are poorly maintained so not great with a pushchair
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy-Lov...
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recomended for all the family all ages everyone had their own space and communal space excellent”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The farm was just what we where looking for everyone had their own space and the out door facilities where great especially the bbq and pizza area. The bedrooms and bathrooms were fine and comfortable. Everyone enjoyed the jacuzzi young and old it was big enough to fit a whole family and a few extras

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: Kitchen utensils plates glasses etc not up to the standard of the house bit cheap but did not spoil the holiday just needs up grading
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarolineB...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa, and great pool area”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 13 people staying for a week, and we found the house great and luxurius, and the outside area with the pool, garden and big dining area was perfect. Great plase for a big group. The pictures do not lie! We would recommand paying for air conditioning if you are not staying in the winther. Scotts supermarket is big and nice and right down the road. Plenty parking space on the property. The owner was nice and welcoming.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel M
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Farmhouse”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from this stunning farmhouse property and couldn't wait to write the review. 16 of us, from 4 generations, stayed with ease and a good holiday was had by all. Beautiful property, full of character and luxury. A mix of old and new, from exposed stone walls and beams to complete glass walls, absolutely beautiful. Fabulous garden and pool. We had great fun making our own pizzas and cooking them in the pizza oven. Perfect location, peaceful but only a 3 minute walk from a well stocked supermarket. 5 minute drive from St Pauls, which has many shops and restaurants. The owner was very pleasant and responded to a couple of requests very efficiently. The whole booking process was superb from start to finish with assistance from where to hire a wheelchair to supplying a travel cot. We did have a problem with flys but I believe it could have been the time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and dinning areas
Liked least: The flys
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murmietie...
denver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely, even though not your conventional home away experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
5
people found this review helpful

35 friends and family gathered in Malta for a milestone birthday celebration.
Of this group, 16 of us stayed at Burmarrad.

Lovely outdoor area with large covered dining area (table seats 16), bar, outside fridge (great for having chilled drinks at hand), enough dishes and cutlery for 16 are kept in the outside dining area. If you are catering an event, there's enough room in the outside dining area for four 6 - 8 person round tables.

We enjoyed the refreshing swimming pool. Typical Maltese architecture with modern touches of metal and glass. Upstairs one detached bedroom w/queen bed and attached shower room. Upstairs four more bedrooms - one corner room with queen has an adjoining entry room with two fold down bunk beds ideal for kids - two bedrooms with queen beds and one bedroom with two single beds. None of the four bedrooms have their own bathroom. Instead, at either end of the hallway are one bathroom w/bathtub and one bathroom w/shower. Upstairs also a nice open area where you can quickly get your clothes dried in the sun. The clothes stand was in the washing machine/dryer room when we rented. The other popular area for drying clothes was the outside rack on the back of the house. This was often shaded, so did not dry as fast as the upstairs open deck.
Downstairs two more bedrooms - one with two single beds, one with a queen bed. Both of these bedrooms have their own bathroom.
House will come equipped with 16 towels, and if you ask, toilet paper in each of the bathrooms as well as hangers for each of the bedroom closets. When we arrived some of the beds did not have bedsheets, some of the bathrooms had no toilet paper (sure you can go to the supermarket down the road, but when you fly in to Malta getting toilet paper is an un-holiday like chore!. No soap or shampoo in any of the bathrooms. Not all bedrooms had wastepaper bins. These were delivered on the same day upon request. Compared t other home aways, this property is sparsely equipped.

Also, bring your own bath towels if you do not want to pay 3 euros per towel.

Internet service worked well in the living/dining area by the front door. This cost 5 euros per day.

We did not feel A/C was a necessity. This is an additional 25 euros a day. Just try to keep doors to the outside closed if you are in Burmarrad between June and August.
We did not receive the contract until one month before we arrived. Other home aways always immediately sent us a detailed contract to sign once we expressed interest. This is very helpful since chances are that you will be sharing this large house and it is helpful to let all the others know what the 'rules' might be.
Check-in was 2 p.m. and check-put was 10 a.m.
Unlike other home aways we were not given detailed instructions on how to leave the house i.e. no need to pull off bedsheets, place this in dryer, clean the kitchen, empty the trash cans. The owner just sends in his maids (who seem to make a clean sweep of anything you may have left behind or not left behind including tp). It would be nice of the maids could leave spices, salt, sugar for the next guests.

The large blue light bug kill machine in the living/dining area does work. Just make sure you plug it in correctly.

Salt, pepper, sugar, coffee, spices - all that you'd better provide yourself. The house is not fully equipped. There are enough plates, glasses, cutlery, but nothing much in terms of serving bowls and anything extra. Yes, there was a toaster but for some reason it smelled burned when in use.
The kitchen has a nice side-by-side freezer/fridge. Large enough to store food for 16.
The stove is electric and works once a pan or pot is placed on it.
On the right back of the stove top i(if your back is to the fridge) is an outlet that can be accessed by pushing in the knob.
Detergents are sparse. We did find a couple of brooms and a dust pan. It would have been helpful to find more in terms of cleaning supplies in order for us to keep the home clean during our stay. If you are planing to do any laundry (I washed the cloth napkins from the party to be used for the Sunday brunch), bring along a bag of washing powder. As stated before, there is not much apart from beds, bedsheets, towels and closets (with three hangers each) in the house.
There's a lovely herb garden out back as well as a vegetable garden. Rosemary, dill, peppermint...
The surroundings of the house are wonderfully quiet. Although Maltese hunt birds, enough were around the preoprty to serenade us. The house is at the end of Dwieli Rd ('triq Dwiele). Continue on beyond the dead end sign and hang a left. The name of the house 'Milqui' (sp?) means welcome and you will see a sign on the house. If you check Google Maps, it's the house w/ the pool on the right (I believe - cannot remember the exact details).
Note: garbage is collected every day. There are two garbage bins outside the house slightly up the road to the right. Recycling is not mandatory. Don't throw out you wine bottles - the supermarket down the road paid back 1/2 euro per empty bottle returned.
If you really want your trash to be taken by the garbage truck. you have to roll it all the way down the road to the dead end sign. Instructions are non-existent. A sketch of where to roll those garbage cans would have been helpful.
There is no phone i.e. landline in the house.
The doorbell rings loud and clear but you will hear it best if you hang out by the front door.
I did not use the jacuzzi but those that did enjoyed it.
We organized a party for 35 one evening with a local chef (if you want recommendations for this, a photographer, an exceptional tour guide, feel free to contact me). The chef used the wood-buring oven. Seemed to have been challenging since you cannot let the fire go out.
At night pack away all the cushions otherwise the night sprinklers will soak them.
All in all a beautiful house with good-quality furniture (the owner owns furniture stores). His brother designed the house. They've owned it for 20 + years.
If you are looking for a luxurious, comfortable, modern home, stay here. Just don't expect detailed instructions or a fully stocked house like you might be used to from other home aways.
We left quite a bit of food and drink behind. No problem. The maids will take it.
We did contact the owner a few times during our stay (where exactly do those garbage cans go? Help, the automatic gate does not open etc.) and someone picked up immediately and was most responsive.

There's ample parking once you drive through the automated gate. You will receive two house keys - one has a remote for the automatic gate.

There's a hospital just down the road next to the well-stocked supermarket.

Just a hop (by car) from St. Paul's and Qawra. If you are looking for an excellent place to also enjoy seafood, try Tarragon in St. Paul's. Nice sea views from the upper floor.

Any questions, feel free to contact me via Tripadvisor. The living area has a stereo and TV. Actually the house is stocked full of falt-screen TVs. We never turned on any as we had enough entertainment hanging out with everyone. No loudspeakers or stereo in the outside dining area.

All in all a lovely place to chill. Just don't expect your usual home away treatment (fully-stoked house and you do the cleaning at the end).

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing