We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
205
307
218
98
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
307
218
98
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mary rose overlooking the harbour small hotel paul's island wet room lovely hotel bus stop great position travel kettle fruit juice st paul s bay quiet area cold meats cooked breakfast sea view room walk in shower changed daily
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Great location right on the sea front in the harbour with a fantastic view out particularly from their pool and main restaurant area.
Rooms were very clean but basic, and only one plug socket available in the room. Small lobby bar often started the TVs very loud in the morning which if balcony doors were open was a bit disturbing.
Approx 10-15 minute walk into the main town and square with a large selection of restaurants, bars etc.
Staff were friendly and helpful throughout the stay both at reception and at the bars however did not use their restaurant for a lunch or evening meal so cannot comment.
Large variety of hot and cold food selection for breakfast but quality was questionable on occasion, very greasy and a bit odd (i.e. mushrooms covered in garlic).
Overall, would definitely stay again and for the price was good in comparison to a lot of others.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank W3884AUhannahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Hannah,

Thank you for your review we appreciate your comments, we are sorry that you did not have the pleasure to eat in our restaurant but hopefully there is always a next time :)

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

The hotel is pretty average. The rooms are decent and the pool is decent, nothing fantastic but it’s clean and cheap so suited me for the 4 nights I stayed here.
Rooms have air conditioning, a nice sized bathroom and a pretty amazing view of the bay, especially at sunset.
There’s a McDonald’s, Pizza Hut, pubs and restaurant all a short walking distance from the hotel. Although there’s are amenities nearby, St. Paul’s bay isn’t the liviest of areas. I found myself paying for cabs into st Julian’s on most evenings for the bars. If you are looking for somewhere to chill and take it easy then the location is perfect but anyone under 30 might a little bored in this area.
The hotel staff are helpful and friendly, however, do not use them to book taxis as they charge commission and you will end up paying extra.
The little bar next to the reception is ok but I wouldn’t recommend buying spirits as they pour very small measures! My Malibu and lemonade had the tiniest splash of Malibu, it wasn’t worth the money. If you are going to drink there, stick to the beers.
The breakfast was nice, full English with a selection of coffees and cakes.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Abby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Abby,

Thank you for your comments but kindly note that all are measures in the bar are controlled and are poured accordingly we carry out stock takes every day which would result in overs, besides the fact that we never had any complaints with this regard. I can assure you that I will look deeper into the matter personally. Taxis prices are standard as well with other local taxis and you are also free to book with whoever you desire what we can say that our taxis offer professional and timely service.

Regards


Max G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

This is the 4th stay and booked up for 2019 I love this hotel even more now as getting updated and little cafe sells cakes to die for .we were given the new 1st floor room used to be the bar,restaurant and it was loverly again staff are polite. Rooms done everyday clean and bright. Rosa is amazing as always an assett to the hotel we love her . Nothing to dislike . We love staying there on BB basis we look forward to going every year

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor I lived room 107
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cherrylwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Cherry,

Thank you for your email which we really appreciate it.


Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

My only advice is do not book half board as the meals choices in evening were the same the whole 14 days. When we asked for an alternative we got told it would cost extra. Drinks were delivered to table at end of main course. If you want bread with soup you have to ask for it. If you want a dessert you have to ask for it. The owner seemed more intersted in catering for people who walked in off the street than the actual hotel guests. We were ignored a lot of the time. Put a real dampner on holiday as no variety. We ended up eating out alot just to have a change of food.

Room Tip: Always get a safe. Air con can get quite chilly at times but excellent if warm.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank Ailsa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear Ailsa,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments although these are not justified as we offer a a large variety of meals in our restaurant and they are the following :

Starters

Fish Cakes with sweet chili sauce
Or
Fried Calamari
Or
Garlic Bread
Or
Soup of the day
Or
Beetroot , feta cheese and walnut salad
Or
Tuna Salad
Or
Chicken Salad
Or
Garganelle Ragu
Or
Spaghetti Aglio Olio
Or
Risotto Mushrooms
Or
Orecchiette at Salmone

Main Courses

Grilled Flank Steak
Or
Chicken with mushroom sauce
Or
Pan fried calamari
Or
Fish of the day
Or
Pizza
(Margherita/Funghi/Pepperoni/Vegetarian)
Or
Omelettes
(Ham, Cheese, Tomato, Onion)
Or
DAYS SPECIAL

Sweets

Choice of sweets available daily


The only items that you would have to pay for are the items from the A La Carte menu which obviously are more expensive.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Room was very nice, booked sea view , view fantastic.Location of hotel ok, nice walk to the square in Bugibba, about ten minutes.Cleanliness was fine.Value ok.The restaurant was nice, breakfast had a good choice, evening meals , could have had more choice,seemed that half board customers were treated below a la carte diners. The service in the restaurant was very slow and you were lucky if you got what you ordered

Room Tip: room lovely
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank malc2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Max G, General Manager at Gillieru Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Dear Malc,

As I have explained in the previous comment I have just changed teh menu variations where the choices have been enhanced thinking in mind also the service aspect.

I am sure our guests will be more then happy with the new menu

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews