We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another perfect stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vigilius Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Lana
Certificate of Excellence
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“another perfect stay...”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We just came back from our 4th stay at the Vigilius. After a 10-day journey through other parts of Italy, it was once again the ultimate end of our vacation, thanks to the peacefulness/design/gastronomy/philisophy of this place and the efforts of the management to accommodate our requests (thank you!)
It just makes me so angry that there are ignorant people like Alaska83, who really doesn't understand the philosophy of a place like this.
One question for parents with younger children: please choose one of the many child-friendly hotels in the neighbourhood to spend your holidays, where your children can run around and where they can make noise. You will avoid irritated faces of guests trying to find the perfect quietness, where this hotels stands for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bienM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    66
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
229
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

After we left our car in Lana and follow up with the cableway... we change our perspective about our everyday small problems. It was amazing to trek all around for hours in this amazing nature without cell phones or cars. Great hotel, with excellent architectural details, very minimal designed but with so luxury felling.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We just read alaska83, obviously written by someone who blindly books a hotel to only then discover that it is situated 1500 metres above sea level, only accessible by cable car, only offering tv on request, keeping the atmosphere free from wifi rays and radiation of any sort, built by a star architect who, of course, took his liberty to create unusual rooms including one step to take to enter a shower big enough for two (in case they behave).

For us, having spent our sixth holidays at Vigilius, this reads like somebody is trying to take revenge for whatever, we don't know. It does, however, not at all meet what we, our friends and other guests experienced so far and again this August. We did find some dishes too abundantly salted, we had to wait on one or two occasions too long for our morning coffees, and we still think that the sauna deserves a little bit more space and clearer marks that it is a finnish style textile free area, but!

But we just loved the luxury of not having to have all these often useless features of lluxury hotels situated in cities and, in exchange, enjoying well designed (and clean!) rooms, decent food and an extraordinarily friendly staff (spa! restaurant 1500!). We loved waking up in absolute silence, having breakfast without the unevitable Vivaldi's Four Seasons groaning through a loud speaker, having cocktails without iPad disciples around playing computer games and not having an eye for the montains and large trees outside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newstante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zurich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Hotel Vigilius and absolutely loved it. In fact, we were supposed to only stay three nights but were so sad to leave that we extended for an extra day.

The location of the hotel, on the Vigiljoch, is absolutely beautiful and we loved the hotel's simple and modern architecture. We stayed in a suite on the back side of the hotel (overlooking the forest rather than the Dolomites) and were very happy with our choice. Although the rooms on the front side have a more spectacular view and the Dolomites and surrounding mountain ranges are beautiful, we thought that looking out at the forest was very peaceful and a bit more private.

We ate at both restaurants (the South Tyrolian Stube Ida as well as the more formal Restaurant 1500) and had fabulous meals all times at what we thought were very fair prices for the quality and location (and the meal in 1500 was divine even though we had been hesitant about it based on the menu descriptions). We also went out one night in Lana by taking the gondola down and then returning with the last ride back at 11 pm, which left us more than enough time to have a nice meal and drink afterwards.

As far as the hotel facilities are concerned, the hotel does not have a gym, but given the availability of hiking/biking trails around, we didn't miss it. We used the sauna (which was great (very hot) and had space for ca. 12 people) pretty much every day and never had a problem with crowding, although the weather was not great and it was pretty cold for July.

We were also very impressed with the staff and service, especially with Angelo (waiter in 1500 and in charge of the fabulous breakfast) and Benjamin, an intern working there.

By the end of our stay, we still didn't want to leave, but found that we had been able to really relax while we were there. The beds were very comfortable, it was incredibly quiet and peaceful, and was an ideal getaway. Although the rooms are supposed to have an internet connection, we had some trouble getting that to work and ended up using the communal computer to do the necessary. In the end, we were actually happy not to have it, but if that is important to you, then that could be a minor downside. But that's really the only one we can think of.

In short: we highly recommend the vigilius and will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trips78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We have been at the vigilius, beautiful and original property so to speak a different 5 star hotel. Its philosophy takes you into a new dimension, a quiet one, no TV (unless you ask for it), no Wi-Fi... totaly surrounded by nature, no contact wiht the outside world unless you feel like it and then a cable and a password will be given to you to tell your family that you do not really miss them. The food is impecable and the people are very friendly and helpful. It was a really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layla78Koeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lana
2.8 km away
Hotel Schwarzschmied
5.8 km away
Relais & Chateaux Hotel Castel Fragsburg
39.3 km away
Alpina Dolomites
Alpina Dolomites
#1 of 25 in Alpe di Siusi
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel Der Waldhof
Hotel Der Waldhof
#3 of 12 in Lana
183 reviews
7.5 km away
Miramonti Boutique Hotel
4.5 km away
Alpiana Resort
Alpiana Resort
#4 of 12 in Lana
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lana

Been to Vigilius Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vigilius Mountain Resort

Property: Vigilius Mountain Resort
Address: Pawigl 43 | 39011 Lana Sudtirol, 39011 Lana, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Lana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lana
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lana
Price range (per night): $430 - $659
Hotel Class:5 star — Vigilius Mountain Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vigilius mountain resort is 1,500 meters above everyday life. This boutique luxury resort is a member of Design Hotels and can be reached exclusively by cable car, the panoramic windows in the 41 rooms furbished with natural materials like wood, clay and linen offer inspirational views of the Dolomite Mountains and the surrounding woods. Here it is possible to open up, and draw new vigour and energy from the placid wisdom of nature, while trifles are left behind in the valley.In the spa, the infinity pool, whirlpool, sauna and steambath offer relaxation and regeneration as well as carefully selected massages and treatments, using pure and natural care products.Move & explore is the name of the sports and relaxation programme, including outdoor and indoor activities: mountain biking, hiking, nordic walking as well as yoga, 5 Tibetans(R), archery and much more.Blessed with its location in South Tyrol, the cuisine is indicative of the area with two cultures: Alpine and Italian. Restaurant 1500 and Stube Ida invite to experience two different gastronomic concepts, creative international cuisine or traditional local specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vigilius Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigilius Mountain Hotel Lana
Hotel Vigilius Mountain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing