We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Lots of Fun

Seen a bunch of great shows here. Wish they had a better selection of alcohol, particularly... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
BobbyK154
Awesome concert venue

First and foremost - this converted landmark theater has kicking acoustics. The house sound system... read more

Reviewed 7 November 2018
PaoloStatiUniti
,
Short Pump, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 97 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Richmond
from USD 69.00
More Info
from USD 69.00
More Info
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 16.58
More Info
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
63
25
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
63
25
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews concert venue vip area intimate venue awesome concert great sound great acoustics folding chairs stadium seating first floor acts stage slanted
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Recently visited The National for the first time for a music concert. Overall the theater staff was relatively nice, the ladies out front and the security checking us in were great. The gentlemen watching the front of the stage were pretty nice during the concert. At the conclusion of the concert, in spite of showing our VIP bracelets, we kept getting told to move farther back until we were asked to go outside. We were actually supposed to meet up with one of the band members and I felt like they were not very accommodating. We ended up having to go out front, and eventually were able to meet up with our friend, but it sure seemed like it would have been nicer to not ask us to leave as quickly as they did. Not a major deal, we understood they needed to clean up, but we felt unwelcome at that point.

The only other complaint was the temperature in the venue. It was not a sold out show, but the floor got quite hot. Even though we were not dancing our hearts out, we were all drenched.

The venue itself has great sound, and the old building has a lot of charm. There are a few garages in the area, and hotels within walking distance. We travelled over three hours to see the band, and the lighting and sound system were pretty great. Overall the size of the stage was big, and there seemed to be no bad places to watch from. They had some seated areas (folding chairs) on the back of the first floor, and more seating upstairs. It was dark, but the floor looked to be old hardwood floor and it is sloped, like a high school auditorium but without the stadium seating.

Overall I would go back, but I didn’t find the staff as nice as some other concert venues I’ve been in, and the temperature made a few people around me feel overheated enough to somewhat affect their ability to enjoy the show.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Dirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

An old time theater looking a lot like the 1920's theaters around the country like the Florida Theater Jacksonville. Here one major difference is they took out all the bottom seats for standing room concerts. The next upper area is tables for the Local Founders as it seemed, and the the next two sets up are seats for viewing the stage. The seat rows are very close so we decided to sit in a back row so no knees were in our back. No one, thank goodness sat directly in front of us. 20 oz draft was 9 bucks. The sound is outstanding (be prepared for loud at Legwarmers). Very friendly staff who made sure people didnt block views in concorse at bottom of stairs.
Legwarmers were awesome 80s tribute band so would do again.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jaxdancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

I went to see Bayside with Hot Rod Circuit and Say Anything! The National is a beautiful venue! It isn't a huge venue, but it feels more intimate, and it has a gorgeous atmosphere! I had so much fun! The staff was very sweet. I didn't have to stand in line long! I spent the night having the time of my life! Great venue! Will definitely go again!

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank KateWest86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

This small but intimate venue provides great acoustics, good views and draws solid acts from across the nation. Facilities are well-maintained; though bathrooms could be better managed during 'large' shows as they frequently run out of essential items or require a quick clean up. Crowd control is fairly effective, though some events are clear boozers, where you may wish to upgrade to seating if brushing elbows with drunken college kids isn't your thing.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Went there most recently for Carbon Leaf a week ago, but have been there numerous times. A great venue! Acoustics are terrific regardless where you are. I'm always amazed at the quality and variety of bands this venue attracts.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank thelanrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews