We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Children's Museum of Richmond
Open today: 9:30 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great place for kids (and to see a submarine)

Great place to learn and burn some energy. It’s full of history since it in a Art Deco bldg that... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
Kirsten O
,
Florida
via mobile
Great place for young children!

We visited during a family reunion trip to Virginia on a weekday in late June. Our group had 7... read more

Reviewed 2 July 2018
edgcomb12
via mobile
Read all 192 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Richmond
from USD 65.00
More Info
from USD 51.94
More Info
from USD 38.00
More Info
from USD 34.00
More Info
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
77
60
30
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
60
30
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art room pre school water play area daniel tiger splash pad imaginative play great place for young children pretend play military id aaa members broad st spent the entire older kids we spent hours right next door a great place to spend carousel
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 192 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018

my 2 grandchildren,found the museum, to be very interesting and fun.we spent 4 hours veiwing the many exhirits.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank oldjeep96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

I came in expecting it to be a nostalgic museum for children artifacts, but it was a modern museum full of interactive and educational exhibits for kids. $1 off with military ID. There is a small gift shop that sells mostly educational toys.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Devon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Been members of the Portsmouth Childrens Musuem for years. In Richmond with my 10 yr old daughter and she said she wanted to come here. With AAA discount, cost $24 for admussion. Wasnt worth it.

Place is much smaller with fewer activities than Portsmouth. And the activities are all geared to kids up to maybe 7 and nothing of interest for the adults.

My daughter did like the art center but was bored with everything else.

Tip: the carousel cost $2.00 for 150 second ride.

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank tc195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Take a picture, then put your phone away and experience the play and discovery with the child that inspired your trip here. The play areas include: grocery, bank, plastic apple tree picking, dinosaur area with small cave, a water play area and 0-3year play and crawl cove to name a few. There are outside areas to discover including a mini splash area in the warm months. Saturday is a little busy for a visit but there are plenty of nooks and places for the kids to explore. Would love to see more staff around to continuously clean and replace discovery items as they disappear into other areas. Even more of these hands on items, especially on a Saturday would be great so all the kids get to play!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank SylviaTourstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Our son is 16 months old. He is still a bit young to enjoy all of the activities, but he still enjoyed the farm area and driving the ambulance. We will definitely go back once he's a year or two older. Prices were $9/person or they offer a $1 discount, per person, for military. Parking is onsite and free, which is always a plus! It was our first time and the staff was friendly and helpful during our ticket purchase.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MitchM146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews