We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy Old Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #8 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Buckner, Kentucky
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Classy Old Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

A large group of my family stayed here because we had a wedding in close by. The hotel is just beautiful and the service is outstanding. Very friendly staff. The rooms were very classic and clean and the beds were comfortable. The sitting area in the lobby is very nice and the food is great. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2DIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    223
    63
    36
    32
See reviews for
157
323
47
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here overnight on the way to Charleston. The hotel is nice, with a smaller more intimate feeling than a big corporate hotel. The decor is quite and tasteful. The location is awesome. It's right across the street from the restaurant, Tobacco Co, which is a great space with good food. On a Thurs night, they had live music (piano) which we enjoyed. In the morning, we went to the Urban Farmhouse for breakfast-- and this place is really special. Beautiful space, beautiful fresh food, great coffee. I will write it a separate review.

Other things to know about the hotel: the wifi is free and the valet parking is $20/night.
The hotel is supposed to be completely non-smoking, but there are balcony rooms on the top floor where people are allowed to smoke (on the balconies). The night we were there, the sixth floor was extremely smoky and we had to switch to the fourth floor. Something to know if you have smoke allergies or asthma-- don't get the sixth floor.

Otherwise, nice hotel. Probably not the best value, but very nice location on a cobblestone street with quick access to restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Avoid sixth floor if you have smoking allergies as people are allowed to smoke on the balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavender638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We are thankful that you have forwarded your recent comments and pleased to know that you enjoyed our great location.
We are a 100% non smoking but because we have balconies, attached to many of our upscale
rooms, some of our guests will smoke in the open air environment. We do apologize if any of our guests disturbed your stay with us. Please come back and see us soon. Thank you. Denny Pierce ,General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We just stayed one night here, but the hotel is a very nice, upscale classic old hotel. Front desk service and the valet were excellent. We did have some trouble with room service, having ordered some food that was never delivered. There is a lovely bar/restaurant downstairs with a good jazz singer. As mentioned, we didn't get to try the food.

Our room was lovely and large, overlooking the nightlife on Shocktoe Slip. Quite a night life too. On this warm February Saturday night, it was about as rowdy as Bourbon Street. If you are a light sleeper, you might request a room facing the back of the hotel. the hotel itself is quiet. There are scores of nightspots and places to eat among the cobblestone streets surrounding this nice old hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms near the front are large and have nice views...but can be VERY noisy on a weekend night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middle_Aged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We have recently won two awards. One as a “Readers Choice Restaurant” from Open Table and a second from Virginia Living Magazine as ”Best Boutique Hotel in Richmond”. We do enjoy a great location in the historic district of Shockoe Slip surrounded by a variety of restaurants, shopping and nightlife. Please let us know when you will be returning to Richmond so that we may assist you again. Thank you. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

i would really like to give them a better rating..my tale of woe with the hotel..
arrived placed in rm 405 changed clothes for dinner used the bathroom it overflowed onto the floor.
.called the ft desk very quick response..they couldn't fix the problem so replaced in rm 608 a upgrade.
went to dinner in the hotel..at dinner they didn't have the soup or salad we ordered ( wedge lettuce go figure)...didn't offer to sub for it either..placed order for dinner drinks and main course only..1 hour later and two baskets of rolls later dinner comes .. .also we suppose to have basil infused new red whipped potatoes..had whipped potatoes plain...
went back to room...very nice great views etc...tried to shower at 8 am and 10 am next morning...no hot water either time...had a very brisk cold shower...yahoo im ready for breakfast...was told my package only included a $20.00 credit for breakfast for two...(not in any of the account for the package..left a tip for $10 and $14 for the overage and still got waked on my card for the $ 14..breakfast $58... so you see i can't give a better rating

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. While I am encouraged that our staff quickly upgraded you to our Governors Suite, it is still disappointing to me that you had a less than perfect experience. Further, it is rare when I hear a complaint about the service in our restaurant. I have reviewed your comments with our Executive Chef and I promise, we will strive to do better. Thank you for choosing the Berkeley Hotel and please feel free to contact me directly at 804-225-5148 if I can be of any further assistance. Thank you. Denny Pierce, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed at this property many times over the years but have been remiss in not sharing my view. This is an excellent hotel with a great location and restaurant, but what makes this hotel excellentinstead of very good is the lady at the front desk named Starlet. She is the height of dedication to guest service. If when you call the person answering the phone makes you feel good just by the way she answers, you just met Starlet.

Room Tip: Ask Starlet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our staff member Starlet. We are proud of her and the customer service and attention to detail she provides to all our guests. I will insure she is made aware of your comments. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,792 reviews
1.1 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#7 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.4 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price range (per night): $200 - $323
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing