We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Berkeley Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 174*
USD 169*
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 166*
USD 157*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 154*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 196*
USD 172*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 303*
USD 257*
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jefferson Hotel(Richmond)
USD 312*
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Linden Row Inn(Richmond)
USD 213*
USD 162*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 135*
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 78*
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Governor's Inn(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 113*
USD 94*
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
579
274
82
45
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
579
274
82
45
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshockoe slipsmall hotelcobblestone streetvalet parkingtobacco companylovely hotelvalet servicecanal walkstreet parkingrestaurants and shopslocation is greatshockoe bottomroom was largegreat roomfront desk staffsouthern hospitalitybed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Room was large and the beds well appointed, but the towels and floor mat in the bathroom were frayed. We had a room that faced the alley so although the view was unattractive (could see staff outside smoking) there was no noise as noted in other reviews. I was surprised it had four diamonds. The service buttons on the phone did not work and I called the front desk for a wake-up call that I never received. The cobblestone street district is more a bar district for the 20-30 crowd. Lots of pub/bar related places to eat if thats what you are looking for, but limited shopping. We were visiting University of Richmond who recommended this location as a fun place. I did not find it fun with two teenagers in tow, and was uncomfortable walking around the area at night looking for a restaurant that had less of a bar atmosphere. Parking is $21 and the bell staff was helpful and quick. The front desk seemed to know little about the Richmond area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChaiChai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. Our housekeeping staff is reviewing all of our bathroom standards. We strive to exceed all Triple A four diamond requirements.We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope that you will come back to see us. If we can be of any further assistance please contact us directly at 804-225-2548. Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a comfortable hotel in a perfect location, right where the cobblestone streets of Shockhoe Slip meet the financial district. You can walk to a dozen great places to eat and drink, an independent book store, the canal, the state capitol, and most of the major office buildings. The hotel is relatively small and intimate: everything is tasteful and in good shape, and except for the front desk, most of the staff are kindness itself. They really go the extra mile. At the front desk, by contrast, an indifferent attitude must be part of the job description. There is a quiet, but very good restaurant. What the hotel lacks, in addition to a friendly front desk, is spark. It's quiet and a little bland.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.We do follow up on any feedback from our guests. Our front office management staff is consistently training and reviewing our staff to exceed our guests expectations. Please accept our apologies. There are some months of the year and some nights of the week that are slower than others.We hope that you will come back to see us soon.Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We booked 4 rooms for a group of 16 on a weekend getaway without our husbands or children. The Berkeley Hotel staff was super polite and helpful. And their Girls' Night Out package was perfect. We received gift certificates to use at a restaurant and nightclub across the street (The Tobacco Company), valet parking, and great room rates. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We'll definitely stay here again if our next annual trip returns to Richmond.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We would have given this hotel excellent, but we had a room facing the cobbled street and we heard every car that went down that street. Had we been staying more than the one night, we would have asked for a room change. We loved the large room and the little extras the hotel provided. The restaurant meal was excellent.
Room tip: dont get a room facing that street !!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aussiecocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I've stayed at the Berkeley Hotel multiple times on my trips to Richmond. It is well-located and charming. The rooms are all different, from L-shaped rooms facing the alley ways to beautiful corner rooms on the main road. All the rooms I have stayed in have been well furnished with modern amenities. The beds are fantastic and very comfortable. What keeps me going back is the service. They always remember my name and are very helpful with arranging transportation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nishan22_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews