We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice base for stay in Richmond”
Review of The Berkeley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Berkeley Hotel
Ranked #7 of 81 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
lb,il
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice base for stay in Richmond”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This small quiet hotel is a great base for a stay in Richmond. Many of the top tourist sites are in easy walking distance and the financial district begins right across the street. The room was nicely appointed and the bed was comfortable. Other reviewers have mentioned the noise from the bars and restaurants across the street but it was not a problem on a week night.Afternoon cookies in the lobby were delicious. Breakfast was good but a little pricey. I would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chr_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    226
    64
    37
    32
See reviews for
162
330
47
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Room was large and the beds well appointed, but the towels and floor mat in the bathroom were frayed. We had a room that faced the alley so although the view was unattractive (could see staff outside smoking) there was no noise as noted in other reviews. I was surprised it had four diamonds. The service buttons on the phone did not work and I called the front desk for a wake-up call that I never received. The cobblestone street district is more a bar district for the 20-30 crowd. Lots of pub/bar related places to eat if thats what you are looking for, but limited shopping. We were visiting University of Richmond who recommended this location as a fun place. I did not find it fun with two teenagers in tow, and was uncomfortable walking around the area at night looking for a restaurant that had less of a bar atmosphere. Parking is $21 and the bell staff was helpful and quick. The front desk seemed to know little about the Richmond area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChaiChai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. Our housekeeping staff is reviewing all of our bathroom standards. We strive to exceed all Triple A four diamond requirements.We sincerely appreciate your patronage and hope that you will come back to see us. If we can be of any further assistance please contact us directly at 804-225-2548. Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a comfortable hotel in a perfect location, right where the cobblestone streets of Shockhoe Slip meet the financial district. You can walk to a dozen great places to eat and drink, an independent book store, the canal, the state capitol, and most of the major office buildings. The hotel is relatively small and intimate: everything is tasteful and in good shape, and except for the front desk, most of the staff are kindness itself. They really go the extra mile. At the front desk, by contrast, an indifferent attitude must be part of the job description. There is a quiet, but very good restaurant. What the hotel lacks, in addition to a friendly front desk, is spark. It's quiet and a little bland.

Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennypppp, General Manager at The Berkeley Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.We do follow up on any feedback from our guests. Our front office management staff is consistently training and reviewing our staff to exceed our guests expectations. Please accept our apologies. There are some months of the year and some nights of the week that are slower than others.We hope that you will come back to see us soon.Thank you, Denny Pierce General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We booked 4 rooms for a group of 16 on a weekend getaway without our husbands or children. The Berkeley Hotel staff was super polite and helpful. And their Girls' Night Out package was perfect. We received gift certificates to use at a restaurant and nightclub across the street (The Tobacco Company), valet parking, and great room rates. The rooms were beautiful and clean. We'll definitely stay here again if our next annual trip returns to Richmond.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We would have given this hotel excellent, but we had a room facing the cobbled street and we heard every car that went down that street. Had we been staying more than the one night, we would have asked for a room change. We loved the large room and the little extras the hotel provided. The restaurant meal was excellent.
Room tip: dont get a room facing that street !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aussiecocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 km away
Omni Richmond Hotel
Omni Richmond Hotel
#12 of 81 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.1 km away
Linden Row Inn
Linden Row Inn
#8 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.4 km away
The Jefferson Hotel
The Jefferson Hotel
#1 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quirk Hotel
Quirk Hotel
#6 of 81 in Richmond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.8 km away
Hilton Richmond Downtown
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Richmond Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Berkeley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berkeley Hotel

Property: The Berkeley Hotel
Address: 1200 E Cary St, Richmond, VA 23219-4116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#9 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
#23 Business Hotel in Richmond
Price range (per night): $197 - $317
Hotel Class:4 star — The Berkeley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TravelClick, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Berkeley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing