We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service, light meal”
Review of Harvest

Harvest
Reserve with OpenTable
Harvest is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 692 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: On the walkway between Mt. Auburn and Brattle
Transit: Red Line, Harvard Square T Stop
Description: Located in the heart of Harvard Square, Harvest celebrates the modern New England table. We present contemporary New England cuisine focused on the region’s freshest ingredients. Tucked along a cobblestone pathway in the heart of the square, Harvest provides a welcome respite from the fast-paced world outside. Inside is a combination of soothing earth tones, supple banquettes, dark woods and pastoral art that lend an air of understated elegance. Our newly re-designed open kitchen, spacious bar, and fireside dining complete the comfortable interior. Graceful linden trees offer shade to the Garden Terrace, our private garden café that boasts fireside dining, blooming flower boxes, and heaters for the chilly nights of spring and fall. Noted by Travel & Leisure as a Harvard Square classic, Harvest has also been lauded for its New England Cuisine by Zagat, Boston Magazine and The Improper Bostonian.
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We stopped by here for drinks and a light meal after a long day. The service was impeccable and the food great (soup and salads). The only drawback was a large table behind a screen next to us that was having a celebration and were extremely noisy. It's not the fault of the restaurant, but we didn't stay as long as planned due to the excessive noise.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MaryM10159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018

The Harvest has always been one of our favorites for special occasions, this time my husband's birthday. It must have a new chef - it was even better than ever! Same ambiance, same good service, and, a special treat, unusually warm weather in October made it possible to dine outside.
The dinner included an especially wonderful appetizer - a pork pate with pistachios and cherries! Often unusual combinations seem created with the effect (how unusual!) in mind rather than the taste. The taste here was marvelous. The main dish, for me a chicken, for my husband a mushroom pasta, was also very good, though not unique. We skipped dessert because none of the choices particularly appealed to us, and we had birthday cake at home.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison C, Manager at Harvest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you so much, Marian! Executive Chef Tyler Kinnett has been with us for years, but I am thrilled to hear each and every time he has something new and wonderful for you to enjoy. Thank you for celebrating such a special occasion with us and Happy Birthday to your husband!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

Tucked into a quiet corner of Harvard Square, this is a great place to have a hornet meal in peace and quiet. There is a cool retro bar area for Mom and Dad. Plus the general dining area has wonderful food, fresh New England seafood choices and great steaks and general offerings. It is a haven when Harvard Square is too much. Reservations recommended.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tugty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison C, Manager at Harvest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you Frazier!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Returned to Cambridge to serve as a Marshall for the incoming Harvard freshman convocation ceremony. On a glorious and warm Saturday evening we walked through Harvard Square and found or way into the Harvest Restaurant, a gem, hidden along an unnamed alley walkway between Brattle Street and Mount Auburn Street, the shadows deepening.

We were graciously invited inside. As we took our table we walked by a couple of men sitting in the tree shaded Garden Terrace, both large but not soft, appearing quite powerful, one roguish with a tough nose and drinking a Sam Adams summer ale, the other a little taller, extremely fit with an aura of danger, he was sipping Moet Chandon nectar imperial. I had met both, very briefly, some time ago, they nodded our way, Spenser and Hawk, it was good to see them again and I wondered what danger they were cooking up.

Once seated we began with a French bottle of pink champagne, Laurent Perrier Cuvee Rosé. Our server poured, the rose twinkle creating a mischievous whoosh into the glass, a sound like the stirring of leaves in the breeze, the color a delicate blush with a subtle scent and nuance of red fruits, a refreshing aroma and lively/effervescent bubbles. Salud, to love and life we toasted!

Our first dish consisted of four different types of oysters on the half shell, we enjoyed, they had subtle tastes of the ocean/seawater, all slightly different, firm, clean, sweet, briny, plump, exhilaratingly chilled and fresh, accompanied with only the slightest touch of shallot vinegar.

Next we shared a bottle of Puligny Montrachet with our main dishes, the Georges Bank Haddock (with charred eggplant, confit potato, heirloom tomato, anchovy, caper, parsley & lemon) and the Coast Halibut (with peach chutney, scallion pancake, avocado, zucchini, lemon & cilantro). Both dishes presented elegantly, piping hot off the grille with wondrous aroma. Clearly, Executive Chef TK places emphasis on using locally sourced ingredients which titillates and enhanced the flavor of our meals.

The last act a double espresso to enjoy Choux à la Crème Brûlée and an Ice Cream/Cake dish wishing one of us Happy Birthday!

The food was delicious, the service was excellent, friendly and well executed, the lights were muted, at one point I listened to a meditative and contemplative jazz tune by Miles Davis, fine background music, the Harvest is warm, upscale with casual ambience, it is special.

The highlight of this wonderful evening, was sharing a birthday celebration with someone beautiful and magical, Yuliya.

As we walked down the dark alley on our way to the Charles Hotel, we heard a soulful whisper, sounded like Julia Childs, she said “return soon my passionate friends and in the meantime ride upon the wind and dance upon the mountain like a flame…”

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Nestled in Cambridge this is a great place for a special occasion. Is what we were told by our hotel. We sat on the patio which was comfortable on an early fall evening. The GM greeted us at the door and shared some history on the establishment. The wine list was very well thought out with a nice selection. The menu is listed as farm to table, yet few of the farms are called out on the menu. The food was good, the atmosphere was excellent and the service was average. Overall an underwhelming experience.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Meander5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harvest also viewed

 

Been to Harvest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing