We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
134
100
50
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
100
50
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator private bath quiche fourth floor shared bathroom boarding house off street parking yogurt single room breakfast room is small room an older building nice breakfast place to sleep free parking few blocks the staff was friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

I stayed here twice, nice quaint place with helpful staff. Waking distance to Harvard Square, very convenient. Room was small, TV was not big, but this was fine for me. Parking is a little troublesome, if you have big car, but they do have a second parking area couple of houses down the road, so was fine. Office staff was very helpful. I had to do laundry, and another guest had this occupied till 10.30 pm, they close this at 11pm, but the receptionist was kind enough to keep this open until I was done. Good breakfast, they had snacks, coffee and tea left out throughout the day. Would stay again here.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you for your kind and specific review~ Future guests will appreciate the details you provided. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I need to travel to Cambridge for work on occasion and so I have stayed in several hotels in the area. I stayed in a smaller single room with a bathroom. While the rooms are on the smaller side, and the amenities are somewhat limited - the hotel's prime location and nice breakfast make this a good value as a practical place to stay. The place has a nice quaint charm to it. One cute perk the hotel offers is the opportunity to send a postcard for free anywhere in the world.

Again overall, I had a very positive experience but a few small notes as an FYI: there is no elevator inside the building, which didn't bother me at all but you might want to request one of the lower floors in advance if that would be an issue. Also the TV I had was on the smaller side, but again that was ok for me.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

this is so close to Harvard, just a few minutes walk. I didn't even rent a car. The hotel has shared bathrooms but I never had a problem. Wifi is good. The main thing is the location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluecrocodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Location is awesome if you are visiting Harvard. However, the number of stairs with small children/strollers (or a wheelchair) is really tough. There are about 4 stairs to get into the building and then 4 floors of rooms. Not a big deal if traveling as adults, but 4 flights of stairs with a toddler and luggage is a bit much.

Rooms are cute and simple. Clean. Zero frills.

Lots of nice extras. Water bottles for everyone. Breakfast was good. Snacks left out throughout the day.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Matanitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on your stay. These are helpful to travelers and we appreciate them. While we cannot change the stair configuration, we do have a lift to get to the front door, and make arrangements for those who cannot do stairs at all. But, yes, this is an old house with some significant limitations.

We do what we can to make it as accommodating as possible...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is an excellent location to stay if you want to be close to Harvard Square. The most inexpensive room type here with small single bed and shared bathroom is an economical option and affordable in an area where everything is at a premium. The room's tiny and bare, bed squeaks and a bit soft, not much space to maneuver but serves the purpose if you require nothing more than a clean, budget friendly room in a well run inn. The shared bathroom wasn't an issue as it was right next to the room and pretty much available all the time. No in room coffee/tea making facilities but you can get that (and cookies) in the basement breakfast room all day. The included breakfast is pretty standard but adequate with some hot items.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael S, Owner at Irving House at Harvard, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for your kind and particular review. This is helpful to many travelers. We have marked the mattress in your room for replacement on the next order. Generally we try to identify all those mattresses needing replacement in our own housekeeping routines, but somehow this one was missed.

We are pleased you mostly enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again some time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews