We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A voyage across the seven seas of flavor”
Review of Little Donkey

Little Donkey
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Donkey is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 690 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Restaurant details
Description: Global inspired small plates and raw bar in Cambridge, MA. Little Donkey is the latest restaurant from James Beard Award-winning chefs Ken Oringer and Jamie Bissonnette of Boston's beloved Toro, Coppa and Toro in NYC, Bangkok and soon to be Dubai. Located in the heart of Cambridge's Central Square, Little Donkey is Oringer and Bissonnette's first Boston-area restaurant in over six years, offering a welcoming, day-to-night dining experience that features market-driven, global small plates, inspired by the chefs' world travels.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Yes, as the title suggests, we are big Portlandia fans. Little Donkey has nothing in common with the disappointing restaurant in that episode. This place is awesome! Everything we've tried is both adventurous and delicious. I have stopped in here a few times and will continue to do so. I'm partial to the King Crab fried rice, but try whatever catches your eye. You won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Andy,

Than you so much for joining us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

We enjoyed every dish we ordered at Little Donkey. Tuna tartare with a delicious mayonnaise, biryani, charmoula salad, lettuce wrap BLT with lamb bacon. We finished it off with a salted caramel sundae. Each dish was distinctive, delicious and larger than what we expected in a small plates venue. Service attentive, noise level high and light level very low. Young student crowd, especially in the large bar area in the front. Reasonable wine list.

Thank Rosetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for joining us! We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Rachel
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Had never heard of this spot before but took a chance last night while in the area. So glad we did! It was a Thursday night and luckily we had reserved a table in advance because they seemed to have a full house. Excellent waiter who offered to explain if we had any questions about the menu. We shared Lettuce wrap BLT, Parker house rolls (would not bother with them again to tell the truth), fried brine chicken and duck nachos. Everything was different but oh so delish. We shared a churro ice cream sandwich which came with a divine chocolate dip. The only thing we ordered which was a disappointment was the signature drink "Bomb====something" which was a fruity drink in a tiny glass for $14. We enjoyed the experience and the ambiance very much, although it was a little dark for me.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yankdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your notes and will be sure to share this with both our kitchen and management teams!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

The wait staff and front of the house are excellent. They made sure we were comfortably seated. It was fun place to hang out.

Thank greatlady482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for joining us! Looking forward to having you in to Little Donkey again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

We enjoyed our dinner at Little Donkey. Pupusas (with smoked pinto beans, chihuahua cheese, spicy slaw) were a group favorite as well as the charred avocado (with pepitas, yogurt and pomegranate molasses) and the duck nachos.Be sure to order the chocolate chip cookie dough (that comes on a mixer blade!!) for dessert. An absolute treat!

This is a lively, but not a quiet, restaurant. It can be hard to hear across a table with 6 people. It's important to make a reservation well in advance.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravelerWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleDonkeyBos, Guest Relations Manager at Little Donkey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for joining us and providing this feedback! We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Rachel Becker
rachel@jkfoodgroup.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Donkey also viewed

 

Been to Little Donkey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing