We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
189
106
48
16
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
106
48
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspope's summerroof terracesmall balconymain piazzaminute walkone way streetyogurttwo nightslovely hotelapostolic palacesmall streetgood sized bathroompapal residenceclean roomsoverlooks the lakepark your carsummer residence
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This is a lovely little hotel in the heart of Castel Gandolfo. It is quite small so I could hear all the noise from the hallways and breakfast service in my room - bring earplugs! The service feels very personal and all the staff were very helpful. I was in a town facing room but could see the lake from the side. The room was very clean with a good sized bathroom. I was there is October and they had already closed the rooftop terrace for winter but kindly opened it up for me to sit out on a hot, sunny day.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room to avoid street noise.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank NannyMcNadles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

I recently stayed at Castel Gandolfo Hotel which overlooks the beautiful lake Albano. The flooded volcanic crator allowed for a very dramatic view from the balcony of my room. Hotel is well run, clean and boasts an excellent location close to Piazza della Libertà. Room was good but I had issues with my shower resulting in one star being missed on the rating. Nevertheless, I had a good stay rounded off by a hearty spread for breakfast. Scrambled egg & sausage offered in the warmer. Coffee is excellent! The staff were friendly and professional. In typical fashion one would expect in a small village like this the "short stay parking bay reserved for hotel luggage drop off" sign gets ignored by everyone, therefore don't stress, just offload in the middle of the narrow one-way street and drive off to park your car in a free spot along one off the quieter residential streets. Looking forward to my next stay on a future trip to the area.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Kev1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend staying here if you get a room with a balcony overlooking the lake. The view is the only reason why this hotel stands above the rest. I don't understand their 4 star rating. There was NO JACUZZI or SMALL swimming pool or SPA services as advertised on their website.
Their cleaning ladies are super sweet and nice. Their other staff members seem to get bothered by guests presence and requests. They are not very nice and seem to make an effort to smile.
If you want a room with amazing views and great location this is the place. But don't expect anything spectacular apart from this.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stay728065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea P, Direttore generale at Hotel Castel Gandolfo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear guest,

thanks for your review.
We want only to answer to some issues you mentioned:

- some rooms have jacuzzi bath, if you were searching for it, you could book a room with!
- swimming pool and spa: never published this feature! we don't have a SPA, why you are mentioning this trouble? we only have an outdoor jacuzzi on the rooftop in summer period. next time read better before to book and say false things.

All rooms are equipped with: LCD tv, sky sat tv with international channels and all languages, jacuzzi bath or turbo shower, minibar, A/C, lake view balcony (some rooms), phone, room service at any time, international breakfast included.
On top, 4 stars hotel are classified considering the location as first: boutique hotel in a so central location (10 seconds walking from main square and Pope residence) has their construction limits, so if you were searching for 100 rooms and 20 floors hotel, you could book away from historic center, but you will not be comfortable with services and location.
At the end, look at the price you paid and please say also this comment to all people are reading your review.

Thanks and looking forward to welcome you again,

regards

Andrea Paolillo
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed at a nice apartment at Hotel Castel Gandolfo for two nights. The apartment was clean, it had an air conditioner, small balcony overlooking Lago Albano and it was equipped with all necessities for self-catering. We didn't use this facilities as there were lots of lovely small restaurants around. The breakfast was included in the price ( scrambled eggs, sausages, cheese, cereal, fruits, juice, coffee, yogurt etc)
The apartment was outside the hotel with own front door. The small street was very charming and quiet during the day but quite noisy at night. The music of the nearby restaurants can be heard till late. The only problem was the lack of parking in front the hotel. We had to drag our suitcases from the paid parking which was a couple of streets down the road. The receptionist didn't tell us that we could unload our stuff and then park the car. The designated parking space in front of the hotel that supposed to be available for hotel's guests for loading/ unloading was occupied during our stay no matter the NO PARKING sign. We had two children and a bit of luggage so it was very inconvenient. Apart from this we enjoyed our stay at Castel Gandolfo.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight on our
journey from the Salerno/ Amalfi area to Tuscany. The hotel is right in the center of the town next to many restaurants. It is also very near to the main piazza where you can find the Apostolic palace - the pontifical villa which is the Pope's summer residence. Our hotel room was fabulous and bright with a large comfortable bed. The wifi connection in the room works properly (an important issue!) Also, the bathroom was spotlessly clean. On the top floor of the hotel there's a lovely roof-top terrace with a bar which overlooks the lake. The breakfast at the hotel was exceptionally good. It is buffet style, but it's a proper cooked breakfast with eggs and bacon and different kinds of breads, rolls and pastries. There are also juices, jams and different kinds of cheeses. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful;, especially the young man at breakfast who makes you feel very welcome. Unfortunately, parking was a bit of an issue. You can only park your car outside the hotel for 15 mins. enabling you to check in and drop off luggage. But then you have to move the car and park it further down at the bottom of the road. Parking is only allowed in the parking zone which is about a 7 minute walk from the hotel . There are parking meters along the road. It cost us 4€ from 6pm in the evening until 11am the following day . The town's traffic is on a one way system which means you have to drive all the way around the town in order to get back to the hotel to pick up your luggage. We decided it was easier just to walk our luggage to the car. This is why I only gave this lovely hotel four points. Overall, I would definitely stay at this hotel again, if I'm back in the Lago Albano area again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Naomikv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews