We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 135
View Deal
Expedia.com
USD 135
View Deal
Trip.com
USD 115
View Deal
Free cancellation until 01/01/99
Reserve now, pay at stay
eDreamsUSD 153
Booking.comUSD 153
TravelocityUSD 135
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
230
186
85
55
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
230
186
85
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three nights dining facility hotel is great old style train station ciampino airport views town wedding rome lake ripoff heads hill sidewalk castle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2019

We arrived at this hotel after getting lost and being delayed in a thunderstorm and a huge traffic jam leading to the hotel but we were more than happy and impressed by the facility from the outside. The walk up from the parking lot was quite steep but all we wanted to do was check in and rest up.

The facility is impressive with an old style, classic decor from the late 19th century and we were greeted by a very enthusiastic receptionist.

We followed our way up to the room which was clean but dated. One can say "dated" and fr the most part this adds atmosphere of an era gone by.

Most aspects to the room were nice and some revealed their age such as a toilet reservoir above our heads as in the old "water closet" concept. The place looks old and feels old but it is functional and that was fine.

We explored around the hotel and walked from the hotel to Gondolfo castle in the center of town. The walk was precarious as in many area there is no sidewalk.

While exploring the hotel we discovered where the indoor pool was and it was then that we figured out that this hotel uses the pictures from this most exquisite pool area and dining facility around it in their advertisements but it is ONLY FOR WEDDINGS or banquets and therefore off limits to normal guests.

So I asked myself why are they using it in their internet ads? Certainly this is a bit of false advertising as one assumes that one could swim in this gorgeous pool. The answer is no, it's not for guests at the hotel. This I found a bit puzzling.

We explored Castel Gondolfo but it was closed and it was the holiday of Halloween so most businesses were closed.

The hotel staff were very nice. The room comfortable yet dated and the breakfast was wonderful. The atmosphere in the dining room is one of a Art Deco museum.

Despite it's age and look, we recommend this fine establishment to any traveler.

Room tip: Lake view is always better.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffcastelvecchio19, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Castel Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

Thank you for the feedback! The indoor pool is a "decorative" element of the dining room, we are really sorry for the confusion. We hope to have you as our guests again soon! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

I gotta give it to my wife, she picked a fantastic place to stay. The breakfast spread was a great way to start the day, it does get a bit repetitive after day 7 but the coffee never disappointing. Dinner was good too but within walking distance you have a lot of good restaurants so you won't go hungry. Our room had a great view and we enjoyed the cold pool on the deck. Unfortunately you had to grab the drinks from the restaurant and bring them up but that actually kept us sober so not really on my Con list. Company trip but had the wife along. She enjoyed the town, the location worked well for me along with everything else.

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank Tod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffcastelvecchio19, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Castel Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Dear Tod,
thank you so much for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019

Luckily we brought our own bar soap, shampoo and conditioner. Wall dispensers just don’t do it for us. There are washcloths and hair dryers. The decor is quite tired, as if last redone in 1948. Ask for lakeside room, as the view is restful and full of sunshine. Staff is very accommodating. Short but dicey walk to town center. Cabs are a total ripoff. A 4 minute ride was 15 euros, so walk instead.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PointerDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffcastelvecchio19, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Castel Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback: your opinion is very important. We are taked note of your considerations and
we hope to be able to satisfy all your requests next time, if you still choose our Hotel! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

The staff was very professional and helpful, Laura especially, she was amazing! The room was very comfortable and clean. The view and overall location of the hotel was outstanding. The breakfast was great. Parking was easy.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nicodetommaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffcastelvecchio19, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Castel Vecchio, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear Nico,
thank you so much for your generous feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2019

The hotel has a feeling of tired elegance about it. The service at reception was very friendly and helpful and the dinner we had on our first evening was excellent and very reasonable. The location was excellent. It was very convenient to park the car immediately outside the hotel. However there were a number of niggly issues. The restaurant was closed without notice on Ferragosto, there was no information in the bedroom about the cost of drinks from the minibar (we were unexpectedly charged the same amount for two beers as we were at the restaurant for two glasses of wine and a beer), there was only wall dispenser soap in the rooms (no hair conditioner) and some of the furniture and decoration could do with updating. All small things in themselves but it would be worthwhile for the management to tighten up a little.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews