We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
““The Best is an understatement.””
other travellers have booked this property
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Welcome to Viking Log Home, 1 bed fully equipped apartment on ground floor :-) Masterbedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
Northern Lights over Viking Villa (photo by Nick M, Nov 13)
Welcome to Viking Log Home, 1 bed fully equipped apartment on ground floor :-)
Masterbedroom
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining area for 6 people
Bright and roomy living area.
Kitchen seen from dining area
Masterbedroom - seen from the window corner
Comfortable sofa bed in the living room 140cm
Bathroom with a shower, washer/dryer, a hair dryer and a hair straightener
Sister houses;  Viking Villa (3 beds) on the left and Viking Log Home (1 bed) on the right
Viking Log Home 1 bed ground floor apartment. Fully equipped in August 2013
Maggnus Viking and son Hjalti Robin Viking are building an enormous veranda around the house
The deck under construction in August 2013
Planting trees, Viking Villas in the back
Gullfoss is 15 minutes drive away
Geysir is 15 minutes drive away
Þingvellir is 30 minutes drive away
Iceland is a volcano island
Flying in a private airplane in the mist of Gullfoss, available to all our guests
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights, can be seen on dark clear sky
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fludir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ian P
Paola
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
““The Best is an understatement.””
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Finding the right words to describe our stay at the Viking Villa is a task in itself. It is the best accommodation we have been so far. Spotless clean. All amenities are there and work, almost brand new. Located in a central area near Fludir with ample parking space and private driveway. It is surrounded with silence, mountains, countryside, Icelandic horses and more. We saw the Northern lights on several occasions, even from the bedroom window :) The house is warm and feels homey. Magnus and Inga took great care to construct a home and not a house. Believe me, although I should not say this, but the fee is cheap, considering the standard of the house. A supermarket is only a 5minute drive away and has all you need.
Drive away to any location in Iceland is quite easy from Fludir. Maybe a long way to visit the eastern part but we were able to go around the western fjords in two days, napping in the car. Will describe Iceland in a separate review in the coming days. Some of the photos show the accommodation and the areas close by. If you intend to visit Iceland, spare your precious time and simply book the Viking Villa. No need to shop around. Clean, warm, centrally located, private, safe and secure, well equipped and most of all very affordable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Actually, all was perfect. The is the first time we travelled and accomodation exceeded our expectations.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great option for iceland”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have stayed at quite a few self catering places and this was one of the best we have ever stayed at. We arrived on a late flight from Edinburgh and hired a 4 x 4 and made the 90 min drive to Viking Villa II. The dark and the rain made it hard for us to find the villa but not to worry one phone call and Maggnus and Inga came and rescued us and led us to the door. The villa by far exceeded our expectations, it was spotlessly clean and was very well set up for cooking, relaxing and sleeping. The wifi was good, free and fast. We visited the two hot pools close by, Hrunalaug which is free, fun, but muddy and very basic and the recently refurbished Secret Lagoon which is a big hot pool with changing rooms, showers, café and natural little geyser, costs 2500 ISK per person. We also visited the Blue Lagoon which is amazing but costs about 5000 ISK per person.
Thank you to Maggnus and Inga for making a great holiday for us. We hope to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Owners Welcome
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily W
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Spectacular”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had the best three days staying at Viking Villa. Inga & Maggnus were flexible with our arrival time to suit us, they greeted us with a warm welcome & showed us around their beautiful villa. It was truly mind blowing arriving in the glorious sunshine & and looking at the stunning panoramic views from the kitchen! Inga & Maggnus gave us good recommendations of what to do & visit & reassured us that we could call them if we needed anything. We didn't need to as the house is in excellent condition & well equipped. I would highly recommend Viking Villa! Emily, UK.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yirg
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WOW! Outstanding.”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Words are not enough to describe how fantastic Viking Villa II is, quite simply, it is perfect. The villa is spotless and the hosts are extremely welcoming and a mine of local knowledge. Collecting eggs for breakfast was an added bonus. Location is excellent for visiting a host of places including the Golden Circle. The Secret Lagoon (hot spring pool), almost on the doorstep, has to be experienced and is incredibly relaxing after a day sightseeing, hiking etc and on a September evening you will have the place almost to yourself.

If you know anything at all about coffee though give the Nespresso machine a miss! Iceland has some outstanding micro roasteries so and stop at Reykjavik Roaster and get some decent freshly roasted coffee to use with the drip machine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: A slow cooker/crock pot would be a handy addition
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
WOW! Thank you!! We are very glad you liked the stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofiaLind...
Sweden
1 review
“Best vacation rental in Iceland!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful stay in Inga and Maggnus's Viking Villa. The house is truly a luxury accommodation, and includes all the facilities you would need on an Iceland vacation. The high point for us might have been the espresso machine in the kitchen or the fresh eggs from the hen house in the morning. Maggnus took his time to give us practical advice about road conditions in Iceland, the sights of the Golden Circle and how to manage our stay. If we could have changed anything we would have stayed there longer! The location of the house is perfect for day trips around Iceland. We warmly recommend it to anyone going to Iceland! Best Wishes, Sofia and Kjetil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The shower, the espresso, the eggs
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Hi, thank you. Glad you had a wonderful saty, next time you will stay longer with us!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing