We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding house in a beautiful location”
other travellers have booked this property
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Warm and cosy in winter and summer Unobstructed view over the farmers fields and mountains from an enormous veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Aurora Borealis, the northern lights seen in dark and clear sky
Warm and cosy in winter and summer
Unobstructed view over the farmers fields and mountains from an enormous veranda
Summer wedding in Viking Villa
Tom Cruise's helicopter landed at Viking Villa during the filming of Oblivion (2013 film)
Open plan living, kitchen, dining room and living room all in one space
Bright and comfortable lounge with log fire
Peace and tranquility. A good night's sleep in a heavenly bed.
Bedroom upstairs
By the fire in the bright summer night
Self catering - Very well equipped kitchen, modern appliances
Flying in a private airplane in the mist of Gullfoss, available for our guests
Crib available
Children are welcome in Viking Villa. We have a trampoline in the summer.
Enter a caption for your photo
Private super jeep tours available. Experience the highlands, the glaciers, the back roads of Icelan
In the observation tower
Veranda furniture
Hiking with or without guide in stunning landscape
In the middle of the Golden Circle, Gullfoss waterfall, Geysir hotspring and Þingvellir/Thingvellir
Thingvellir national park was accepted on the World Heritage list for its cultural values
Hrunalaug, a natural geothermal pool, just minutes away.
Welcome to Viking Villa in South Iceland, near the friendly little village; Fludir
Private grounds, chicken, ducks and wild birds ramble around
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fludir, South Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HFIONAENG...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We spent 2 nights at the Viking Villa. It's a beautiful house and the owner, Magnus, was very friendly and helpful. The views from all of the huge windows are beautiful - you can watch the elements and the light change over the hills and enjoy dinner surrounded by nothing but fields, hills and trees from the comfort of the living / dining room. The house itself is a joy to be in: lots of space (double height ceilings), wood everywhere, warm and cosy, and full of character (family paintings, reindeer horns, as well as an electric organ!). We would happily have stayed longer if we could. Our two girls (aged 5 and 6) loved it because there was so much space to run around indirectly outside the house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. It was great to have you stay, We are glad you enjoed the house. Inga Dis and Maggnus Viking
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adriangun...
Dorset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very relaxed, very upmarket and comfortable”
Reviewed 4 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location. we were lucky we had snow on arrival, Northern Lights, rain (which cleared the snow) and then snow again. so all seasons in 5 days ! Viking Villa is a lovely house with 3 good bedrooms and more accommodation if you need it. Magnus and Inga made us feel very welcome. Fludir is very convenient for Geysir and Gulfoss and Pingvellir but a good 2 hour drive from Reykavik. so, its a bit out of the way but well worth it.
The coast road from Selfoss to Keflavik along the Lava fields is an awesome drive !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bets2827
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excllent stay, home from home”
Reviewed 29 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We loved staying for 2 nights at Viking Villa 11 - it is very comfortable with underfloor heating and all amenities. We brought all our basic food from the UK as we were there over Christmas (closed shops) and cooked both evenings. We chose this Villa because there were 5 of us and we could sit around and relax and eat. We visited the Secret Lagoon which was excellent - get there before it becomes more commercialised. I recommend this house highly. Inga and Magnuss met us on Christmas evening and Magnuss even waited for 30 minutes at the end of the road to guide us in in the snowy conditions. Very kind and thoughtful.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James L
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Viking Villa”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our group of 4 with kids ages 11 and 14 stayed here during March of 2016. It's a great place to stay!

The Villa is very spacious and was perfect for our needs. It was a great base to explore the Golden Circle and the South of Iceland. We rode Icelandic horses, visited Geysir, and Gulfoss and the Black sand beach at Vik. The secret lagoon in Fludir is well worth a visit.

Magnus was very helpful and returned our calls promptly whenever we contacted him.

I would highly recommend the Viking Villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine73...
Old Basing, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular views and scenery!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This was our second year in Iceland and decided to go further away from Reyjavik to be near the Golden Circle and boy did we make the right choice! The house we stayed in was very comfortable and well equipped. The Owners, Inga and Maggnus, where very attentive and looked after us when we arrived. We had a lot of snow this year even better than the previous year! and got the farmer of the area to clear the drive which was full snow. This was a great help because it meant we could get out. Fludir is a lovely place with fantastic scenery, lovely and helpful people who go out of their way to be helpful. The village has a supermarket, a local geothermal swimming pool, the secret lagoon which is a must and great hiking (although we did not partake in the hiking!! - as I would have loved to have walked up the crater which you can see from the house - it is an amazing site especially when covered in snow). This house is a great place to stay for comfort after a hard days driving and sight seeing. Myself, my husband, son and mother in law rented this house for a week and we can honestly say that we were very comfortable and warm. The house was so well equipped. It was lovely waking up in the mornings to views of mountains and seeing shetland ponies in the distance grazing. We even managed to feed some ponies that were in a field just off the highway!!! they were so gentle!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and scenery which you lookout onto everyday
Liked least: I did not dislike anything - I can honestly say everything was superb
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing