We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An Interesting Piece of History

A couple blocks south of Lincoln's home is the Elijah Iles home, the oldest existing home in... read more

Reviewed 12 September 2018
Beatriz121
,
Wisconsin
Another must see!!

What an awesome piece of history is preserved here!!! Tour guides are very knowledgeable about the... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2018
Kathi B
,
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
15
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews springfield history tour guides are very knowledgeable the lower level lincoln's home basement oldest collection visitors
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We decided to visit here after we found that another place was closed. It was a great choice. When we got there Mr. Lincoln had just started talking about Gettysburg We sat in on it and were very impressed with the talk. The impersonator, Fritz, was fantastic. He resembled Lincoln more than any we have seen. Right down to the mole on his right side. He does this at many of the Lincoln sites during the week. There is a brochure with the times and places. Our tour guide was Larry. What a wealth of info. We must have been there for at least 3 hours. Not only did he talk about Lincoln and the place we were visiting but he talked about many other things and we added a lot to the conversation. We then went downstairs to see the clock/watch exhibit. The person putting it on, Farrell Gay, was there and we got a lot of info. On our way back to our camper we happened upon the old Illinois watch factory he had told us about. This is a must stop for anyone visiting Springfield, Il.

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank Clarence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

This is one of the few old homes that you walk into and everything is just as it was when it was built. The floors are original and even the door knob/lock/key is original.

Date of experience: July 2015
4  Thank Lois42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

The Elijah Iles House at 628 South 7th Street often is overlooked when visitors come to Springfield to explore the more publicized Lincoln historic sites. But Iles, one of the founding fathers of Springfield, had as much to do with Lincoln's rise as anyone else. Iles, an American businessman, pioneer and politician, settled in Springfield in 1821, opened the first store in the town, was the town's first postmaster, was elected to the Illinois Senate in 1926 and served through 1834, built the largest hotel in the state and built his home in the late 1830s. It remains the oldest surviving home in Springfield. Most importantly, Iles was a close friend of Abraham Lincoln. He served as a Captain in the Black Hawk War and Lincoln was one of the soldiers in his unit. Later, he helped Lincoln secure the move of the state capitol from Vandalia to Springfield. After his death in 1883, he was buried in Oak Ridge Cemetery, where Lincoln is buried. On display in the museum in the lower level are photographs of Lincoln's 1865 funeral, taken in Springfield. The exhibit consists of 20 photographs. Admission is free and open to the public though the end of December. The house has passed through a succession of owners. In 1993, the city of Springfield purchased the house and the Elijah Iles House Foundation was created to restore and preserve the building. After a seven-year period of fund-raising and restoration, it was opened to the public in 2005. The Iles House is considered a timber framed raised cottage in the Green Revival Style with southern or French influence. The house's siding is of black walnut, sawn and hand-planed, using machine-cut nails. The original roof consisted of hand-rived walnut and oak shingles Today, the house has new cedar shingles. Inside, the original walnut woodwork including fireplace mantles is intact and has never been painted. The graceful staircase also is original. It is fascinating to imagine that Lincoln was a frequent visitor to the house, having walked from his house only a few blocks away.

Date of experience: June 2015
16  Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2014

My family and I arrived just in time to see "Mr. Lincoln" walking a small group of visitors from the Lincoln Home National Historic Site to the Elijah Iles House. We caught up to their walking tour on the way to the House.
"Mr. Lincoln" was a delight as he talked to us about the town and our destination: The Elijah Iles House. Once inside, we proceeded to the lower level for a talk about historical events during his Presidency-- in character! The staff even provided refreshments (cookies and lemonade) while we sat and listened.
"Mr.Lincoln" graciously posed for pictures with me and my family. What a delightful experience!

Date of experience: July 2014
8  Thank Therese H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A friend volunteers giving guided tours of this quaint family home of Elijah Iles and his connection to Abe and Mary "Todd" Lincoln and many influential statesmen that visited this home.

Date of experience: December 2012
5  Thank Mj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews