We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy town, nice hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Lousy town, nice hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Borganes is not the nicest town in Iceland, but the Hamar is fortunately 5km away. Take route 1 out of town going north, and look for the red-roofed mansion on the hill, signposted for the golf club. Drive up to the red-roofed mansion, but turn right before you get there to a ghastly-looking motel. That's it. Now, despite the traditionally awful Icelandic architecture, this really isn't bad. The rooms are fine, the restaurant good (but very expensive) and the landlady a real gem - charming, funny, helpful and welcoming. Oh, and the hot tub is great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazy_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    127
    50
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
172
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We went there for a weekend, bought a package including full dinner at the restaurant. The hotel was not busy but still the kitchen managed to serve us a good dinner and the waiters did a good job. The location is very quiet and we got a excellent rest. If need to relex for two or three day this is a good option, there is a decent golf course beside the hotel, and all services in the town of Borgarnes 2 km away. Pricing was fair. So overall a nice experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy25171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Compared to all of the places we stayed this was middle of the road, very nice area to take a walk around and the rooms were plain but clean. It was quiet, I had a good sleep, the rest was just plain, it was a little more expensive than some nicer places we stayed at. Good location from a driving perspective to many other sites in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icedfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

The hotel is classified 3-star but in many ways it meets 4-star standards; it‘s only three years old, everything is well laid out and clean, and fittings are of good quality.

We stayed for a Saturday night in mid-December 2009; we had a dinner and theatre reservation in Borgarnes, so did not eat in the hotel restaurant that evening.

We arrived mid-afternoon to a friendly welcome and a request that we advise at approximately what time we would take breakfast. Whilst checking in we enquired about hot-pots (hot tubs) and were told there was one at the end of our wing, and two at the end of the other wing.

Previous reviewers have covered most things, so we‘ll focus on a few comments and a couple of small criticisms.

Our room faced the river estuary and mountains and was a good size, with a well designed shower / wc. We changed into our swimwear and left via the veranda door to the hot-pot which we found to be rather cool. Efforts to increase the temperature didn‘t seem to do much. After some time we returned to our room and took a hot shower, not something one usually expects to have to do after using a hot-pot.

After our theatre evening we enjoyed a drink in the bar before retiring.

We were pleased to find hair conditioner and face cloths were provided; there is adequate shelf space in the bathroom, but another towel rail or a couple of hooks would have been useful – with hot-pots provided then there is always going to be swimwear to dry.

Pleasingly, there were three chairs in the room – so often one finds only one chair in a room for two persons. There is no mini-bar, but the distance to reception / the bar is so short that one is hardly necessary. Coffee and tea making facilities are provided. The tv has several Icelandic and foreign stations and some Icelandic radio, but contrary to the information provided, did not have Sky News.

Shelf, drawer and hanging space was adequate. The beds were comfortable but were two singles pushed together, with the inherent risk of a chasm developing!

Over breakfast we had the opportunity to discuss these comments with the owners, who were more than happy to listen to suggestions. It‘s appropriate here to add that breakfast was a full spread of juices, cereals, breads, cheeses and jams – a typical Icelndic hotel breakfast.

Apparently the cover had blown off the hot-pot we had used during a storm the previous night, and the water had not yet had time to heat up again; the two hot-pots at the other end of the hotel were said to be fine – it‘s a pity we weren‘t told when we checked in and enquired – nor were we offered the use of robes which we were now told are available.

The tv station was simply a matter of re-tuning – different groups of guests ask for different channels, and the hotel tries to accommodate them.

And the beds – well, all beds on the river side are usually configured as doubles, and have clips to hold them together. But, it seems that these clips make it difficult for the cleaners to change the linen, and they have a habit of “forgetting“ to replace them!

Of course, these comments are all pretty minor – overall we were extremely pleased with the hotel; the next time we stay in Borgarnes then Hotel Hamar will be top of our list!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrozenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

During our trip through Iceland we stayed here one night. Compared to other hotels in Iceland it´s been a good choice. Rooms are not huge, but OK-sized, bathroom is not tiny. The restaurant (where the breakfast is also served) is very nice and has a great view. Breakfast was fine. I especially loved the service: the Owner been very friendly and recommened tours. Compared to other hotels we noticed positively that they had a kettle and a hot tub.
I´d stay here again - hope I get a chance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petra_auf_reisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgarnes
6.0 km away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
21.4 km away
Hotel Glymur
Hotel Glymur
#1 of 1 in Akranes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
29.9 km away
Hraunsnef Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Hotel Borgarnes
Hotel Borgarnes
#3 of 3 in Borgarnes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
4.4 km away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.3 km away
Kria Guesthouse
Kria Guesthouse
#3 of 13 in Borgarnes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Hamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Hamar

Property: Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Address: Hamravik 2 | Golfvollurinn Hamri i Borgarnesi, Borgarnes 310, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Borgarnes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Borgarnes
Price range (per night): $153 - $466
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Hamar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Hamar is a relaxing retreat-style hotel built on an 18-hole golf course in West Iceland, a region rich in saga history. In addition to golf, there are several other exciting outdoor activities available, ensuring a most pleasant and interesting stay in any season.Located about an hour’s drive north of Reykjavik, in the quaint, beautiful town of Borgarnes, the Icelandair Hotel Hamar is surrounded by immense natural beauty and fascinating attractions – this is a place where you can really get away from it all while not sacrificing one bit on the comfort of your accommodations.Each guestroom has doors that open directly out unto the hotel grounds, providing great access and comfort. Added to this, there’s a host of modern in-room features, including under-floor heating to keep you warm, whatever the weather. Best of all, after an exciting day of sightseeing, golf, whale watching, snowmobiling or hiking, you can relax in one of our geothermal-heated outdoor hot tubs.The managers and staff of Icelandair Hotel Hamar extend a warm welcome to you and stand ready to make your West Iceland trip unforgettable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Hamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icelandair Hotel Borgarnes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing