We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
175
87
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
87
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country hotel ring road working farm farm animals hot tub lamb northern lights small waterfall blueberry sauce excellent restaurant friendly dogs long drive hamburger great lunch both nights coffee and tea yellow lab
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

In a country where most hotels are both outrageously expensive and rather ugly, Hraunsnef presents a very nice exception. The rooms are rather small, but are tasty, pleasant and well decorated, with soft tones. The bed is very good. The bathroom is well equipped. The staff of the hotel is both very friendly and very efficient. The restaurant is very good, and so is the breakfast. You can enjoy two outside hot tubs overlooking the mountain. And since it is (also) a farm, you will see veals, cows, pigs, ducks and of course, dogs. If you need a place where to stop for one night in the area when touring Iceland, do not hesitate ! You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank benjamin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

The location worked well for us as we drove south from the Westfjords back to the Ring Road. Our room was a good size and very clean. There was a small dresser and two chairs. The bathroom was long and narrow which was an interesting use of space. The setting was quiet as the hotel is located by itself. We did not eat at the restaurant but it looked nice as well. There's a hot tub available. Check in was at the restaurant. Parking was in front.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LissaJ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I loved this property! Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Guestroom was very clean and cozy (loved the wood on the walls). We used the hot tub, which was great after traveling and sightseeing for 8 hours a day. The lambs were so cute and almost like puppies, following you around. We were on the 2nd floor and it was nice to be able to park the car and be on the same level as our room (in back, up the little hill). The breakfast was excellent both mornings and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice staff and family friendly. We had a 2 year old and she absolutely loved this place. All the animals and the lovely dog. Rooms are small but clean and with everything you need. The hot tubs make it perfect to stay at Hraunsnef.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sigríður J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is right off the ring road. You make a turn and you are there. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very cozy and pleasant to be in. Breakfast was good (25$ per person buffet) but they were quickly running out of food. Dont be shy and ask and they will refill. Dinner was very good.
Plenty of parking. Can hike towards mountain and if you have 4 hours to spare can go on top of the mountain.

2 hot tubs are available. Don't be discouraged by cold weather and get in , you will be warm in seconds.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sotms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews