We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
175
87
17
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
87
17
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews country hotel ring road working farm farm animals hot tub lamb northern lights small waterfall blueberry sauce excellent restaurant friendly dogs long drive hamburger great lunch both nights coffee and tea yellow lab
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I loved this property! Stayed here for 2 nights in May. Guestroom was very clean and cozy (loved the wood on the walls). We used the hot tub, which was great after traveling and sightseeing for 8 hours a day. The lambs were so cute and almost like puppies, following you around. We were on the 2nd floor and it was nice to be able to park the car and be on the same level as our room (in back, up the little hill). The breakfast was excellent both mornings and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice staff and family friendly. We had a 2 year old and she absolutely loved this place. All the animals and the lovely dog. Rooms are small but clean and with everything you need. The hot tubs make it perfect to stay at Hraunsnef.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sigríður J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel is right off the ring road. You make a turn and you are there. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are very cozy and pleasant to be in. Breakfast was good (25$ per person buffet) but they were quickly running out of food. Dont be shy and ask and they will refill. Dinner was very good.
Plenty of parking. Can hike towards mountain and if you have 4 hours to spare can go on top of the mountain.

2 hot tubs are available. Don't be discouraged by cold weather and get in , you will be warm in seconds.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sotms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms are spacious and clean . The bathroom had a design flaw whereby water kept coming out of the shower stall . The staff is very welcoming and we saw lots of animals - one of my main reasons for booking the hotel which also seems to have a farm attached to it with pigs, cows,dogs, cats and ducks. That in itself does attract a lot of bugs. If that is an issue then this is not a hotel for you. The food both dinner and breakfast were outstanding definitely amongst the best we have had in our stay throughout the ring road. Prepared with a lot of attention to detail and freshest ingredients.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank unexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

From the moment we got in, we were treated very well and impressed with everything from the food, location and staff. The kids really enjoyed the animals including the dog on property as well as the farm animals (cows, pigs, sheep). My son and I hiked an hour in the "backyard" which was just incredible as we got great views of west iceland from high up top.

The rooms are small but that was fine and expected. There was free wifi in the dining area and in the rooms of the main building. There are 2 hot tubs as well (we didn't use them).

The food was awesome. Great dinner and breakfasts. The local beer made for the hotel is fantastic! The kids loved every moment and we would recommend this place to anyone and everyone of all ages.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonys961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews