We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hraunsnef Sveitahotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stayed here for two days recently with my boyfriend and was absolutely amazed with everything from the service, amenities, location and food. After a long drive the first day we were greeted by friendly and attentive staff that showed us to our room. The room had an electric kettle with an assortment of coffee and tea. Our room came with a tv, but we spent most of our down time in the hot tubs that could be used at any time. The hot tubs overlooked a small stream and hills. Hraunsnef is a working farm with cows, sheep and chickens. While the hotel is located on a farm, it did not smell like it. We ended up eating in the restaurant both nights and it was the best decision -- the beef, lamb, eggs, cucumbers and tomatoes were all from the farm and were delicious. Dinner was waiter service and breakfast was a buffet that was just as amazing as dinner. There are so many wonderful things I could say about Hraunsnef Country Hotel and I will continue to recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: All rooms had wifi except for the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

My girlfriend and I traveled through Iceland in late March and used Hraunsnef Country Hotel as our base camp for exploring north of Reykjavik. The hotel is on a farm right off the Ring Road in the middle of a jaw-dropping landscape.

The room (#22) was perfect - a king bed with TV and a bathroom. The interior was very modern and clean.

The hotel itself is located on a farm so there are many animals like cows, sheep, cats, dogs, and chickens. It's a really authentic Icelandic experience. If you don't like farms or farm animas then this place isn't for you.

Our favorite part was the 2 hot tubs sitting besides a running creek and the farm. They are open all night and are perfect for relaxing after a long day of exploring.

Definitely dedicate at least 1 night to eating at the restaurant - the food is to die for. The staff us super friendly and accommodating. Will absolutely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JPFitz816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night and it was amazing, very nice staff, great food, the room was so nice and view is breathtaking.
The restaurant has the best hamburger in Iceland, the meet is so wonderful with a lot of flavor. Everyone should taste it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gesturg2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I absolutely loved this hotel. it is so quaint and charming. The staff are lovely and the grounds are beautiful! The was the only place that we saw the Northern Lights from as well. The rest of our nights in Iceland were very overcast, but the night we stayed here we saw them and they were beautiful!! When I came out of our room and saw them, the lovely girl who worked there was on her way to our room to tell us that the norther lights were out! That's so thoughtful! This hotel has two hot tubs right beside a small waterfall on one side and a view of the mountains on the other side - as well as views of all the farm animals! There were sheep and cows that you could go and see. The rooms were beautiful and had coffee and tea. The restaurant was delicious - the meat comes from the farm on the property. I would highly recommend spending the night here on the way to or from the north. This hotel is located right off the ring road so it is very easy to find! We had a free breakfast included with our room rate. I will stay here again one day!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tamdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

A few positives and negatives from our two night stay:

The hotel is an authentic icelandic farm, with sheep, a few roaming cats and dogs, ducks in the pond and some cows - it's a nice representation of rural icelandic culture.

The staff mostly were kind and accommodating, especially the older man, who I am guessing is a part-owner. it's conveniently located off the main road heading north-west from the capital and only a 30 min drive to the local town Borgarnes.

Unfortunately I believe they take advantage of their remote location by charging some pretty ridiculous prices for things in the restaurant (and this is taking into consideration that Iceland is already expensive). But the 1900 ISK (about 16 euro) charge for a breakfast that was merely a selection of cold meats and cheeses from the packet and some circular fried eggs (like you would get in a mcdonalds muffin) was a bit on the nose, it was a paltry selection nowhere near that price point.

We also ate dinner there both nights, enjoying the meals (but by no means amazing), however were again quite a bit surprised that upon paying the bill on check out, we were charged for sauce for our meat/chips. The waitress asked us each night what sauce we'd like (mayo, ketchup.etc) without telling us that each would cost an extra 2 or 3 euro - as small as the charge is, it seemed like a slap in the face considering the price tag of the food. This along with the cheap gift store tacked into the reception makes it seem like they are desperate to scrape as much money from guests where ever they can and that takes away from the experience.

The rooms were on the small side, the bed on the old side, wifi was crap, the walls were thin and we could hear other guests through the night as well as drills at 9am in the morning (yay!) But the saddest thing was that the woman who checked us out on the 6th of March in the morning was one of the rudest people I have ever encountered in my years of travelling. I say sad because it somewhat undid all of the lovely service from the other staff members over the previous 48 hours and left a bad taste in our mouths as we left the property.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hraunsnef, Owner at Hraunsnef Sveitahotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thank you for your detailed point´s. This kind of review do help us a lot. We are really sorry about your negative experience. About the sauce extra charge was originally done to prevent waist. We wore trowing away a lot of full sauce boxes - but staff needs to be more clear on the extras. We are trying to offer high quality food - free range pork and beef and lamb - but we are sorry that that dose not come cheep. But we are terribly sorry about our cheek out staff member, but do to your detailed review now have the change to fix that sort of behaviour so that no other guest will have to experience that.

We are woking on updating the room´s - there is not a lot of time to drill in the room´s but we only allow drilling and noisy work from 10 am - 4 pm. this particular morning our carpenter did punch in at 9:55 am. So I am puzzled by the drilling at 9 am.

Our restaurant waiter remember you as a positive and happy guest so it dose sadden us your experience was not good - but we thank you for sharing and giving us an opportunity to fix it for our next guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bifrost
31.8 km away
Hotel Husafell
Hotel Husafell
#1 of 1 in Husafell
313 reviews
29.8 km away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
384 reviews
35.2 km away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel Bifrost
Hotel Bifrost
#2 of 2 in Bifrost
79 reviews
17.1 km away
Fosshotel Reykholt
Fosshotel Reykholt
#1 of 1 in Reykholt
46 reviews
34.2 km away
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
Borgarnes Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 13 in Borgarnes
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hraunsnef Sveitahotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hraunsnef Sveitahotel

Address: Nordurardal 311, Bifrost 311, Iceland
Region: Iceland > West Region > Bifrost
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bifrost
Price Range: $157 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hraunsnef Sveitahotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hraunsnef Sveitahotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing