We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
73
89
45
32
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
89
45
32
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room outside entrance full kitchen waffles little things hot breakfast stove top an overnight stay dishwasher vanity sofa rates zoo
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were late arriving to the hotel. I called at 7pm to let the front desk clerk know that we would be there around 2am. She said that was fine. When we arrived, the clerk who let us in said that we made it by the skin of our teeth - he was going to cancel our reservation. It was 1:45, and I told him that I had called to let them know. Not sure why he would cancel on us...Anyway, he gave us our room key and we went to find a parking space. Parking lot spaces were very narrow. Almost everyone was double parked, so we had to park around to the other side of the building. When we got to our room, we found out that we were upgraded to a suite. It had a room with a king sized bed, a living room area, kitchenette, a room with 2 full beds, and 2 bathrooms. The king size bedroom reeked of mildew. It was so bad that we closed the door to the room and all 4 of us stayed in the 2 full beds. Since it was 2am and we were exhausted, we didn't want to have to switch to another room. It would of been ok had the room not smelled so bad.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg C, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Amy,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback of our Hawthorn Suites in Omaha. I apologize for the negative experience in our hotel and I would love to speak with you in greater detail so we can have our maintenance and housekeeping staff address the issues mentioned here. Any opportunity to improve our service will be done and we welcome any and all feedback our guests have. Please reach out to me at 402-397-7500 ext. 405 or email me at grcoleman@live.com to discuss your reservation.

Thank you,

Greg Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Room had a very dirty chair with huge holes in it. Carpet was dirty, not vacuumed for ages. Toilet in our bath broken, had to use spare room's. No bath towels, used spare room's. Bed linens acceptable & am breakfast acceptable. Outdoor stairs were quite rusted and littered. Felt rooms weren't used very often & staff did quick walkthru that was'nt very efficient. Due to a time limit we did not complain to the front desk until checkout.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank dcfrisbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg C, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hawthorn Suites in Omaha, NE and we appreciate the feedback. As the hotel was recently purchased in mid-June, we will be going through a renovation in which every shortcoming you experienced will be addressed. Please reach out to me if you return to Omaha and I will ensure your room is of the highest quality we can provide. I can be reached at 402-397-7500 ext. 405, I hope to hear from you.

Thank you,

Greg Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Visiting Omaha to attend a wedding, I stayed with my wife and two teen children for a couple of nights. Baseball College World Series was taking place during our visit. Accordingly when we made the reservation 10 weeks ahead, most hotels were already full and we could only find a King suite available in this hotel. I found out later that I paid more than double the regular price but it still was less than other hotels in the same category during this special event.

The suite consisted of a king bedroom, Living room with a sofa bed, and a Kitchen. We drove to Omaha so my son brought his camping cot thus the four of us had a reasonable bedding.
The bed was in a room separate from the living room which had the couch/sofa. The suite was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The hotel seems a little old but not run down. However the carpet and the sofa cloth cover looked outdated, nevertheless, they were clean. The furniture in our suite #216 was not modern but it was adequate and in a good shape. The suite had a full kitchen, Frigidaire, stove, microwave. We were outside most of the time so we didn't use the kitchen much. Also we didn't have a chance to use the pool but we saw a lot of families there. There was an exercise room in the main building that my kids used. They said it was small with 3 machines but it did its purpose for them.

The hotel offered standard hot breakfast: cereal, egg, sausage or bacon, French toast or potatoes, waffle, apple, and juice. Both the breakfast and the seating area were satisfying.

Note:
After my stay I have seen some pictures posted by guests showing some rooms with stains and mold. We didn't see that in the suite we rented so I am not sure if we were lucky enough to stay in one of the better maintained suites, or if problem has been re-mediated since these pictures were taken?

Things I liked:
*** The rooms design. Both living room and bedroom had its own door which offered privacy.
*** Front desk was responsive and friendly (Chris).
*** Each of the bedroom and the living room had a flat screen TV.
*** Beds and pillows were comfortable including the pull out sofa-bed.
*** Close to highway and off 72nd but in the same time in a quiet area.

Thing not so great:
*** The layout of the hotel. It is composed of several separate buildings. Rooms are in a different building than front desk and breakfast area. You need to go outside and walk to the main building for breakfast. This didn't present a problem for us but it will be inconvenient during cold or snowy weather.
*** Although there was a lot of parking places around the different building, parking areas were tight to get in and out especially there were some cars parked poorly. It may be better if you back into the parking stall to make it easier upon exiting.
*** We couldn't get to Wi-Fi when we returned to the hotel on Saturday night and got a message saying ‘number of connection exceeded limit’. Seems this was related to the fact that the hotel was 100% full and the network was not equipped to handle that many people connecting at the same time.
*** A nuisance only, several power plugs in the suite were not working however there was a lot of plugs. We just needed to check if the plug is working or not before using it.

Summary:
*** Good for a family with children. Good value for the money. Old property but judging only on the building and suite that we stayed at, it was clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ah_dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg C, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel, Omaha, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for providing feedback of our Hawthorn Suites in Omaha, NE. I will certainly share your comments with our staff as we can use your detailed comments to better our operation. The hotel was recently purchased and will be undergoing a renovation, which we at the hotel are very excited about! We will look forward to your next reservation should you travel to Omaha again.

Regards,

Greg Coleman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here with our boys baseball team for a tournament/CWS visit. Hotel was well below expectations. The outside of the hotel buildings have chipping/faded paint, rotten boards, and a general look of a place in desperate need of update and care. The inside was worse. The stairwells were filthy, with piles of dirt and leaves in most corners. The carpet was dirty in all the hallways. The carpet in our room was dirty, and both days the cleaning crew didn't replace our towels. When requesting clean towels at the front desk we were told both days that they were in the laundry, and they would put us on a list for them to be delivered. They never came. Staff was very rude and unhelpful. Also, during our stay the cleaning crew left multiple doors open, and many items were stolen from multiple rooms. Saw at least two police visits during our time, and the staff verbally argued with several guests in regards to these issues. No apologies, no attempts to correct them, but verbal disagreements. Our group rented 13 rooms, and no one was satisfied with their stay. We will not be returning here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Its hard to imagine a worse stay. Our travel team was hearded into a few choices for hotels as a requirement of playing in a baseball tournament. This hotel appeared to be the best value as breakfast was offered and the rooms were larger. Most of the reviews were fairly positive. We had 12 rooms in the hotel and none of them had new clean furniture as reported in these reviews. What a nightmare. This is an older Courtyard by Marriott type hotel that has seen its better days. The hotel is tucked away on a side street by what used to be the main convention center. It appears now that a new center has been built in the downtown area that this location is going down hill rapidly. The rooms are furnished with the orginal probably 20 year old decore and carpeting. Our room was dirty, with mold in bathroom and kitchen and the common areas and stairwells had a musty urine type smell. It should be noted that the hotel has numerous points of egress and there is no security on site. It even appears that some of the rooms in this complex have begun to be long term low end extened stay apartments. Despite it all as a travel team you try to make the best of things as you are often seeking out value in your teams accomodations.

Day 2 of our stay after a day of baseball we returned to the hotel with police on site and crime scene unit van at the entrance. Eager to get to the CWS my 12 year old son went to go jump in the shower only to learn that his suitcase and all his clothes were missing. In all we discovered cash, electronics ... even my son's bag of cheetos was gone. My 12 year old was now literally a 1,100 miles away from home with no clean clothes and both boys lost many very personal irreplacible possessions.

Contact was made with the manager on site and all we got over and over was "its all being handled." Apparently that meant the police would be talking to us. We meet with the police and my boys got the experience of seeing a crime scene unit work first hand. We learned several of the rooms in the hotel had been hit (not from the hotel ... who tried to tell us this was an isolated incident.) After the police left (telling us this happens all the time during the CWS)... the managment couldnt have been more rude. They were unwilling to provide any information if our locks were functional or any reasurance that our continued stay would be safe (as our room and the common area entrances were supposedly secure when we left.) The attitdue was go back to your room ...its a police matter now. Only TWO days latter when we reported the complaints to our baseball tournament director did we recieve a call from the hotel General Manager to let us know that down the road they did have an insurance agent and they were going to report the incident.

We left paying $160 plus $30 tax per night for a room ... full price without any apologies and generally feeling lied to about what happened (still don't know how locks on multiple rooms and main entrances were entered.) Certainly this review is colored by that bad experience. However ... the attitude of managment and these conditions will be long standing. Further ... these pictures speak for themselves and I have a hard time believeing any of the reviews that lable this deteriorating hotel clean or a good value.

Bottom line the place isn't safe. Its dirty and if you are looking for a friendly and enjoyable stay beware.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Libby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews