We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable to vegetarians”

Ahmad's Persian Cuisine
Ranked #117 of 1,532 Restaurants in Omaha
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 25
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I had visitors from out of town, one of whom is vegetarian, and both of whom wanted to visit the Old Market district in Omaha. Ahmad's provided a tasty and enjoyable dinner for each one of us. We started by sharing very good hummus and flatbread; then the vegetarian had spicy mixed veg, her partner grilled shrimp, and I enjoyed a lamb kebab served off the skewer accompanied by aromatic rice and grilled veggies. Dessert was a custard (like a flan, according to my guests) garnished with fruit. Service was competent, not elegant, and the place is small, with tables close together. This was not a fancy meal, but it was tasty, and the restaurant is right in the heart of the visitor-friendly Old Market.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Janet1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2018

This was recommended by a woman as we left the Berkshire Hathaway event as an alternative for lunch. We were seated quickly. Wait staff was friendly, and helped with selecting dishes.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmarkiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

We love good Persian Cuisine. Ahmad's food was different than the Persian food we have in Los Angeles. It was a fusion of modern and old style cooking. The portion sizes were perfect. We always felt full but not stuffed. My personal favorite was the jujeh korescht (stew). The food was always tasty! Yes - we ate there a few times. Just note - they add sugar to their tea. If you don't want sugar make sure to let them know. Also, if you are use to tea with fresh mint (like I am), they do not have the large mint leaves. The restaurant is located in the old part of downtown and afterwards we had a lovely walk. The service was impeccable and the owner is a wonderful soul! We will definitely eat there again when we visit Omaha.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank josephine1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

This restaurant had been recommended by a good friend who is also an excellent cook. Unfortunately, until now they have been closed for vacation during the CWS. We stopped by and they promised to stay open a few days so we could eat there. So glad they did. The food was delicous. The service friendly and Ahmad himself came to talk to us. It is a hole in the wall place, it's not fast food, it's family owned and operated. A couple had driven over from Iowa for dinner when we were there. I thought the dinner prices were reasonable for the Old Market. Best to go and judge for yourself. Only drawback is there is a cigar bar next door so you will likely want to eat inside.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 355janat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

This place gives Persian food a bad name. Slow service, bland food, and half the stuff on the menu is. It Persian food at all.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Agandcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ahmad's Persian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Ahmad's Persian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing