We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, good, but not great food!”
Review of Le Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Beau Rivage
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condrieu
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Lovely location, good, but not great food!”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just stayed at the restaurant for dinner, were welcomed very warmly by the reception and the restaurant staff. The evening started very well with Champagne and lots of amuse-bouches, all of high quality. The ordered food (starter, main and desert) were good, but we were not convinced to rate it as great. The starter was a kind of 'spring roll' with seafood and oysters and was (taste wise) not to our full liking. The best of the three main courses ordered was the beef filet, the veal was of acceptable quality, but had lots of fat and was difficult to eat. The three kind of ducks (the third main) was too expensive for what it was. All deserts were old style, very sweet. Overall, we felt that we spent too much money for an experience which we can rate as average overall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisspigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    117
    54
    18
    11
See reviews for
43
208
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This hotel would be far happier without guests. Literature in our room stated that the hotel would be “delighted to serve our guests dinner on the terrace on warm evenings”. It was a warm evening (30C during the day) and we were having an aperitif on the terrace. A request to eat there was met with a terse, one word “Non”. A request to view the menu whilst having our aperitif was similarly dismissed – “You will be handed the menu when you have been seated in the restaurant”. The subsequent meal lived down to the impression of the hotel that we were forming. Artfully arranged morsels of nouvelle cuisine, over-priced wines and hovering flunkeys.

A pleasant room and private car parking cannot make up for the arrogant and dismissive attitude of the staff in this hotel. We will never return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank richardandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed one night at Beau Rivage in Condriue at the beginning of September and we were satisfied both with the hotel, the room and the food, and the location is spectacular.

We chose the so called 'Chef's Hat and Cork Screw Menu' which includes 6 dishes and 6 different wines for 89 euros and we were positively surprised, the only slightly negative thing was that we did not get an englishspeaking waiter/waitress.

The rooms are nice, clean and rather large, and the breakfast was also a nice experience,
but be aware of the fact that it is not included in the price of the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bass63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This is a very comfortable family run hotel with a long history and reputation for people returning year after year.
We had a lovely suite overlooking the Rhone with an enclosed and an open balcony. The staff are very efficient and helpful.
The hotel is situated in Condrieu on the river Rhone rather hidden from the town as it is reached down a narrow lane leading to the river. It has been extended and modernised fairly recently which may have affected its charm a little but the service is good and we really enjoyed our one night there. We would definitely recommend you stay long enough to take a drive up into the vineyards and out into the more pastoral landscapes which lie behind the hotel and which offer stunning views and pastoral scenery more reminiscent of Switzerland or Austria. You also get wonderful views of the Rhone before going further inland.
The food in the dining room is very good, particularly the fish,and again the staff efficient.
There seems to be plenty of opportunity for cycling and walking in the town, and river activities if you have longer for your stay.
For us a really good stop on our way back to the UK from the South of France.

Room Tip: For a special stay ask for a balcony room overlooking the river & have a glass of champagne on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgundy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for 3 days and found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful in general. The " superior" room was well appointed, had a balcony and a view over the Rhone. We were shown to our room and luggage carried.

It was delightful to have Breakfast served at the table, though it was a bit expensive.

The Restaurant was also superb and thank goodness they have a dress code - smart, but not formal. Food was outstanding - Condrieu wine over-rated, though. Stick to a good Burgundy if you like white wines with body and lasting flavour.

Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel - better for a few days than just overnight.

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharollesBurgundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Condrieu
4.0 km away
Domaine De Clairefontaine
Domaine De Clairefontaine
#1 of 2 in Chonas-l'Amballan
213 reviews
10.6 km away
La Pyramide
La Pyramide
#1 of 6 in Vienne
90 reviews
4.6 km away
Hotel Le Domaine des Vignes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Ibis Lyon Sud Vienne Saint Louis
5.1 km away
Logis Relais 500 de Vienne
Logis Relais 500 de Vienne
#2 of 2 in Chonas-l'Amballan
63 reviews
13.7 km away
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
Ibis Styles Lyon Sud Vienne
#1 of 6 in Chasse-sur-Rhone
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Beau Rivage

Property: Le Beau Rivage
Address: 2 rue du Beau Rivage, 69420 Condrieu, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Condrieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condrieu
Price range (per night): $208 - $309
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Beau Rivage 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vines on one side, a peaceful river on the other. Our magical panorama extends an invitation to rest and relaxation. At dinner time the infuences of Lyon and Southern France join forces on the plate to ensure a deliciously gourmet escapade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Beau Rivage Condrieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing