We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nevada Southern Railway Excursion
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
WOW- great experience, unique wedding venue

A family member recently had a wedding here at this venue. Such a unique location for a wedding to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
audrasimmons
,
Providenciales
via mobile
Nevada Southern Railway Excursion is a fine Ride

When in Boulder City, take a ride on the Nevada Southern Railway. It is a short 35 minute ride in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
DaveJ8563
,
Harwich, Massachusetts
via mobile
Read all 52 reviews
  
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
28
15
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
15
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great for kids hoover dam yucca train enthusiast engine conductor volunteers ride cars scenery aboard track carriage halloween las activity vegas
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A family member recently had a wedding here at this venue. Such a unique location for a wedding to be held and such a great experience. We even got to ride on the train with a bar car on board, a section for dessert and plenty of seating throughout. It’s was fun walking through the different train cars.
Not to forget our conductor John, who is a gem! He and the other volunteer staff were an added bonus!

I’d definitely love to come back again and recommend to all!

Thank audrasimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Preservation & Photography at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your great review, hope you return for another adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When in Boulder City, take a ride on the Nevada Southern Railway. It is a short 35 minute ride in and out of town, but the scenery is incredible. Sit in the outside car of the weather is good. The staff have a lot of information about the area.

Thank DaveJ8563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Preservation and restoration specialist. at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Right near the Hoover Dam and just 30 minutes from Las Vegas thats is a great railway experience. Easy to spot as you drive into Boulder City there is plenty of parking. It’s free to walk round and there are trains and carriages to explore in a covered area for the younger ones there is also a great railway layout. The rest rooms were clean and there was also a shop and the ticket office. On the day of our visit there was a free Halloween train done up as a pirate ship. On the trip to the yard we got told all about the history of the railway the locomotives on site and the great plans for the future. For the main excursion train I purchased tickets for $35 each to ride in the cab of the locomotive. Roger our host was wonderful and we chatted most of the journey as we saw the large diesel in action and got front row seats as we headed out into the desert. We got photos in the driving seat and even got to sound he horn. One of the best experiences of our whole holiday.

Thank 149stuartc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Photographer and Restoration at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your response and happy to hear you really enjoyed your experience. Please visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a fairly short ride ( approx. 40 minutes, round trip ) however, every foot is a train lovers delight
\
From the moment you depart until the arrival back at the station, every moment is filled with a delightful experience.

All of the staff are volenteers and they do a fantastic job.

The train runs only on weekends year round, Howver the grounds are open daily

Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018

My partner and I took this train ride a couple of weeks ago and I booked for him to go in the engine with the driver and his assistant. Being a train enthusiast, my partner was thrilled with the ride and though it is only about 35 minutes long, it is an experience he will always cherish and never forget. I rode in one of the carriages, it wasn't too crowded and there was also an open air carriage. There are also a lot of old trains here to look at and the volunteers who run the museum are very helpful and informative. If you have trouble walking to the train they will even come and pick you up on one of those golf cart type buggies. Prices are very reasonable at $10 in the carriages and $35 to ride with the driver (limited numbers allowed for the engine ride so get there early for this), so this is not an activity that will break the bank and it is so much fun. Approximately a 40 minute drive from Las Vegas, I can thoroughly recommend it!

Thank binthere-dunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Restoration Specialist at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thank you for your review and your positive experience at the Nevada Southern Railway Museum. Hope you have the chance to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

If you are looking for something to do in the Las Vegas Area? This little Excursion is a must for any Railway enthusiast. It is situated in Boulder City, about 40mins from the Las Vegas Strip. The staff, who are all volunteers are very friendly and informative. Prices are really cheap for the little journey up to Railway Pass. We were even taken in to the Main Loco to have a look around. If you pay a little extra, you can travel in the Caboose, which we did. Really enjoyable journey. Hats off to all the volunteers.

Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Nice train ride, great people, not too crowded. Have a number of car and engine types, particularly Dinky’s from Hoover Dam construction. Have working model train displaying N, HO, 027 and some old timers. Kids just loved this part! Be there by one PM on Saturday and Sunday. Handicapped accessible—just make sure to thank the nice man for hand cranking you aboard, some cars climate controlled, one open car and a caboose ride for a bit more. Make yourself known to them, ask questions, a pleasant experience. Plenty of nice restaurants, A and W, McDonalds, Pizza Hut and a unique chicken drive in.

Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Public Relations Manager at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Thank you for visiting our railroad museum and excursion train ride. We are happy that you took the time to enjoy a small part of the history of the building of Hoover Dam and experienced our great community of Boulder City. Stop by again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

This is a really fun activity for both adults and children it is just a 30 minute ride, but there is also other historical trains on site. Every third Saturday is story telling and crafts for children. You can get a discount coupon beforehand on your computer. Also a number of Boulder City restaurants will give you a small discount if you present your ticket

3  Thank JFreiLasVegas_Nevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frank C, Public Relations Manager at Nevada Southern Railway Excursion, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for your review. All of our volunteer staff work at making your experience one that will bring you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

This program is not well known, but you can actually drive an engine for $250, you can fit 4 extra folks in compartment to share the fun. We did a birthday ride for the train enthusiast’s in our family. Great fun had by all, plus you get a peek into the maintenance/restoration area.

Thank Bouldercityvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This was a trip my dad wanted to go on, and if you are an enthusiast it really is alot of fun.

Only 30 minutes from the Vegas strip by car you pull up to Yucca street and get free parking at the museum lot.

Trains were running weekends only at 10am and 11.30am and again in the afternoon, but definitely check the website to be sure.

The staff are lovely amazing individuals who all volunteer their time at the museum and driving the trains. We bought a $35 dollar ticket to ride upfront so we could speak to the drivers and get some background on the train although the museum says it all so get there at least 30 minutes early so you can wander around unless you want to do that after.

If you ride the carts that the drivers told us each cost a 1/2 million dollars to renovate it's just $10 and there is air con, but you obviously don't see the tracks as if you were driving it and hear all the awesome stories and facts. The train does 15 mph to kill time (20 minutes out and 20 minutes back till the bridge is tracked up for longer journeys) but sometimes the driver cranks the engine to 20 on the way back.... As I say, train enthusiasts will appreciate it!

1  Thank phoenix_rei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews