We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location (not downtown) and quality place, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Well run clean, competently staffed, hotel offering claen rooms, clean bathrooms, nice amenities (breakfast, coffee in lobby), helpful people, taxis and tours pick you up here and it's a nice place to bed down economically for a night or two or three while taking day tours. Best Western and more so the Plus are well run establishments. Great wifi and TVS work well.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear, odd numbered are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jjp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

jjp76,

We appreciate you taking a moment of your day to reflect on your travel and your time spent with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to be your home away from home again someday soon!

Safe Travels,

Adam M Winslow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

VERY comfortable beds!! The location is good for a visit in Anchorage, not too far from downtown. But make sure you don't check in early. Tim the front desk person was far from friendly and did nothing to assist us when we inquired about our reservation. While we understood that 7am isn't check-in time, he could have at least offered to take our luggage, suggest breakfast spots to kill time, and offer to see if we could check in early. He was short with us, and seemed to be annoyed at our questions. I imagine he worked the "graveyard shift" so perhaps he was tired. Nevertheless, it would have been a much more pleasant experience for us to be greeted with a friendly person after our 6 hour red eye flight to Anchorage. I am giving this review 4 stars because the evening front desk employees were much more friendly and the room was very clean, and had super comfy beds. But Tim has to go!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alawha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Alawha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some comments regarding your stay. We certainly appreciate the positive feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I can assure you we will also quickly look into and address your concerns with the staff member mentioned. It is our goal to deliver top notch service to each and every guest and we won't rest until we deliver on that.

Thank you again and Safe Travels,

Adam M Winslow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We used this as a one night stay when we flew in from King Salmon to start the next half of our adventure. Hotel was clean, rooms clean, Bed slept well, felt safe. No very close place to eat so we ate at the in house Bistro. No airport shuttle; cab was just short of $20 with Ubar at $18.

Room Tip: Rooms we were in were quite, clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Kenneth C,

Thank you for leaving us some feedback on your stay and for relaying on some great information to our future guests regarding transportation to and from the airport! We were honored to be one of your stops on your adventures through Alaska and hope to see you again on your next trip!

Happy Adventuring,

Adam M Winslow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Nice hotel with easy access to transportation. We made use of the guest laundry facilities since we were traveling over a period of time. The room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel was in a good location. It was easy to get around town from there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Monica M,

We appreciate you taking a moment to leave some comments about your time spent with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we certainly hope to see you again should your future endeavors bring you back our way!

Safe Travels,

Adam M Winslow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

This is a good spot to stay within easy driving distance from the airport. It is more economical than downtown locations, and rooms are nice. The staff was super! It is a short drive to downtown and you are right next to AK 3 for a trip either direction.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank betsy1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W, General Manager at Best Western Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

betsy1100,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! We love our central location providing easy access to all things to do in and around Anchorage and we are glad you found it convenient as well! We hope to see you again soon.

Safe Travels,

Adam M Winslow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dimond Center Hotel
#19 of 74 in Anchorage
468 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
633 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#32 of 74 in Anchorage
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Anchorage

Been to Best Western Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 1000 E 36th Ave, Anchorage, AK 99508-4304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Anchorage
#13 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price Range: $124 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Golden Lion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Golden Lion Hotel located only 5 miles from the Anchorage Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Anchorage
Anchorage Best Western
Best Western Golden Lion Hotel Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing