We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Alaskan adventure began here, we enjoyed it so well, we finished it here too. We'll be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Our 19 day Alaskan adventure began by spending two wonderful nights (6/30/17 & 7/1/17) at Rita's Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed & Breakfast. As we drove on to the her lovely property we felt at home. The grounds were welcoming well maintained and the beautiful flowers around the home and on her spacious decks were incredible.
Our original reservations for those two nights was for the lovely Butterfly Room but upon arrival we found that Rita had graciously (complimentarily) upgraded us to her spacious accommodating Garden Terrace Suite on the first floor. We were spoiled there with an extremely comfortable bed and linens. The suite had a comfortably sized bathroom with double vanity areas and a spacious Jacuzzi jetted tub alcoved by bay windows with privacy blinds that allowed in as much ambient light as you would like and a garden view. The suite also had a large plush day bed, TV, DVD/VHS, refrigerator, microwave, sink, cabinets, wine glasses, videos, magazines and books. What a treat and well-worth the $50 upgrade price. During our stay we enjoyed walking around her lovely property and even played frisbee with her lovely granddaughter, Madison, on the lush green lawn. There is some play ground equipment for young children too on the property.
The common guest area large living room is not common it is very special. It is furnished with very comfortable high quality living room couches, chairs and tables along with an amazing collection of museum quality artifacts and treasures she and her family have collected over the years. The large glass windows bring the feeling of her gardens in the room with you so you can peacefully enjoy her large collection of books about Alaska (or your own book or internet) or play board games, etc.
Rita's over abundant and accommodating breakfasts were served elegantly in her family dining. I felt so much at home that I forgot I was at a B & B and started to get up to help clear the dishes. That made Rita laugh and she insisted the we just relax and she would take good care of us, which she did.
Rita was very knowledgeable about Alaskan history and tourist points of interest.
We return to her B & B for our last two nights stay in Alaska. This time we opted to upgrade to the The Ivory Suite (a.k.a. the local's call it The Honeymoon Suite). What a very nice experience. We almost didn't want to leave the suite. If you really want to spoil that special someone (or just yourself) this is the place to stay. The dry sauna was outstanding especially after hiking all over Alaska. The sauna was very well maintained. Two people can comfortable lie down flat on individual bunk bed style shelves to enjoy a sauna together. This suites' bathroom was almost double the size of the Garden Terrace Suite. There was a stand alone glass walled shower area with two shower heads, a larger double vanity area, toilet and a bidet set, and the jacuzzi jetted tub was larger too, it was surrounded by stylish windows.
The bedroom room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. The room had a cozi fireplace with a mantle and two very comfortable leather lounging chairs with matching leather ottomans, TV, DVD, refrigerator, wine glasses, an a cute juke box-looking CD/radio, ceiling fan, etc., but to top it all off the bedroom had glass french doors that opened to a balcony overlooking the common guest living room on the first floor.
We felt very safe and comfortably welcome at the Alaskan Frontier Gardens. We would return here and would recommend Rita's lovely home to others. You may want to book here quickly or you'll miss out. Thank you Rita! Danita & Dayne Geyer

Room Tip: My first choice would be the Ivory Suite, then the Garden Terrace Suite but all of the rooms are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dayneanddanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017

I researched a great deal looking for the right place to stay, as I am sure you are. This place is great. Beautiful gardens surround a very nice home. The lady running the show has been doing so for 30 years and puts out quite a spread in the mornings, everything from reindeer sausage and regular sausage to waffles or ? It's all good. We stayed in the Ivory Suite which is their "honeymoon suite". I saw another recent review complaining about this room about the decor. Yes, its a little aged and the whirlpool tub big enough for 4 people has some chips but it works great, and its a huge whirlpool tub, complain-no. The suite is carpeted, but if she wants carpet in her bathroom and cares for it, it's fine. The bathroom is huge with the tub, large double vanity, 2 heads on the shower which we could only get one to work, but a built in sauna connects to the bathroom. Nice. There is a toilet and bidet. We loved the bathroom. The bedroom is huge with timeless dark wood furniture and very comfortable leather chairs with stools that I could have slept in. Bed was very comfortable. Entering the front door you do walk into living quarters but I didn't find this bad and it actually had you talking more with the hostess and the other guests. Stay here and enjoy. We did for our 35th anniversary.

Room Tip: Ivory suite but book far in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chief400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We stayed at the Alaskan Frontier B&B on two separate nights during our trip to Alaska. The gardens are spectacular. Both times we found it very comfortable, quiet and beautifully appointed, especially the garden suite room, which was very luxurious. Rita, the innkeeper, is a wealth of knowledge about things to see and do in Anchorage and Alaska in general. Breakfast, served at the dining table, was a great opportunity to meet and talk with other travelers. Breakfast was freshly prepared, included lots of choice and was very good. It is a short drive to the airport. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Garden suite has a king size bed, jacuzzi tub, and nice view onto the back garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Our family of 3 stayed here in March 2016. Just now realizing that I didn't write a review, and that is an oversight! Rita is a wonderful host, gracious and kind. And her breakfasts are amazing too!!! I love that she sets her table so elegantly! Her B&B truly feels like a home and you can sit in the huge overstuffed chairs in the living room and read or play cards or enjoy the beautiful scenery. The beds were so comfortable!!! -- In fact, my mom wants to know what brand of mattresses you have, as she'd like one herself! Could you reply and let us know, Rita???
A wonderful stay and we'd certainly book again when in the Anchorage area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zarinafied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are locals and chose to spend the night here for a little staycation. Since we were only staying one night we splurged for the Ivory Suite. A large spacious room with a large spacious yet carpeted (?) Bathroom. The decor is late 70s early 80s so if that is turn off look somewhere else. We are fairly new to using BnBs vs hotels so when walking in the door and seeing the turtle tank and other personal items stacked everywhere it really threw me off.

The good: The kin bed was comfy, the in room sauna worked well and the leather chairs for TV watching were great! We appreciated the in room mini fridge.

The bad: The jetted tub is really showing its age with cracks etc., we ran out of hot water to fill it up the whole way and there were stains on the robes placed out for us to use :/ There is a really cool double shower but one of the shower heads only produces cold water.

Overall not a bad stay. We were glad to get away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
8.4 km away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
13.8 km away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#4 of 126 in Anchorage
230 reviews
13.6 km away
11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
Arctic Fox Inn
Arctic Fox Inn
#3 of 126 in Anchorage
324 reviews
37.9 km away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
14.6 km away
Copper Whale Inn
Copper Whale Inn
#9 of 126 in Anchorage
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7440 Alatna St, Anchorage, AK 99507-8034
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed And Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing