We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but not amazing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I are locals and chose to spend the night here for a little staycation. Since we were only staying one night we splurged for the Ivory Suite. A large spacious room with a large spacious yet carpeted (?) Bathroom. The decor is late 70s early 80s so if that is turn off look somewhere else. We are fairly new to using BnBs vs hotels so when walking in the door and seeing the turtle tank and other personal items stacked everywhere it really threw me off.

The good: The kin bed was comfy, the in room sauna worked well and the leather chairs for TV watching were great! We appreciated the in room mini fridge.

The bad: The jetted tub is really showing its age with cracks etc., we ran out of hot water to fill it up the whole way and there were stains on the robes placed out for us to use :/ There is a really cool double shower but one of the shower heads only produces cold water.

Overall not a bad stay. We were glad to get away.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

I loved staying there every one was really welcoming and nice. The house was really comfortable. Her son even pulled me out when I got stuck in the snow, he even plows the road and drive way for those who have a rental car

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Our first stay was in September, 2016 and our first B&B experience. Miss Rita spoiled us! Her food and hospitality are top notch and her home is gorgeous! The rooms are all very clean and well put together. AFG B&B is located not too far from downtown Anchorage and a great place to relax after your day's adventures. Depending on which room you rent, you may be able to unwind in your own jetted tub. We love Miss Rita and AFG B&B so much, we were sure to reserve a room for the Fur Rondy this year and plan to any time we are in Anchorage!
With her many years of residing in Alaska, she is also a great resource for things to do and not to do.
Pretty sure you will love this place too.

Room Tip: Ivory Tower if you really want to spoil yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowgirlnurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

On Sept 13, 2016 I stayed with Rita for the third time. She is warm and friendly. The house is like a museum. Our room on the ground floor was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was orange juice, coffee, tea, freshly made waffles with a wonderful cinnamon infused peach compost. The only protein was the Yoplait Light Yogurt. The grounds are beautiful, an easy drive from the airport. Downtown is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BRubin510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016

My husband and I stayed her on our first night in Alaska. We were greeted by Rita, the owner, who was friendly and inviting. Our room was clean and spacious and our private bathroom had everything we needed; towels shampoo, conditioner and soap. In the morning, Rita made us waffles and there was also juices, meat, and cereal available. We enjoyed our time there and getting to chat with her. The grounds are well-kept and Cisco, the dog, was a great greeter. :)

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
13.6 km away
11th Avenue Bed and Breakfast
8.4 km away
Alaska House of Jade Bed and Breakfast
37.9 km away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 km away
Wildflower Inn
Wildflower Inn
#4 of 126 in Anchorage
230 reviews
13.6 km away
Judy's Touch of Class B&B
Judy's Touch of Class B&B
#7 of 126 in Anchorage
119 reviews
4.3 km away
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
#19 of 126 in Anchorage
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7440 Alatna St, Anchorage, AK 99507-8034
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Alaskan Frontier Gardens Bed And Breakfast Anchorage, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing