We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
wenatchee, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights here attending the Winter Fur Rondy and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is perfectly located on the bluff above Ship Creek, peaceful view but just 5 minutes walking distance to the heart of Anchorage. We had a north facing room that looked out over Cook Inlet and the Ship Creek area. The suite was very clean and cozy, there was a small kitchenette and a comfortable bed, very important as I have a bad back . Continental breakfast along with a newspaper was delivered every morning to our doorstep!!! On our first morning we ventured out onto a trail that started one block from the hotel and encountered a mother and baby moose much to our delight.
The front desk staff were absolutely wonderful, helping us get to a hockey game, calling taxis, giving us local insights, storing our luggage, getting us into our room early and baking cookies every afternoon. We will definitely come back another year and come in the spring to see the city in a different light.

Room Tip: north facing side of building for a scenic view or south facing to view downtown Anchorage We had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chica-gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    174
    73
    21
    11
See reviews for
74
183
36
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Just a few blocks from downtown so very convenient to shops and restaurants. Room has separate bedroom and living area with kitchenette. Breakfast - bagel, oatmeal and juice - left outside your door each morning and (depending in staff motivation) there's usually fresh cookies in reception. Its certainly not as glamorous as the big hotels and some of the fittings and carpet are a bit worn and dated but overall it's fresh, clean and comfortable. Reception staff varied from warm and welcoming to quite disinterested. In balance though, I would certsinly stay again should I revisit Anchorage.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abatrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights last year and it was def the right pic for a hotel. I couldn't believe our luck when I saw the rooms for the price we paid. It was pretty cool. Their taxi service was spot on and the hotel was not very crowded. The continental breakfast sucked but you are so close to so many dining establishments that it does not really matter. Right across the street from the mall too. Btw I was here in December 2010 but trip adviser will not let me go that far back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotzebue, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This place was like having an apartment in downtown Anchorage. We came in by train so the location was fabulous (view of the station from our window!). The room was not beautiful, otherwise I would give it 5 stars. The cookies on the desk were delicious. Parking was easy and free, but unnecessary for part of our trip because most of what we wanted to do was within walking distance. Desk staff was friendly and helpful. The free, delivered to our door breakfast was huge. Hot cereal, granola bar, danish, coffee, etc, with a kitchenette and coffee maker in the room. Price was excellent (we arrived Christmas Day) and it was quiet. I believe I recall other reviewers mentioning a bar across the street. This is no longer an issue. No bar in sight!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiCottam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Perfect location. The rooms were with a seperate livingroom and kichen, very spacious. Perfect for a stay longer than 1 night!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#25 of 73 in Anchorage
538 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Grand Hotel

Property: Anchorage Grand Hotel
Address: 505 W 2nd Ave, Anchorage, AK 99501-2207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Price range (per night): $131 - $267
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anchorage Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-suite hotel. Terrific downtown location, one block from Coastal Trail, within walking distance of 5th Avenue Mall, Convention Center, Performing Arts Center, Anchorage Museum, and restuarants. Fully equipped kitchens. Breakfast items delivered to your door. Morning newspaper. Free Wi-Fi. Cable TV with HBO. The best value in Anchorage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Grand Hotel Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing