We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice place to stay for any type of travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Cantwell, Alaska
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay for any type of travel”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed here for 1 week in March 2012. I was very impressed with the quality of the property and of the staff. The location is also superb as it sits on a lake with a walking trail.

I stayed here with two kids and we took full advantage of the pool. A small complaint might be that a couple of times in the pool the chlorine was a bit much. The water could have been slightly warmer as well.

Breakfast was ample and standard hotel fare.

One of the best things about the hotel is that it is Native Alaska owned.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AK_Syringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    151
    28
    5
    9
See reviews for
139
117
27
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed here for 8 days on a business trip. The room is very modern, think Ikea. The separate "rooms" for the toilet and shower were weird, but served their purpose well enough. As someone else noted, no matter what you do, the water in the shower will leak out onto the floor. They do have a really good free breakfast, better than most. Frankly whenever there is a fairly decent hot breakfast, you've won me over. The hotel sits on university lake and there is a really pretty one mile trail aound the perimeter. I went walking around the lake everyday and saw moose on the trail all but two of those days. My only complaint lies in the people around me. My neighbors to my immediate right screamed at their kids non stop and the neighbors across the hall actually ended up with the police banging on their door due to screaming. I guess the take away is, sound proof doors may be a good investment for this hotel as all of the guests like to scream at each other.

Room Tip: Keeping the fan in the room running helps drown out the noisy neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
160 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

staff is great, breakfast is adequate, my room's shower leaked water on the floor no matter what I tried to do to stop it. No bath, Linens are 3rd rate...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The room has a modern touch feel and spacious. Being equipped with microwave and small fridge, it really helpful for us since we are travelling with small children.Being part of Marriot , this hotel met my expectation. Eventhough it was full booked, they kept our room. By the time we got there at almost 12 midnight, there were someone helping us with the luggage and the front desk gave me 2 chocolate bars as I presented my marriot membership card.

They have extensive selection of breakfast and the hot waffle is my favorite.
I love the location with the lake just behind the property along with the nature trail and its outdoor space. I definitely reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fionna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to visit family in the hospital. The entire hotel is very nice, clean with modern decor. The breakfast was very good.. much better than some "free" breakfasts offered at other hotels. I wish they had better quality coffee though. But, overall the place was great and so was the staff!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
422 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,673 reviews
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#21 of 73 in Anchorage
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake

Property: SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
Address: 4050 University Lake Drive, Anchorage, AK 99508
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Anchorage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anchorage
#6 Business Hotel in Anchorage
Price range (per night): $154 - $385
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a different kind of hotel with style and space, beautifully priced.Beautiful lakefront lodging with mountain views, in town. Featuring separate areas for sleeping, eating and working, SpringHill Suites provides guests with a microwave, mini-fridge, desk and pull-out sofa bed. Enjoy complimentary continental breakfast and airport shuttle, as well as pool, whirlpool, exercise room and wireless. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Anchorage University Lake Hotel Anchorage
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing