We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in great prices from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
240
87
35
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
87
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal trail downtown anchorage cook inlet yogurt other guests continental breakfast street noise tony knowles trail chain hotel private bath breakfast was amazing queen bed the general manager would definitely stay here again train station earplugs alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2017

The Copper Whale Inn is a special little place tucked away in Anchorage. Not fancy, but all the comforts of home at a reasonable price. Glen does not own the place but you would never know the difference. He takes pride in his work and customer service, and is a wealth of information about Alaska. He takes the time to help his guests with any problem, and makes the effort to learn their names. There is a nice relaxing continental breakfast with a wide variety of items, to fill you up and start your day. But if you want to have a more hearty breakfast, the Snow City Cafe (best breakfast in Alaska) is just across the street.

Room tip: Annex building is quieter
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RickJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Thank you so much for your kind kudos! I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return when you are next in Anchorage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Copper Whale Inn for one night. Efficient and easy check in with a nice host. Our room was great and we had an awesome view of the Cook Inlet and Sleeping Lady. I personally love a nice, soft, comfy bed and the queen bed delivered. The room (The Susitna Room) is smaller but well appointed and right off the lobby.

We planned our stay as part of a package that I purchased at a silent auction several months ago. Ironically we ended up staying while we attended another fundraiser event downtown at an unmentionable hotel two blocks away. It was the perfect location to enjoy downtown.

The European style continental breakfast was the perfect morning snack and the coffee was awesome. It was the perfect boost to help kickstart our day after a prior evening of many adult beverages.

We highly recommend the Copper Whale Inn if you are looking to stay at a smaller downtown property with local charm and hospitality. This may not be the place for everybody, but we certainly enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank AZFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We flew into Anchorage late on a Saturday night and when we arrived at the Copper Whale Inn, instructions were posted on the door and two rooms were clean and ready to go.

Breakfast was good and fed a family of six which is no small task.

The hostess originally from Kansas (never asked her name) was very nice and easy to talk to about her experiences in Alaska.

The place is located downtown close to shops, restaurants and the coastal trail.

We would recommend staying there again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2017

Thank you so much. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

The copper whale is located on the outskirts of Anchorage overlooking the sound. It a very friendly comfortable place to stay, close to staying with friends. Owner Gary and Staff were always very helpful. Absolutely OUTSTANDING continental breakfast, with high grade gormet breada, fresh fruit with coveted berries with yogurt and granola as desired. The only negative is lack of parking, but they even help guide you to free overnight places. Resturaunt directly beside Simons and Seafort expensive but woth every dime and top notch.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eweste7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed our breakfast options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

This smaller Inn often times has discount coupons in a local coupon book, which we like to take advantage. Most rooms are spacious and several have private bathrooms. There is one room on the street front that you'll want to avoid because of noisy traffic all night and early morning deliveries next door. Parking is almost non-existent. The manager is very helpful and responsive to issues. Lodging includes a generous breakfast of the continental type, but with more variety. The location is ideal for walking around downtown Anchorage. Some rooms have a nice view of Cook Inlet as well. I recommend this Inn, but urge the use of a coupon for two nights for price of one.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank eblocker4460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thanks a lot for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews