We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
240
87
35
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
240
87
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal trail downtown anchorage cook inlet yogurt other guests continental breakfast street noise tony knowles trail chain hotel private bath breakfast was amazing queen bed the general manager would definitely stay here again train station earplugs alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

this small property is located downtown Anchorage 1/2 block off the Tony Knowles Trail. if you have a car street parking is only available for 2 hours during office hours but you can purchase a $24/day voucher for a parkade a block away. our room had a fireplace and an easy chair and a veranda with 2 chairs and a table. the bed was comfortable. the bathroom was adequate. the staff were courteous and obliging. the breakfast was one of the better ones we had on our trip. cereal, juice, fruit, yogurt and fresh buns and pastries, coffee and juice. the breakfast room was comfortable and bright. this property was a nice alternative to the huge cruise line hotels that are available in Anchorage with all the accompaning buses and large groups. free consistent wifi service

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigeonstreet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Thank you for you kind review and your detailed comments. We try our best to offer exactly that - a convenient, comfortable and welcoming alternative to the big properties in downtown Anchorage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016

This small inn on a busy street corner has good-sized rooms with fireplaces and small but adequate bathrooms. Service from reception staff seems mixed: we had a very helpful guy meet us but the following day the duty guy seemed completely indifferent to customer needs

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 654GregP654
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

Thanks or your review. I'm sorry the level of service was inconsistent, and will be addressing the issues you raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

After almost 24 hours trip from Sao Paulo to Anchorage (including 8 hours stop at Chicago) I could reach the hotel. Found my name on a paper on door with instructions. Very comfortable. Tall and comfortable bed. Good breakfast and very friendly staff. It's a place to stay in Anchorage.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank fernandopereira2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016
Google Translation

Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm so happy we were able to provide a comfortable respite for you after your long journey. Best wishes for a wonderful Alaska adventure!

Muito obrigado pelas suas amáveis palavras. Estou tão feliz que fomos capazes de proporcionar um descanso confortável para você após a sua longa jornada. Melhores votos de uma maravilhosa aventura no Alasca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

From the moment, I connected with The Copper Whale Inn, my experience was wonderful. The reservation process was easy and I had to make a last minute change. They worked with me and explained things kindly. When I arrived at the Inn, the experience continued. All of the staff were accommodating and very customer service oriented. The Inn is central to downtown, a key when exploring. The breakfast, while buffet met all my needs and went beyond. They had wonderful local tasty bread and nonfat Greek yoghurt in addition to the fresh fruit and usual food. The view from the lounge was beautiful. The rooms were well set up and clean. The only thing I would suggest to the Inn Keeper is to update the sofa's in some of the rooms. While clean and comfy, the one in our room was a bit worn. Overall, I would highly recommend this Inn and use it again!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rhondalc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you so much! I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit and our Alaskan hospitality. I'll take a look at the sofa - thank you for bringing this to my attention. It's that time of year, at the end of our busy summer season, when we catch up on all those little things.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

We had 2 nights here at the start of our recent trip to Alaska. This small privately run historic hotel (one of the few buildings to survive the 1964 earthquake) was a great choice for us. The welcome was warm and friendly, and Glenn was a great host - informative and helpful. We had a room in the building at the back of the hotel, looking out over the sea towards the mountains. It had a large comfortable bed and all the usual facilities, and was clean and warm. Storage space was a bit limited, but not a problem for us. We enjoyed the comprehensive and good quality continental breakfast. There was a very good selection of fresh fruits, breads, yoghurts, cereals and pastries, and we liked the informality of the breakfast room - good for meeting people and learning about their experiences. The hotel is within easy walking distance of downtown Anchorage, with restaurants and shops, and there is a cycle hire shop right next door if you want to be a little more energetic. We enjoyed our stay here and would happily return if we were in Anchorage again. We much prefer the personal touch to the corporate hotel approach, and the Copper Whale delivered.

Room tip: Rooms in the back building tend to have better views and be quieter.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KDstamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

Thank you! I'm so happy you enjoyed our Alaskan hospitality. Our facilities are comfortable, and while our rooms may not be grand and large, we have appointed them with the necessaries to create a welcoming and inviting ambiance. We do our best to make our guests happy with warm, personal service, and our great location is hard to beat. We certainly will hope to host you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews