We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 February 2012

All was perfect for our overnight musical get-away! The hotel is so lovely! The dessert in the restaurant was over the top! The thermostat/heat made sleep tough for me but all else was PERFECT!

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor. Elevators are speedy & many!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crisjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,618 - 2,622 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary here this weekend. The hotel propertyis beautiful & grand and on the National Historic Registry. It's also very centrally located in Seattle, where you can walk to many of the attactions and shopping. The price was very fair and comparable to the Sheraton (where we usually stay). The service was top notch. There is even a hotel car to take you where you need to go. On the downside, there is no view, because all the buildings around it are much taller and block and view that there maybe was when it was built. The rooms and suites are small, the windows are very old and leaky, the paint was even peeling off on our window sills. There was no coffee maker in our room, or mirowave, so we had to order up coffee service, which was over $22!!!! The flat screen tv's in the rooms were fine, but they only basic cable, and the pictures was snowy. Also, there is no wireless internet, at least in the rooms. It's the old plug in cable type. I used the signal from Starbucks across the street. The brunch buffet in the main restaurant, The Georgian Room, was very expensive ($25.00) for the limited selection they offerred. We expected perhaps a carving station, omeletes, some seafood choices, etc. There was none of that. Just eggs, sausage, potatoes, fruits and pastries and assorted cereals.
All and all, It is an elegant hotel with top of the line everything, and we would definitely stay there again. But seriously, get those windows replaced!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Marguerite M, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations. We are constantly evaluating our guest priorities as we invest in our product and service. Your input is very valuable. In fact, on your next visit you will find coffee makers in all our rooms as part of our guest room plan. Also I'd like you to know that if you choose to sign up as a Presidents Club member, you are entitled to some very nice benefits including free wireless connection in your guest room. We hope to see you again. Safe Travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It was my moms 60th Birthday and I flew her out from Brazil to Vancouver, and took a trip to Seattle. We decided to stay at the Fairmont as they have great service ( I stayed in other Fairmont Hotels and it was amazing)

The service starting from the Vallet to the front desk and room service is just amazing. You feel like home and I didn't want to leave the place.. They called me by my name and that is HUGE for me ; ) The concierge was so pleased and happy to help. Thanks to William and Mario you guys made a HUGE difference on my trip...

I can't thank you enough!

Room Tip: Follow William's advice and go to Metropolitan Grill for an amazing steak.. then Cafe Camganha f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Eduardo. Thank you very much for the kind words. Our goal is to provide our guest with fond and memorable experiences; especially on special occasions. We are please that you enjoyed yourself and will pass your comments on to our staff. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

My cousin and stayed here to celebrate our 50th Birthdays and the hotel service was above and beyond my expectations (and I stay in Fairmonts frequently)!. The front desk staff were incredible in helping us select the perfect executive suite and even sent us a tray of chocolate dipped strawberries to mark the occasion! We enjoyed riding in the chauffeur driven Jaguar and the professional chauffeurs and doormen who consistently made us feel like royalty. We went swimming and enjoyed a pool long enough to swim lengths as well as a fantastic hot tub. The locker rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. Our room was very pretty with a pretty light green colour scheme and crystal lamps. Joining the President's Club provides you with many benefits including complementary internet and the loan of work out runners and clothes. Lovely stay - we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont for one night this week as part of a large group travelling on business.

Check-in was very slow because we all arrived in a bunch but they didn't put more people on the desk to deal with it nor did they have our room keys ready in advance.

I was put into a small room on the second floor next to the swimming pool and lifts so there was quite a bit of through traffic in the corridor outside and a really lousy view of a flat roof and some litter outside. Not a big deal for one night but not terribly luxurious either.

I was slightly irked that the guy in the line in front of me got a top floor corner room with lovely views and the guy behind me got upgraded to a suite because of the wait at check in. I know because they were both in my party and were obviously delighted with the outcome and told us all. I obviously drew the short straw.

The room was fine, clean, well-appointed. The air conditioning unit in my room was too noisy to leave on and the one from the room next door was also very noisy and I didn't get a great night's sleep as a result.

But It's pretty astonishing to have to pay for internet connectivity these days and $8 for a bottle of water from the minibar is also pretty outrageous. In the last year I've stayed at Raffles, Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton etc. and I'm pretty sure I didn't have to pay for water or internet at any of them. My colleagues tell me that their rooms had an espresso machine but mine did not, which is a shame. This is an increasingly common amenity.

So, what was good? Breakfast was fantastic. Really tasty omelette, nice buffet. The lobby is pretty impressive. I'm told (ahem!) that the views from the higher floors are nice. The bathroom is shiny and marble and the room compares well with other luxury hotels in terms of amenities and comfort. The location is good and central. They did a great shoe shine!

Room Tip: High floor with a coffee machine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DennisClark, General Manager at The Fairmont Olympic Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. The feedback will provide good training material. Thank you also for being a loyal guest of Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. It might be a good idea for you to consider signing up as a Presidents Club member. There are many benefits including free internet service which I think you would highly value. We can also track you preferences which would help us to ensure your satisfaction. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,755 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,116 reviews
Belltown
Pan Pacific Seattle
Pan Pacific Seattle
#17 of 104 in Seattle
1,621 reviews
Belltown
The Westin Seattle
The Westin Seattle
#42 of 104 in Seattle
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Olympic Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Olympic Seattle

Address: 411 University St., Seattle, WA 98101-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#9 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#11 Business Hotel in Seattle
#15 Family Hotel in Seattle
#16 Green Hotel in Seattle
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $261 - $723 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fairmont Olympic Seattle 5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Footsteps from Seattle's most exciting attractions, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel combines traditional warmth with 21st century convenience and personalized service. Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, the beautifully historic 450-room hotel blends classic ambiance and Italian renaissance architecture with state-of-the-art amenities, including high-speed wireless Internet access in all guest rooms and public spaces, 24-hour room service, 24-hour concierge, a fully equipped fitness center with indoor swimming pool, and complimentary house car service throughout downtown. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Fairmont Olympic Hotel is excited for the next stage in this history with the start of a $25 million renovation. This renovation began on December 9th 2015 and is set to finish in July of 2016. The renovation will go floor by floor and will include buffer floor closures in order to minimize disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Fairmont Hotels, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fairmont Olympic Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle Hotel Seattle
Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Fairmont Seattle
Four Seasons Seattle
Seattle Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing