We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Happy Skier

Took my AIARE 1 with Kaf. Mick and Zack were fun people to spend the weekend with, taught the... read more

Reviewed 17 March 2021
LesZedCB
,
Seattle, Washington
GREAT experience!

I took the hands-on avalanche awareness class with John Barkhausen. The class was well organized... read more

Reviewed 2 March 2021
Karen_Park_PDX
Read all 84 reviews
  
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
84
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
84
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rock climbing an adventure red rocks skills mountaineering summit instructor avalanche guiding safety participants practicing knowledge techniques educating material
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We spent a day learning the basics of "trad" climbing while getting in some sport climbs at FunRock in Mazama! The KAF guides made it an informative and active athletic day, just like I like. Our all-day climb in the Liberty Bell group of South Early Winter Spires was an amazing experience for alpine rock and we couldn't have done it without KAF Adventures Morgan and Mick showing the way and keeping us safe, Thanks!

Date of experience: September 2012
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Where do I begin my rave about KAF Adventures?! These guys are amazing, creative, safe and educational. A lovely group of 5 other ladies and I spent a day hiking and rock climbing with Mick and Trevor for quite possibly the best Bachelorette Party I have ever attended (apart from my own, of course;)). They were extremely knowledgeable, prepared, organized, fun and client-focused. My favorite part was when we came around a corner in the afternoon to find that the guys had changed outfits into a more "bachelorette party appropriate" attire! We about died laughing:) They also took the time to sneak up champagne, fruit, snacks, a bridal veil, and music for us to celebrate with at the end of a challenging day of climbing. We all left feeling accomplished, closer as friends, and now part of a greater community of outdoor enthusiasts. I LOVE their focus on building community. If you have a chance to adventure with these guys, take it - they will rock your socks off!

Date of experience: September 2012
1  Thank passion_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just got back from climbing 101 with kaf adventures and it was, quite honestly, everything I could have hoped for! Mick and Kai were both knowledgeable, excellent teachers, supportive, and most importantly, really fun! We learned everything we needed to know to get on ropes and spent the majority of the day actually climbing. And laughing a lot. I will definitely be continuing with their courses and tagging along to climb any chance I can get. :)

Thank Clareisomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I just attended this course in August of 2012. The team of teachers where very patient, knowledgeable and had a great attitude. I can tell they love what they do and it was obvious they where there for us the students, to share their passion and truly wanted us to all learn and be able to climb on our own safely. The students where of all levels of climbing and seemed to all also have a great attitude. We all arrived as strangers and somehow parted as friends, knowing that climbing is not a solo activity. The day flew by but it was full of knots, belaying, real rock climbing, technical maneuvers and great companionship. I would recommend this class to anyone going alone or with friends who want to learn the basics on real rock, or want to be re-acclimated after having been absent to the climbing world and need a review. One of my favorite days so far this summer!

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I just went to an intro course at KAF Adventures and it was amazing. The instructors are awesome, and really enjoy the work they do and are enthusiastic about teaching it, they were very patient, keep things going and are great motivators and give the basic teaching of rope climbing. I've been in door rock climbing a couple of times, but it doesn't compare to out door!! It was a great day, everyone there had a great attitude, and now I'm looking forward to continue learning Rock Climbing with this agency.

Date of experience: August 2012
Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews