We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great experience, lots of extras!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great experience, lots of extras!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

My family of 5 stayed here after an Alaskan cruise and we were pleased with the hotel. We arrived very early but that was not a problem for the hotel and our bags were stored for us. We were able to use the complimentary shuttle immediately to begin sighseeing. We really enjoyed the shuttle and how convenient it was to call and be picked up after a long day of walking. The hotel's complimentary list is wonderful: breakfast, laundry facilities, Tuesday evening reception, and shuttle. Quite impressive. The front desk always greeted us with a smile. We had two beds and a pull out sofa so everyone got a good night's sleep. The indoor pool was great for the kids who wanted to jump and splash. The pool had great soundproofing so we did not disturb any of the other guests. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kal_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    372
    70
    17
    9
See reviews for
461
401
32
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We used the reviews on Trip Advisor to help us choose this hotel, and we certainly weren't disappointed when we arrived! We booked a suite with a room, and were told when we checked in that we had the best view in the hotel... The receptionist wasn't wrong! Great view if Lake Union, although there is a fairly busy road between the hotel and the lake.

Amazing shuttle service that has three drop off points in Seattle. I would advise booking seats on it at busy times, which you can do through reception.

Massive suite which was clean and tidy. No restaurant at the hotel, although there is a small shop where you can get snacks and microwave meals. Breakfast was plentiful, but room could do with being extended as it was very busy.

A small note to make... The hotel will only cash travellers cheques if you buy something from their shop.

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a view that is higher than the third floor, otherwise all you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 409Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexicali, Mexico
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel has Lake Union right across the street. The staff is friendly and always willing to help. Jim @ front desk was always kind.There's always a bowl with delicious apples at the reception and also different teas & coffee. The pool is not big, but is indoors, and in Seattle this is a great thing! there's also a hot tub.
Our room was spotless, very spacious, it had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed, desk, chair, big LCD TV, and 2 vanities, one outside the shower area and another inside. More than enough room for a family of 4!
A/C worked well. Breakfast area was ample with a terrace area, so you can have breakfast overlooking the lake. Breakfast was good, my daughter loved the blueberry waffles! Breakfast staff was always attentive and kind.
The hotel provides and excellent shuttle service to downtown, one of the drivers (don't remember his name) was super attentive. The hotel but specially the people who work there, made our stay unforgettable. Thank you.
Tip: If you happen to be in Seattle on a Sunday and want to go for a free ride on a wooden boat, go to the Center for Wooden Boats (you can walk there) at 10:00am and sign up on one of the waiting lists they have for different boats, every Sunday they give free rides beginning @ 3:00pm, but you have to sign up early. My family and I had a great time there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karla014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Hotels in Seattle are expensive. There's really no getting around that fact. However, for the high prices, I find it irritating that you are then charged for all the extras, like internet, which I've always thought should come free with any room in any hotel. The Silver Cloud at Lake Union does not nickel and dime you for everything! Here is a list of the free extras that caused me to pick this hotel:
Free with your room:
Newspaper
Full breakfast with hot and cold items
Internet/WiFi
Parking
Shuttle Service

The shuttle service was really great! We used it every day to get to our destinations and to return to the hotel each evening. It takes you to major points in the area including Pike Place Market, the Space Needle, and Pioneer Square. From the Needle we were able to get to several sights and from the Pike Place dropoff, we were able to walk to the market and the waterfront.
Once, since they weren't busy, they even took us to the restaurant we'd selected for dinner, a place that is not on their normal route. This service meant we didn't have to use expensive taxis or worry about finding (expensive) parking every day. We just left our car in the hotel lot for three days and never moved it. This was likely a savings in cab fares of at least $100 for three days. The two gentlemen who drove us were very nice and we appreciate their service!

Most hotels downtown charge about $30-$40 per day for parking! So, the Silver Cloud saved us at least $90 for our 3 day stay in Seattle. They even allowed us to leave our car beyond check out time so we could finish the last sight on our list without rushing.

The breakfast is okay. This is the only area where I'd have a suggestion for this hotel. And that's about the eggs. They aren't real eggs. They must be powered or Egg Beaters because they tasted awful. Even though it is a free breakfast, eggs are a fairly inexpensive item, so they should use real eggs. The rest of the meal choices were good..2 meats, make your own waffles, bagels, toast, cereals, muffins, fruit, and yogurt. Several juices, coffee and tea were available, too. While there was plenty of food, there isn't enough seating for the size of the hotel...even with the outside patio. They should remove two or three rooms and expand the breakfast area.

Wifi worked well and they also had a business room where you could access computers.

The room was a good size and had comfortable beds. We were traveling with two adults and a child, so we had two queens. There was a desk and a small sofa/loveseat in the room. We were on the seventh floor, on the front of the hotel. That room had a peek-a-boo view of Lake Union, which was beautiful. We find that the towels and bedding in hotels are often far too starchy and stiff, but they weren't here. That was a nice bonus!

They also have a pool and hot tub, which we used after a long day of walking!

We were very pleased with everthing about this hotel. The location is great, the service was excellent, and the extras made this a good value, even in Seattle! We will definitely stay here again! Thank you, Silver Cloud, for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very pleasant hotel with great views of Lake Union. Too bad that Fairview Ave. has very noisy traffic (there is also a place for fixing boats in front of the hotel, which starts making noisy pretty early). Noisy air conditionning as well (but this is normal in hotels). Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,527 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union

Property: Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union
Address: 1150 Fairview Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-4433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
#17 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): $240 - $463
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the south end of scenic Lake Union, the Silver Cloud Hotel Seattle - Lake Union is two miles from downtown Seattle's finest shops and restaurants and just five miles from the University of Washington campus. The hotel is also located near Seattle Center and the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, and is only a 20 minute walk to the iconic Space Needle. Most of the guestrooms have spectacular waterfront views of Lake Union and Seattle. All rooms have 42" high definition flat screen TVs, complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, microwaves, refrigerators and laptop safes. A complimentary Silver Cloud breakfast is offered daily in addition to use of our brand new fitness center. The hotel features an indoor pool and spa and offers local area shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Cloud Inn Seattle - Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Cloud Inn - Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Silver Cloud Hotel Lake Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing