We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Clean and confortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value. Clean and confortable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights. They volunteered a complimentary upgrade to a nicer room even with our discounted AAA rate. We found the staff very friendly, the continental breakfast was adequate for our needs - well stocked and clean. We found the atmosphere very nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iloveperutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    270
    67
    22
    5
See reviews for
268
160
49
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

Colleagues arranged a stay for us at this pleasant hotel, close to the University of Washington. The room was large and comfortable. We had a number of contacts with hotel staff; each one was courteous and efficient. The continental breakfast was better than most, actually having protein (hard boiled eggs and yogurt) as well as coffee, tea, cereal, bagels, pastries and juice.

There were only two negatives: (1) The hotel has no restaurant. HOWEVER, 100 feet down the block is the Portage bay Cafe, one of the great Seattle restaurants for breakfast and lunch. We found dinner options in the neighborhood. (2) The decor could use some spiffing up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your comment! I’m glad that our breakfast and staff were accommodating.
Unfortuantely, we do not have a restaurant, but our neighbor, Portage Bay Café is open daily for breakfast, lunch and brunch. There are many restaurants within walking distance for dinner as well; even quite a few that will deliver directly to your room!
We completely agree with your comment that rooms could use some spiffing up. We are currently working on a plan for updating our rooms which will be rolled out soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hotel exceeded my expectations for the price. The staff was very friendly, room was clean, breakfast was good. I would recommend this hotel if you need to stay in the UW area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Located in the Queen Anne area, the University Inn provided us a great base location as we explored the area. Excellent customer service, comfy beds, pleasant and knowledgeable courtesy shuttle drivers and free parking. Standard continental breakfast which worked just fine for us. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate available in the lobby at night. Overall, a very pleasant experience. The hotel is pet friendly and provides baggies for cleaning up after your 4 legged family member. Grassy areas are a couple of walking blocks away.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you have a secial request. The staff are very accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed 3 days with 3rd night free and got a free upgrade too which was very nice. Room was fantastic - little touches like free water each day. Don't know if I would pay for refrigerator in room as didn't use it much - only for toddlers milk and would be cheaper to buy carton each day. Breakfast was reasonable. Lobby/meal area was very comfortable and spent lots of time down then when toddler going off to sleep (watched by husband).

Lots of restaurants nearby - 2 or 3 block walk. University type pubs and fast food mainly but probably something to suit most. Front desk provided lots of options for eating including delivery menus and delivered to room.

Only negative was that the free shuttle does not allow babies or small kids to travel without car seat and won't provide one. So unless you fancy carting one round all day, you have to use your car or take the bus. We used the buses each day and drivers were super helpful and nice. Just added an unexpected cost to our trip - cost was about 4.50 each way for 2 adults. We normally stay central to avoid extra transport costs and time travelling, but thought we would use the shuttle. Nevermind, the bus was interesting for a change. Also downtown was full of unsavoury characters - terrible homelessness etc which is sad to see. We were a little pleased to get put to the suburbs each night actually.

Overall great experience and ideal if you need to be near university or don't mind shuttle or buses to get downtown.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wild1wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I’m pleased that you were able to make use of our 3rd night free promotion. I apologize that you were not able to utilize our shuttle due to the lack of a car seat. Thanks to feed back like yours, we have purchased a car seat for guest use in our shuttle. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Bellevue
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Bellevue
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Bellevue
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#63 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price range (per night): $207 - $406
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing