We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly faces & unique places!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nauti Otter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nauti Otter
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Friendly faces & unique places!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

After doing my research, I found that the Nauti Otter is one of the most affordable places to stay in Seward, little did I know that it is also one of the most hospitable. Heather went out of her way for me and treated me like a friend. The beds in the hostel were very comfortable and I had a great nights sleep! I plan on bringing my friends along on my next visit to this unique place. Heather knows the town and activities inside in out. She is very helpful in recommending fun things to do outside of the Otter. I can't wait to return for the fourth of July!.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjam60880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    42
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
46
47
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I was a bit suspicious from the start about The Nauti Otter based on the many reviews from people who joined the same day, wrote a review, gave the Nauti Otter 5 stars and never returned to Trip Advisor again. That raises many red flags in my mind. I stayed in one of the cabins. The cabin was simple and relatively small but nice. The bathroom was inside the house (very close), with a flush toilet in an outhouse not far from the cabin (the outhouse didn’t work the first day I was there).

Outside lots of "stuff" was in piles laying against the house or other buildings. It seems to me it would be easy to put all those things in a shed and sort through them later. It was more of just an eyesore than anything else but it didn't give a good first impression as you drive in.

There was full kitchen access which helped to keep food costs down. The place is about 5 miles north of Seward, so slightly inconvenient but not really very far. Having breakfast included was nice. Re: the lack of a “waffle station” mentioned above, there is a waffle maker on the kitchen counter with ingredients and instructions in a basket right next to the waffle maker. I made a waffle one day and greatly enjoyed it.

The major complaint I had was that there was only one bathroom. The place was not full (the place has several cabins, several private rooms and a bunk room) and even then there was a wait for the bathroom more than once. I could not imagine staying here in the peak of summer season with all beds full and only one bathroom/shower. I would probably return again in the off-season but probably would not be able to tolerate the bathroom situation in high season.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking time out to post a reply! As you may know, we had record breaking snow this year and new construction for a bath house was suppose to start on May 1st. Well, May 1st rolled around and there was still 8 feet of snow in the back yard! I had to make a decision to start construction in June (high tourist season) or live with only one shower this year. I thought it would be better to wait on the shower house. You mentioned there was "stuff" all over the yard. When you arrived, we were just finishing up the construction on the front porch, so I do apologize for not having all of the materials cleaned up for your arrival. With all the snow, even construction on the porch ended up happening during tourist season, but it's all cleaned up now. :) I'm glad you enjoyed your waffle and I hope you return next year when the showers are complete! I'm really excited about the new shower house! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This one unfortunately did not live up to the reviews we read. The walls are paper thin, the kitchen is not so clean and people were in and around the kitchen area way past midnight making enough noise to wake us.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
I am saddened to hear your experience with us wasn't a pleasurable one. As stated in my "Frequently Asked Questions" section on the website that "the house was built in the 1940's and the walls are thin and the floors are squeaky". I try to prepare guests the best I can before they arrive. Due to the huge amounts of snow fall this winter, my remodeling was postponed a month and we were still "under construction" when you were visiting which is very difficult to keep the house clean with crews running in and out of the house, so I apologize for the cleanliness level here during your stay. Quiet hours are posted in the rooms and I will create a lot more signs to post around the house to ensure everyone remembers to keep the noise level down after 11pm as I know how frustrating it can be when you are trying to sleep! I hope you visit again and if you do I would love to give you a cabin which has more privacy at a discounted rate for your inconvenience. Thank you for bringing issues to my attention as I want everyone to have a positive experience here. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenana, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

I booked a room at the Nauti Otter based on the reviews I found at Trip Advisor, however my experience was not as great as everyone elses. The prices of the rooms/beds were right on target for my budget, which was nice, but other than that everything else was lackluster. We had to check in late and check out early, so I never actually got to meet Heather or any of the other staff (which in hindsight seems to be what everyone loves about this place). The beds were so-so, and the walls are very paper thin. When I was there, there was no "waffle station", and the people upstairs were quite noisy around 3am. I can see how this would be a great place for some travelers, but I don't see what all the fuss is about.

Room Tip: If you're looking to get some sleep, get a cabin.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Meghan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlaskanAdventure, Owner at Nauti Otter, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Oh! I am so sorry your stay here wasn't a pleasurable one! I strive to meet everyone that books with us to answer any questions and help them in their journey. Due to your late arrival and early departure, I'm sad our paths didn't cross. As stated on the website under "Frequently Asked Questions" the house was built in the 1940's and has paper thin walls and squeaky floors. I try to prepare the guests the best I can before they arrive. I have quite hours posted in the rooms, but I will make a lot more signs to post around the house to remind guests about quiet hours. There are always improvements needed here and I will make insulating the rooms a top priority. For waffles, I have syrup, raisins, almonds, dried cherries, powdered sugar and brown sugar. If you have any other suggestions for items, please don't hesitate to send a comment my way. Due to the massive amounts of snow fall this winter, remodeling was a month behind and we were still "under construction" when you visited. It always saddens me when people don't have an amazing time here and if you ever plan on visiting Seward again, I would love to give you a cabin with more privacy at a discounted rate. Thank you for your comments as I am always open to suggestions on how to improve the Nauti Otter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This place was a great contrast to the expensive hotels that lack the type of Alaskan character you are up there to see in the first place.

During my stay I got to enjoy amazingly fresh caught fish several times, and the fisherman that caught them was the same guy who cooked them up and shared with everybody. The morning breakfast was always great too, because they have an awesome waffle station where you can go crazy making waffles all you like.

The staff was great too, all of them having awesome life stories and cool experiences. When I stayed there was a fisherman, a mountaineer who had just summited Denali, and some Texan school teachers spending the summer training for a marathon.

The owner is probably one of the friendliest people alive and that kept the whole place really fun, and she has definitely improved this quirky place to be a real gem at the outskirts of Seward. I hope to go back someday for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jallsaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seward hotels
8.5 km away
Hotel Seward
Hotel Seward
#4 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
6.6 km away
Harbor 360 Hotel
Harbor 360 Hotel
#1 of 14 in Seward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
8.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edgewater Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Alaska Creekside Cabins
20.3 km away
Renfro's Lakeside Retreat
1.1 km away
Bell in the Woods
Bell in the Woods
#1 of 44 in Seward
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nauti Otter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nauti Otter

Property: Nauti Otter
Address: 13609 Seward Hwy, Seward, AK 99664-9609
Region: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Seward
Price range (per night): $27 - $119
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauti Otter offers accomodations for every traveler. We have private rooms within the Inn, affordable beds in The Hostel or several cozy cabins for you to choose from. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nauti Otter Seward, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing