We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 280
USD 261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 225
USD 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
USD 205
USD 200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 235
USD 206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 463
USD 315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
USD 144
USD 135
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,288)
Filter reviews
3,288 results
Traveller rating
1,201
1,456
424
122
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,201
1,456
424
122
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsabc storewest towersmall beachthe big islandhawaiian historypartial ocean viewwithin walking distanceisland breezecoffee shoppaddle boardsshops and restaurantspool barhotel is in a great locationbreakfast buffetocean frontoceanfront roomali'i drive
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,288 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel is in a great spot in Kona, most things are within walking distance. We had a beach facing family room - twice the size of the room we had in Honolulu and about 1/3 of the price. The hotel is well appointed, clean and tidy. The staff are helpful and friendly. Attached photos are of my family paddle boarding off the little beach at the back of the hotel. Beach is super safe and easy to swim in, lots of little tropical fish to see if you choose to snorkel.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Aloha Louise N,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and liked our convenient location. Thank you for sharing your family photos enjoying paddle boarding at our beach front. We hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to Kailua-Kona.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Hawaii residents are second class guests at the King Kamehameha Marriot Kona Beach Hotel. Userous parking fees - gouging the guest with $26 a day parking fees. (Locals only have to pay $18)

As usual, locals get a slight discount for second class rooms, worn, scraped furniture with the worst views over a black top roof. (Weekday rates of $185 without parking.)

The shower head is very low and only for people who are less than 1.75 meters tall (5ft 6in). You have to bend over to rinse your head if your are taller than that.

Inadequate supply of soap and shampoo provided - one small tube for three guests in room.

Room service took over 30 minutes to reply to room with supply requests.

Manic front desk clerks, indifferent, unfriendly.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go to the resorts in Kohala, like the Hapuna Prince or Mauna Lani.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamerRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Aloha RoamerRandy,
We apologize for the poor experience you had encountered at our hotel.
We'd like to speak to you about your experience.
Please contact doh@konabeachhotel.com and please let us know the best way we can reach you.
Looking forward to speaking to you.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Very busy hotel on the “strip” in Kona. We used it as a staging point for members of our family converging on the big island from various points. Hotel staff is courteous and friendly. Breakfast buffet is plentiful (watch out for dive bombing birds). Our rooms were tired and folks partied outside till 2AM. Location is perfect to enjoy all the big island has to offer. Very kid friendly. We enjoyed the pool as it was made for kids. Was perfect for what we wanted for one night.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank lotoftravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback about our friendly and courteous staff and our convenient location. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations, I hope you will consider Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel on your next visit to Kailua-Kona so that we can deliver on the guest experience you deserve.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I stayed in this hotel on my first visit to the Big Island about 10 years ago. They had just had the bottom floor flooded from a small tsunami and all the shops on the floor level were closed. It didn't really bother us at the time because of it's proximity to all the restaurants and shops nearby that were open for business. This visit, all the shops were open and busy. This place has a nice private beach and the pool and pool bar are top notch with friendly servers, The rooms are clean and efficient and served us well since we were only in there to sleep. The only thing that bothered me was the daily charge for parking our rental vehicle. I know most all places charge a fee but I think it should be reduced depending on your length of stay.
This hotel probably has the best Luau on the Island called "The Island Breeze". It certainly has the best location for a Luau overlooking the bay and ocean with a peek at the sunset.
All in all I would recommend this hotel for 1st time and seasoned travelers alike.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Aloha,
Thanks for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback about our convenient location and that you found all our staff "very friendly." Thanks for your recommendation for our hotel and Luau and we look forward to welcoming you again. Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days. It was $216.00/night for a plain, boring room with nearly white walls, no flowers, and nothing that would lead you to believe that you were in Hawaii. The photos tell the story. As a 54 year old woman, it is the first time I have ever vacationed and felt like I was being ripped off legally. They wanted over $100 per couple just to eat breakfast. I know it's Hawaii, but there is expensive, and then there is criminally expensive. Never will I recommend this hotel, all they are concerned about is making money.

Room Tip: Stay at an Airbnb, much more for the money.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaratke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to provide us with your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel.

I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations, especially with our rooms not giving you the sense of our Hawaiian culture, and the breakfast price being very high.

Our hotel is known for its prime location which is right in the heart of town and is also located directly in front of the beautiful Kamakahonu Beach Bay. Our property is also known for the Hawaiian artifacts that surround the hotel. Some of these artifacts are also located in the rooms.

The carpet in the rooms represent the lava rocks, the bed head board is Hawaiian prints which embodies the Hawaiian culture, the wall pictures represent the coconut trees which you can find on our island, etc.

I hope that we have another opportunity to welcome you back to our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews