We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Close to beach, Quiet Neighborhood.”
other travellers have booked this property
White Sands beach park  -  were  50 yards walk. we supply beach towels , chairs & boogie boards
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
White Sands beach park  -  were  50 yards walk. we supply beach towels , chairs & boogie boards
A mile down the road from Kahalu'u Snorkel Beach - the  BEST snorkel beach on the island Large Family Room
 has three single beds, game / computer  WIFI  table ,TV area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
White Sands beach park  -  were  50 yards walk. we supply beach towels , chairs & boogie boards
A mile down the road from Kahalu'u Snorkel Beach - the  BEST snorkel beach on the island
Large Family Room
 has three single beds, game / computer  WIFI  table ,TV area
1st Bedroom has King
2nd Bed has Queen
Kitchen
Kitchen with adjoining  Dining area
from entry view -  kitchen and Dining Area
Main Bath with Jacuzzi tub and free laundry area - plus we supply laundry soap $ fabric softener
2nd Bath with walk in shower
Living Area with three single beds
Washer & Dryer - we supply detergent/fab softener
Front Deck , area for our  ice chests, boogie boards, beach chairs, kids plastic pool, your Gas BBQ
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adventure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Close to beach, Quiet Neighborhood.”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The Coconut Cottage is very close to everything in Kailua-Kona. The home is very welcoming and open. So glad that the owners put an A/C Unit in the Master Bedroom.
5 of us stayed there and we didn't feel like we were on top of each other.
There were notes posted throughout the house on how the owners wanted things.
This home seemed to be located in a very safe neighborhood, which is somehting that we appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandygree...
Sonora, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Everything you could ever want”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my best friend and our 2 granddaughters age 12 and 13. We could have easily accommodated twice that many people. We wanted for nothing. Condiments,laundry soap,paper products,fabric softener sheets,straws, sun screen, insect repellent, flora and fauna, bird guide, fish guide,and an assortment of books,boogie boards,and assorted fins,noodles etc, towels galore,coffee bean grinder and sharp knives and great cookware,ice chests, a great BBQ...really everything you need and more. Tom came by twice to see if we needed anything. The housekeeper who is wonderful came over because we had a problem with the clothes washer...our misinterpretation of how it worked. We wrote out an instruction sheet for future visitors and Tom will post it. Short walk to great boogie board beach. Plenty of storage space in bedrooms and all areas. I could go on and on here. Don't hesitate to rent this charming home. I have rented many private homes on all islands except Oahu and this is the best supplied home I have ever rented. Will stay here again when on the Big Island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: All the extras supplied. Much more than promised.
Liked least: It was very hot and humid. Air con in master and fans in other areas helped. But really this was minor
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastsound, Washington
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TallLady5...
Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This was our 4th trip to the Big Island and first time to stay at the Coconut Cottage. We visited Feb 1-11, 2016.
Tom and Gidget were great to work with and everything was ready for us when we arrived.
The beds were comfortable, plenty of closet space with hangars, lots of towels, extra pillows and clean sheets. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking which we did alot of. Gas grill with extra gas tanks. Plenty of supplies:
toilet paper, paper towels, laundry detergent, dishwashing detergent, ziploc baggies, foil, etc.
They had complete instructions as to trash disposal, trolley schedule, and more.
We were literally a minute from the water. Ahaloa Beach park was a minute's walk from our front door and a fun place to sit and watch the waves. We saw sea turtles and spinner dolphins! We had a small view of the ocean from the deck and could hear the waves crashing at night.
They were getting ready to do some remodeling so some of these comments may have changed. The cottage is open air in that the windows have screens but no glass. There is a window AC unit in the bigger bedroom. We loved the fresh air and there were several fans in the house including ceiling fans in the bedrooms. The house got a little warm during the day but was nice and cool at night. Of course we weren't there much during the day so it wasn't much of an issue.
The furniture is a little worn but comfortable. There were games, books and a flat screen TV. The only time we turned it on was for the Super Bowl :)
The landscaping is really pretty! If you want to sleep in you might want to bring ear plugs. There are alot of birds that live in the trees and they are noisy in the mornings. We loved listening to them but it was a little hard to sleep in.
There were beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, beach umbrella and flippers for our use.
Plenty of private parking - we could have easily had more than one car.
We will definitely stay here again on future trips! We thought it was a great value for the price!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing