We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
276
216
42
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
216
42
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskthe breakfast areahi expressfree breakfastreading lightsyogurtguest laundryperfect hotelsitting areasmall gymparking passali'i drivehotel parkingclean hotelwalking distanceshops and restaurantswould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stayed here for nine nights while on the big island, and couldn't have been
happier. It was an easy drive to go north or south on the coast and we loved
that we could leave the car parked and walk to several restaurants to eat
lunch or dinner. All of the staff were knowledgable about things to do,
places to see, restaurants to try. etc. Dora was our favorite person at
the front desk. I loved that they had a room safe in the closet of our room
to secure our items in while we were out and about. There is a Costco that is about
a ten minute drive away that we bought gifts to bring home, filled up our rental
car with gas (cheaper than any other gas station on the island) and even
bought some snack & beverages for our room. Cruise ships visit this town
so plan on doing something out of town that day if you want to avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank jim12alabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I find the hotel staff is not friendly and did not explain why create a buffer will result in transaction. The hotel breakfast is normal and the floor is dirty. Overall not so much a good experience of stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Hi Simon T,

Thank you for being honest in writing a review about your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit due to the unsatisfactory service you received from our staff, as well as the undesirable condition the room you were given. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the management team to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. In addition, we have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed in This hotel one night. The hotel is clean, comfortable with spacious rooms. The location is in walking distance from the main tourist attractions and shore. We found the breakfast to plentiful with lots of variety.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ebattat100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Convenient location central to restaurants and shops.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Rooms were clean & spacious; had a good night’s sleep.
$10/day hotel parking.
Onsite laundromat was very handy.

Would’ve have liked healthier/less processed breakfast options.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Joy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn Express In Kailua-Kona. It was in walking distance to the bay and Ali Street with all the shops and restaurants. They had a great free breakfast with a variety of hot and cold selections. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joe1976_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews