We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You will not be disappointed”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with comfy couch and outrageous views! Living room featuring Large Smart TV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Spacious living room with comfy couch and outrageous views!
Living room featuring Large Smart TV
Massive kitchen, perfect for making home cooked meals!
Large indoor dining steps from the kitchen!
Large sliding doors allow ocean breezes into the Home
Spacious air conditioned Master bedroom with private balcony!
Master bathroom en suite
Master bathroom shower! Perfect after a day at the beach!
Surf's Up bedroom equipped with King bed and A/C!
Surf's Up en suite with tub shower combo
Kona Coffee Bedroom equipped with King bed and A/C!
Kona Coffee en suite with standing shower
Pua Bedroom equipped with King bed and A/C!
Pua Bedroom showcasing en suite
Pua Bedroom en suite with standing shower
Ohana bedroom steps from living room
Ohana Bedroom equipped with sleeper sofa, King bed & A/C
Ohana Suite Double Sink Vanity Bath
Bunk Room (twin bunks, two twin daybeds) featuring A/C
Bunk room en suite with tub shower combo
Media room with seating for 9 and 80in smart TV!
Game room equipped with sleeper sofa & A/C
Hale Pua Layout (Ohana is a Loft not on same level as Master)
Watch as the waves plunge into the rocks in front of Hale Pua
Secure gated entry to Hale Pua
Private Remote-Controlled Gated Street Entrance
Spacious driveway for up to 6 vehicles!
Exterior of Hale Pua
Spectacular view of the shear size of Lanai
Sea wall separating Hale Pua from the ocean
Seating for 9 on the pool side Lanai table
Custom solar heated salt water pool
Custom spa with unrestricted hours
Oceanfront Pool with Waterfall, Surfers all Day Long
4 outdoor loungers to enjoy the Kona sun
Perfect place to enjoy a cup of coffee and a nice book!
Master bedroom balcony
Seating for the entire family between the three seating ares!
Kitchenette steps from the living room!
Laundry room equipped with 2 washer dyers
Sitting area in front of the stairs leading to Master bedroom
Ohana sitting area showcasing stairs to the loft style bedroom
Waves rolling in right in front of Hale Pua!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michelle1...
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This is such a beautiful place. We travelled as a large family group; 7 adults and 5 kids (ages 6 - 16) and it was AMAZING. The house is so clean (and I am VERY picky). The property is amazingly kept. The view is to die for. The sunsets are absolutely beautiful. The pool is salt water so the kids can swim and swim. There are lots of shady spots and sunny spots so everyone will enjoy. If you want to get away from the group there are tons of areas to hide. The kitchen is magnificently appointed. When we return to Kailua/Kona we will without question stay at this property. Between the 3D TV and movie selection and the games room where you can play cards or build a puzzle, the reading area at the bottom of the stairs, or the TV room with the sectional you are seriously not going to find a better property than this one. EVERYONE loved it and to please 7 very different adults is difficult but this property did it. This is money well spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, I had no complaints
Liked least: See answer above. :-)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luanneosh...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kona style vacay dream house”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have rented properties - from apartments in Paris and Edinburgh, to homes in the Blue Ridge Mountain and Scottsdale, Arizona. This home was amazing! The house is perfect for families or groups of friends - perfect layout and ample space. We enjoyed the patio, playing games and laughing about that boring view .... The stunning ocean from sunrise to sunset! The privacy of each bedroom gave us quiet space and the media room roared with 3D Jurassic Park! Kona town offers great Hawaii style amenities .... Paddle surfing, wonderful food and a fab outdoor market. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to prepare great meals, and local groceries and Costco are convenient to load up on any ingredients. We enjoyed doing nothing, to exploring the sea turtles. My big complaint? The end of my holiday!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hale Pua exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent 10 nights in this spectacular home. Well appointed and classy with tons of space for everyone. The ocean view, location, constant breeze and privacy were just what we wanted for our vacation. We ended up cooking in more than going out to eat because the kitchen and eating spaces were perfect for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: every room was well appointed
Liked least: no outdoor shower facility for snorkel, dive, beach gear
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
“If you're coming to Kona, this is the place to stay.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The property is beautiful and well managed. We can't say enough good about our stay at Hale Pua. This is the perfect spot for a family reunion or groups of any size. The house is made for entertaining, as we did on several occasions during our stay. No detail has been overlooked, from the beautifully appointed gourmet kitchen to beach shoes in every size for the the explorers in our group. Our family was there to see Kona but, truthfully, most of us didn't want to leave the house. The pool and hot tub were perfect with lounge chairs just a few feet from the waves crashing on the beach. Every afternoon we were treated to a show of surfers and net fishermen just on the other side of our garden wall. Then there were the sunsets…..beautiful, every evening at cocktail hour. Our first trip to Kona was fantastic but it's Hale Pua that will bring us back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is beautifully decorated, up to date and everything is new.
Liked least: That we didn't book Hale Pua for two weeks.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntieLul...
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beachfront Paradise with the Best Sunsets!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Hale Pua was the perfect house to host my extended family for my 50th birthday celebration. There were 17 of us total and this house could accommodate more comfortably. Every bedroom has it's own bath and the master suite is on a level of it's own with a private balcony overlooking the surf. There are 3 fridges and adequate parking within a secured gate. This house is situated on a main thorough fare to the center of town where all the action is. Very close to Magic Sands beach as well. We walked to town several times while there. The house is tastefully decorated and the rental agency was very responsive when we had a concern. We would definitely stay here again. Hale Pua is wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very large tables and counter space. Large sofa in family room and the media room.
Liked least: no sandy beach out front, by "hey, you can't have it all"
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing