We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Lava Java

Island Lava Java
Reserve with OpenTable
Island Lava Java is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 283 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 30 - USD 30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Palani
Transit: Public bus stop 300 yards away.
Description: Great Kona Restaurant specializing in fresh, local, organic and sustainable food with 100% Kona Coffee and our own Bakery on site. Serving breakfast, lunch, dinner & Sunday brunch, we are committed to using the highest quality locally produced ingredients. We proudly feature grass fed Big Island Beef, Big Island organic goat cheese and locally grown organic produce, freshly baked house made breads, desserts & goodies. Island Lava Java, Bistro Grill is Kona's #1 Coffee House and Restaurant. We were voted to have the "Best Breakfast in Kona" by the readers of the West Hawaii Today. Island Lava Java Bistro & Grill's Island fare is inspired by everyday island cooking. You'll feel relaxed while savoring a great meal in our casual and comfortable outside, Oceanside lanai. Experience our inventive cuisine, attentive service, and a friendly atmosphere; come see what makes us one of the most popular restaurants and coffee houses in town. We look forward to meeting you!
Pewaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had breakfast outside with a view of the ocean across the street. The coconut chocolate chip muffin was very good. The huge cinnamon roll was good, but we've had better. We asked to have it heated, which improved it. Coffee was very good, but never refilled. We had to ask several times for water.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank crmcwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,273
    774
    240
    73
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My friends and I shared the guava roasted ribs, mac-nut crusted fresh catch, and the Kohala Dragon Salad. Everything was delicious and hit all our spots!
It's BYOB and NO corking fee, we picked up a bottle of wine a few stores down and our waitress even put it on ice for us! I REALLY appreciated that as the last time I brought a bottle of wine to a restaurant (Pesto Cafe') they charged us 10.00 per wine glass.

two of us came back for Breakfast a few days later for the Eggs Benedict, which was also great but more importantly I wanted to take my waitress Kela home with me she was so thoughtful! They were super slammed and that did not phase her, she forgot nothing and genuinely cared about our experience.
Amazing view, life music, hard working staff and I'll be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mayer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great view great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We walked into town and had a wonderful breakfast at Lava Java
My wife had the most humungus cinnamon roles I had every seen and I had Portuguese Sausge with eggs and has browns. It was both really tasty and filling. THe coffee kept coming and we had a most attentive waitress. It was great eating outside and looking at the tourists walking.
THere was lots of choice on the menu and had we not ran out of time on our visit we would have come back from dinner

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cicero12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OK.....nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

ate breakfast there. Coffee was good they must use bottled water. Food was just OK a little over priced. About half way through a singer set up, he was very good. Traffic noise would drown him out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ken4dux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George, UT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude and Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We have always looked forward to sitting out front of Lava Java and watching the street scene on Ali'i. On this trip our first morning's experience was the worst we'd had in over 18 years -- and the second morning was worse! We were taken back by the high prices - yes, it's a primo location but c'mon -- it's coffee for cryin' out loud! The staff at the counter were slightly rude about our orders and the mature slightly built woman (owner/manager?) was very rude to us about seating. They've apparently forgotten their roots as a friendly O'hana and are trying to go big time with table cloths and an expensive dinner menu. We have treasured memories but won't go back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBillD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Island Lava Java also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Island Lava Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing