We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST breakfast in 30 days in Hawaiian islands”

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Honu's on the Beach Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 304 Restaurants in Kailua-Kona
Price range: USD 10 - USD 40
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: Honu's on the Beach Restaurant features the most spectacular Breakfast Buffet with fresh island fruits, bakery items and breakfast basics enhanced by our famed "Live Omelet and Waffle Station". Ala carte menu available. We welcome you in joining Executive Chef Roy Basilio & our entire Honu's team with our newest "Farm to Table" menu. (Cuisine selections available Sunday to Thursday). On Friday and Saturday evenings we feature our famed Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet with a raw bar, appetizers, salads, specialty entrees and of course our "Slowed Roasted Prime Rib Au Jus and Steamed Snow Crab Legs". Join us for Sushi & live music, Sunday through Thursday evenings, 5:30pm - 8:30pm. Happy Hour daily at Billfish Bar, 20% off Pupus, drink specials, 5:30pm to 6:30pm.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We ate breakfast there the 5 days we stayed. Everyday it was fantastically good with the BEST service ,James and Lani were SOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!!!!!! Prices were average cost for any where we ate in 30 days,in fact cheaper than most. It is a Marriot Courtyard property,inside. Also ABC store and much more in hotel. Do you like Hot fresh Food,great service and a view that is unparalleled,200 feet from your seating.5*****

1  Thank vanblarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you very much. Our culinary staff and our servers work very diligently to deliver that 5 diamond experience every morning. It's very rewarding to received an acknowledgment like yours. We;'ll be suer they read about thisd.
Manahlo,
Jak Hu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

While staying in a large hotel like The King Kamehameha Courtyard by Marriott you have a variety of choices for you dining. From a coffee shop to poolside faire and finally fine dining. The choice at the Marriott for fine dining is Honu's on the beach. We felt like staying close to home one evening while at the Marriott so we elected to do the Prime rib and Seafood buffet at Honu's. We were seated immediately on a Saturday night which I thought was unusual. There were plenty of tables available also strange. I suppose it's always a good idea to peruse a buffet no matter how nice before starting. We did not. The food choices were many but nothing stood out particularly the dry prime rib. The place never filled up the food never got any better and the only real suprise was the bill which was well over $100 for 2. In passing the restaurant on other occasions for their Sushi dinner buffet on their brunch buffet the place remained a ghost town, for good reason. With so many food options so close by it would behoove the folks at Honu's to step up their game

2  Thank boris1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

You must've come during one of our nights recently. Our weekend buffet dinner covers usually run about 200 a night and triple that during special celebrations. There are many factors that can affect the umber of guests at any restaurant from bad weather, to other outside events, to the alternating pay days for many of our loyal, kama'aina guest who appreciate variety of dishes prepared with true aloha and them in mind. The prime rib is one of our most popular entrees served at the buffet and it regularly receives high marks for its tenderness, flavor, and juiciness. We have had the pleasure of other Executive Chefs from the other major hotels pay our teams wonderful comments about their dining experiences.
We thank you for your comments and sugestons.
Mahalo,
Jak Hu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Nice location, sitting outside is the best option for a nice setting. We avoided the buffet evenings which aren't our favourite way to dine. The menu is very similar to the pool bar alongside which was disappointing. It would be nice for a hotel of this standard to offer their guests more variety for in house dining. However the staff are professional and friendly and the food is okay.

1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you fr bringing your concern to us. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for his contemplation.
Mahalo,
Jak Hu
General Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Nice poolside/beachside restaurant in downtown Kona at the Sheraton Hotel. Good food and reasonable prices for hotel. Great setting outside by beach. Highly recommend!

Thank dar0898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

We appreciate your feedback and knowing that we helped another guest enjoy their visit to Honu's. We hope you'll be back for another visit in the near future.
Mahalo,
Jak Hu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

Our first visit was great. We were seated overlooking the lagoon and gardens. Our server was very good, prompt courteous and friendly. With a good ahi dinner and wine, we were well served. On the second visit, we discovered it was buffet night- not my cup of tea. Prime rib was tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2018

Thank you for visiting our Honu's restaurant and providing us with such great feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Mahalo,
Jak Hu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Honu's on the Beach Restaurant also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Honu's on the Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing