We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location! Somewhat outdated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We stayed for 5 nights. The location and grounds are beautiful. The pool area can't be beat. Lots of room, waterslides, connecting pools. The kids loved it! The location is somewhat remote, but you should rent a car. People talked about an extra parking fee on top of daily fee, this is not True! We had a great time, until the last night. There was a note about turning the water off between I think 12-4pm for line work. We had went on a snorkel tour and then to the pool since we knew we couldn't shower. When we got back to our room around 4:30, we had no water. I called down filinally and was given false information that it was coming on, I did get a break in the daily room fees. It wonly got worse from there. We finally went to dinner without showering, and it still wasn't back on at 10pm. We went to bed and were leaving the next day. When we got up the water was on and hot. I know that things never go as planned with work, but it could have been done at 10pm at night and then hopefully fixed overnight. We did get compensated well by covering the daily fee. We had booked though a travel agent and she got us additional $400 thorugh our Delta Vacations, so in the end we came out ahead, but was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shellkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 273 of 2,750 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2017

We have traveled all over the world and stayed at many beautiful Sheraton hotels. This is not one of them. It is listed as a 4 star. NO WAY. This is more like a 2 star Motel 6 experience. They have a great location. They need to tear the whole thing down and start over. I was shocked at the condition of this hotel and can't believe Sheraton would put their name on it. I have never stayed at a hotel where my expectation was so far from the realty of the experience. From the jump, the parking valet does not have the "Aloha spirit". The pool is gross. Discolored, chipping and what looks like black mold on the bottom. The walls, hallways and carpet are stained. The elevator is a wreck. Wait till you see the bathroom. Oh boy, what a 4 star treat you're in for. The restaurant/bar off the lobby is a mess. Nothing cleared and glasses everywhere. We actually meet other travelers and locals that shared our same opinion. When you check out they don't even bother asking how your stay was. I think they have all given up.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank mikeagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 25 May 2017

Aloha mikeagent,
Mahalo for your feedback regarding our resort. We pride ourselves on great employees and apologize our valet attendants did not show your the Aloha Spirit. Your feedback has been shared with our management team in regards to the condition. Mahalo once again for your valuable feedback.

A hoi hou,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

This hotel was booked for us for work...beautiful sunsets for sure, NO beach access which we knew ahead of time. We had a company luau which was a great experience for our group...not sure if this hotel does this on a regular basis, Overall not a bad place to stay and on 45 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

The staff was AMAZING esp the lady in the club lounge, I forget her name but she was so sweet and so kind and she made it a habit to remember us & give us suggestions and made us feel right at home. One day our key cards were not working & we went to the front desk to ask about it and the gal was also so pleasant and apologetic & assured us she will make sure it worked and that we can call on her personally if it doesn't. The grounds staff was also very pleasant & offered directions whenever we asked instead of just saying "I dont know" over all the place was clean & the staff was great. My only suggestion is to switch up the club lounge breakfast and appetizers as it was boring to have the same things every day, also one time we arrived alittle late and the food was gone & they didnt restock so we missed out, no big deal to us, we understood b/c we were late & it was our fault but it'll be nice if people can use the club during its time and not have to rush to get something. Thank you!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Moses Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Most memorable was the Ohana experience created by Nani in the SPG club/lounge. She made us feel at home. The food was fine, the view fantastic but she really made the space friendly!

Check in was also great and helpful but make sure you ask for details on parking and the shortest route to your room (not hard, just not obvious).

POOL
The pools were laid out in an fun way with a couple of hot tubs. The slide was slow and not a thrill ride so don't expect too much. We didn't make use of any other activities but they did have a games room. We found the waterfall sound nice and could also hear the kids having fun from our room (but they closed the pool about 10pm so it does not impact sleep).

Great to walk down to the little harbour, and if you do the Manta Ray dive out of this location (Sea Quest is what we did) I suggest just walking.

We stayed two nights there on points and got a great room and wonderful service. Would go back and stay longer next time.

PS> liked the USB ports in the room and well placed electrical plugs too

Only suggestion was that the fridge was in the bedroom rather than the living room area but didn't make much noise so didn't wake us up.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_N_and_3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
50.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.7 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
8.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,994 reviews
45.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $237 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing