We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well designed resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed at this resort for 4 days at the end of December. We had a spectacular oceanfront room and had the opportunity to catch some manta rays playing right from our balcony.
Overall, service at this resort was pretty good.
The pools were nice and never felt crowded. Beware there is no actual beach to get into the water - its all rocks.
The only downside we experienced was with the wireless internet which is included with the resort fees. We tried all 4 of our wireless devices and had trouble either getting on or staying on. The front desk or support was not able to make it any better and blamed it on the devices which worked fine at the next hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean room views are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanM643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Mahalo for your review. We’re pleased that your stay with us was enjoyed and the sight of the manta rays from your balcony was appreciated. The mantas are wonderful to watch as they glide effortlessly through the waters. Since it is our hope to accommodate the needs of all of our guests, we deeply regret the issues that you experienced with the wi-fi service and hope that any inconveniences were minimal. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,335 - 2,339 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We just returned from a great stay at the Sheraton Kona Resort. The resort was beautiful, very well kept and had gorgeous grounds. The pool area was very fun with a multi-story waterslide, 2 hot tubs, beach area and splash grounds. It also had another little slide and pool area attached that went to the other area of the hotel. The pool was located right on a cliff overlooking the ocean and the view was spectacular.

We were very impressed with the friendly staff, especially Walter at the pool. He was always smiling and friendly and gave great tips to win the waterslide races.

The rooms are a little older, but very well kept up and clean. We were up on the top 7th floor and our view from the front or back of the room was so great.

This hotel really worked out well with kids (ages 6 & 9). The pool, kids room with ping pong, pool and foosball, the hawaiian ice shop, basketball and volleyball courts and daily activites made it a relaxing yet active place to be.

We did not eat at the restaurants, except by the pool. The food was very good and not too expensive. The drinks were a little pricey at $10/drink for a mixed drink. Service was very quick and friendly.

The hotel is a little out of town, which was fine with us. We had a rental car so we could choose to be in town where it was busy or out of town. There is a nice shopping center with groceries and a few restaurants right nearby. Each room has a refrigerator, so we got some groceries and ate breakfast in our room and kept water in the fridge. That was a nice and frugal convenience.

Looking forward to going again someday!

Room Tip: Our room was a mountain view but it had a great view of the marina. So we still had a water view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Mahalo for your lovely review of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay and generous praise for our staff. It is our hope that each and every guest has a wonderful time in Kona and a phenomenal experience at our resort located right along the lava cliffs overlooking the ocean. We’re thrilled the kids had fun at the pool and enjoyed the activities at Club Le`ale`a Teen Lounge. We too are looking forward to your return! Ahuihou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have stayed at lots of hotel rooms over the years and this combination of spacious comfortable rooms, unbeatable location, friendly gracious and accommodating staff are a real treat. We spent one day here while waiting for our vacation rental, and have to say it was one of the finest days I have ever spent. Lunch and a cocktail poolside; settling into a large comfy room with spacious lanai over-looking gardens, tennis courts and ocean; beautifully landscaped and designed; fabulous luxurious bedding; ending with viewing Giant Manta Rays at the open-air dining room/cocktail lounge "Rays on the Bay" and followed by a great dinner. Thank you for a truly wonderful vacation memory and one that was the highlight of our 10th anniversary holiday.

Room Tip: At check-in I was asked whether we preferred a room with two double beds or one king. I responded by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twyla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us during your 10th anniversary holiday; we only wish it could have been longer. The many compliments you have shared for our resort and staff are greatly appreciated, thank you. We are thrilled that enjoyed your one night here so much and that you had a chance to the see manta rays feeding in the water at night. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This hotel is a very beautiful one, beside that is bit old. Rooms are big, bed are huge and comfortable, pillow are amazing!!! The hotel is located at the point of the Keauhou Bay with en exceptional view of the ocean and from the pool you can get a beautiful sunset. Pool is great and have a water slide too!!!! The staff is very friendly and kind, always trying to help you. The restaurant have a very nice view to the bay even at night! The only two con are: 1) the valet parking staff is not much friendly. If you need to stop to take your luggage out to check in, they push you to move the car. They don't give you even 2 minutes!!! They are friendly if you use the valet parking service but if you don't you are like an enemy. The rest of the hotel's staff is excellent. The other con is that the parking for those that don't use valet parking is far and is difficult to get a space if the hotel is full.

I really recommend this hotel, is located in an exclusive place of Big Island, very nice, very green and very quiet. The views are incredibles!

The relation price-quality is very good. It's a Sheraton, so it's a bit expensive, but if you want to get the experience just for one time in a five star hotel, this is an excellent choice!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea front are the best but most expensive but are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kubanoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Mahalo for your recommendation of Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We always love to hear from our guests and learn about their stay with us. Your gracious praise for our staff is sincerely appreciated and we will be sure to pass along your comments to them. We do however regret the issues you shared with us about the valet and truly hope that it did not impact your overall experience. Your feedback is welcomed and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

A nice resort, great for kids and families in particular. We were there with a five-year-old and he just adored everything about the place including the pool and water-slide, which is one of the biggest on the big island. The room was large, balcony terrific and we were upgraded to partial ocean view. Food was pretty good at Rays, their flagship restaurant, just so-so at the bar by the pool. The hotel charges 26 bucks for a daily "resort fee", not sure what that got us entirely... I think wifi and parking but it seemed slightly high. What I really liked about the resort was the openness... the fact you could see and hear and feel the ocean run through almost the entire place. It's also centrally located and close to town and to some terrific snorkelling places. It's clean, affordable and doesn't feel "fake" as some overblown resorts are further down the Kona coast. I loved the wine tastings at 5 at reception and the fact you could watch the beautiful manta rays surf the waves while enjoying your dinner on the patio after the sun went down. It's also a great resort to walk around, and has two excellent golf courses nearby. I played both and thought the Mountain course was one of the best I'd ever played. It's absolutely beautiful as is the location of the Sheraton resort. Nice place, try the Spa, you'll love the location out over the water.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Aloha! It was such a delight to read your review and learn about the fun adventure you had at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. Our resort is home of the Big Island’s longest waterslide that spills into a freshwater pool complete with sandy-bottom children’s play area. We’re elated that your five year old enjoyed playing in the pool so much and that you had a great time at the Sheraton Social Hour tasting premium wines rated 90-plus by Wine Spectator. We would like to take a moment to clarify for you what some of the activities and amenities are that are included in the resort charge you mentioned. Some of those items included are unlimited complimentary use of Keauhou to Kona Trolley, two bottles of water daily, use of our Fitness Center, complimentary yoga classes, hula lessons, and guided cultural and historical tours. A comprehensive list of the benefits can be found online for anyone wishing to review it. We hope that you will allow the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
9.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
50.9 km away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.7 km away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
8.5 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,990 reviews
45.1 km away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay

Address: 78-128 Ehukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2525 (Formerly Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#6 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $240 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the diversity of Hawaii's Big Island with family and friends at Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa. From stargazing atop majestic Mauna Kea to tours of nearby Kona Coffee farms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort And Spa
Sheraton Kailua-Kona
Sheraton Keauhou Bay Resort & Spa
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa At Keauhou Bay Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing