We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,026)
Filter reviews
3,026 results
Traveller rating
887
1,064
612
297
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
1,064
612
297
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrays on the baymanta raybay restaurantkeauhou baythe big islandself parkinga mountain view roomfree trolleyocean frontbreakfast buffetcoffee shopgreat poolpoolside barpool staffpool sideoceanfront roombit dated
Filter
Updating list...
2,655 - 2,660 of 3,026 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Sheraton Kona
Very good value for the money. Clearly they are pricing some of their rooms ($149 from Orbitz) to recover from the poor reviews incurred during the renovation.
I saw none of the complaints mentioned by other reviewers, so management has been paying attention. Good and attentive service at check-in at their new lobby. Flower leis for the ladies and shell leis for the men, nice touch.
Pools were very good and the pool slide is fun. Will make you a kid again! If your shoulders need a little relaxing, sit under the waterfall. Didn’t try to order a poolside drink, but they did appear to be a little understaffed there. But hey, this is Hawaii, chill.
We tried to eat at Rays by the Bay at 8pm on our first night. Way too crowded, and loud band made it too noisy for us anyway. Went to the nearby shopping center to eat at the Italian restaurant.
The next night we planned ahead. Made a reservation for a 6pm dinner. Sun was going down, we asked for and they gave us a table with a firepit overlooking the cliff with the surf crashing below, plush armchairs were very comfortable, food was good, the manta rays made an appearance, the band was mellow, the temperature was sublime, all good! A wonderful last night in Hawaii.
Rooms were very comfortable. The exterior architecture is a bit dated (60s? 70s?) but that seems like a minor point and there is not much they can do to change that. No beach but the surf crashing into the lava cliffs is dramatic.
Annoying that they charged the resort fee on our second room even though it didn’t need parking or internet. Seemed like they were just making up for the low price point.

Room Tip: The “partial ocean view” is just that and not worth the $20 in my opinion. We looked at one of the lowest priced “mountain view“ rooms that housekeeping was working on. It would have been preferable in my opinion as it has a view of the twinkling city lights at night. If you don’t look down, you don’t see the parking lot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonathanCalypso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Mahalo for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. We are thrilled that while sliding down the 200-foot-long lava tube waterslide at the Manta Ray Super Slide and Pool you enjoyed feeling like a kid again! Rays on the Bay was recently opened with our renewal and offers endless ocean views, romantic sunsets and the delightful flavors of the Kona Coast. Each night guests can enjoy live music by local artist beginning at 6 pm; we're happy you liked the entertainment while having dinner on your last night in Hawaii. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We had come here after spending two nights in Volcano where we explored the park. We stayed here for three nights and were using it as a base to explore this part of the island. The staff at this hotel work very hard to create the very best experience for the guests. From the staff at the reception desk to the housekeeping, to the pool staff to the restaurant hostesses, to the concierge, the people who work here are some of the NICEST hotel staff that I have ever encountered and I travel extensively for both work and vacations. The website photo of the pool does not do it justice. The pool is actually a couple of pools that are connected and have hot tubs on the sides and a huge slide which is great fun for adults and kids. The pool area is stunning as it overlooks Keauhou Bay for the perfect sunset viewing spot. The central location of this hotel proved to be IDEAL!!!!! We wanted a place that was in the center of the Kona coast so that we would have a base to drive north to explore the Kohala coast beaches on one day and drive south to the green and black sand beaches another day as well as have a quick drive to kayak on the gorgeous Captain Cook area another day. This was the perfect central location for all that! It is also out of the center of downtown so we were able to avoid all the heavy traffic congestion that the other hotels are in the middle of. We wanted to try stand up paddling and within a very short walk from the hotel on the bay is a place to inexpensively rent the boards and take a lesson.The places in the downtown Kona area were much more expensive. We were paddling around gorgeous Keauhou Bay without having to even get in a car. The Keauhou Bay water is crystal clear and calm and turtles were swimming under my board. The hotel offers a choice of a fabulous breakfast buffet as well as a regular breakfast menu in the main dining room and there is a separate coffee bar that serves basic pastries and muffins. For dinner, there is a restaurant at the hotel that overlooks an area that is famous for spotting manta rays and we were not disappointed. The mantas were swimming there every night! Since we were so active with kayaking, snorkeling and swimming all day, we were too tired to drive anywhere for dinner at night and were happy to have such a beautiful restaurant setting at the hotel.With the spectacle of the manta rays, we didn't care that we ate at the hotel every night. Dinner menu was fine and there was usually live music. There is a fitness room that overlooks the water and a game room with ping pong and pool tables. Although we were a couple without kids there, it is a perfect setting for families with kids. They also have those fabulous Sheraton Heavenly beds that are so comfortable to sleep on! I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor and had no noise or problems, was at the end that is furthest from the elevator bank that goes to the lobby which meant that I was near the elevator bank that is closer to the parking lot which was fine since we took the car to explore the island beaches each day.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank criticalandfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with such a lovely account of your stay at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay. As we read your review it was easy for us to picture your experience through your eyes. Providing our guests with exceptional service is a priority at our resort and we can't thank you enough for your gracious praise for our staff's efforts. We were overjoyed to learn how much you enjoyed the pool, dinning and the other activities available. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Me ke aloha pau ole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just came back from our trip. Stayed at the Sheraton; location is great, right on the water, beautiful views. Had a chance to see a manta ray in the evening. The Manta Ray Lounge is a great place to have dinner and lounge inthe evening. The breakfast restaurant is good too, buffet was good, service little questionable at breakfast. The evacuation for the tsunami was handled well too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABSharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Aloha! Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay is set on a scenic 22 acres of tropical paridse offering the breathtaking views of the water you enjoyed while staying with us. We greatly appreciated everyone's patience and understanding during the tsunami warning and we thank you for your acknowledgement of our team's efforts during this time. We hope that you will return soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

I think the only negative thing I can say is that leaving that hotel made the end of my vacation even more painful! We were originally going to stay in Hilo, but heard there wasn't much to do after the falls/volcano, so we decided to drive to Kona and stay there for 2 nights. When we arrived at the hotel, just the view from the lobby was breathtaking! The staff was so friendly, they really seemed to enjoy their jobs, we were greeted with leis on arrival! The room was perfect, the pool was amazing, the views from everywhere (except the room) were beautiful. The restaurant was great, the manta rays were an added bonus. I only wish we had been able to do the night snorkeling with the manta's (didn't find out you could until the last day, and then the tour was cancelled due to high surf :( ). The Luau was great, also exceptionally friendly staff. Even though we had already gone to a luau on Oahu, this one was totally different (and more fun). We ended up changing our flights to stay an extra day in the end, wish it could've been longer.

Room Tip: we didn't find that the room mattered that much. the setting of the hotel is so beautiful, you probably won't spend much time in the room.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0c0nn0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Aloha! We can't thank you enough for such a glowing review. When a guest shares with us their impressions and experiences at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay it truly brings us great joy. We are so glad you changed your original plans to stay in Hilo and then extended your time with us by another day. Your many compliments for our resort, staff and amenities are sincerely appreciated. We hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for more fun and to experience the night snorkeling with the mantas. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great hotel. Clean rooms, great views. The only complaint would be the pool. It is big, and great, but there is no "adults only" section. While I realize people have children and are welcome to vacation with them anywhere, sometimes it's nice to have a relaxing swim or sit by the pool or hot tub with out little kids jumping and screaming and running in an out, cutting you off, splashing, landing on you while you're trying to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonKona, General Manager at Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Aloha. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Manta Ray Super Slide and Pool area has a combined surface area of 14,100 square feet with a 900-square-foot sandy-bottomed children's area. Your comments regarding an adult only area is welcomed and we are happy to pass along your thoughts to our management team. Please visit us again as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews