We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"coming home" is nicer than a B&B or hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Village Resort
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
bothell, wa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“"coming home" is nicer than a B&B or hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

My dad gave us contacts for Elite Property Mgt. Services where we found Sea Village. Just like home condo with full kitchen, washer/dryer, fairly quiet, and right on the water. Ours 3302 is set back but has a view of the water and it was fabulous to see the cruise ship come in this morning. Wish it has AIR CONDITION!!!! BBQ grills and picnic tables next to the pool. But very close to town and we are loving Kona since it has all the conveniences of home...Starbucks, Dennys, Safeway, Costco, drug store, etc...This is a great home base for exploring the island. Have to say that we had trouble with Elite Property when we signed up for a property on their website that did not exist, so they did give us an extra discount...fair customer service.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at the map of the condos so you can see where yours is located BEFORE you sign us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    73
    39
    19
    16
See reviews for
71
85
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in unit 1306. The view was absolutely stunning from the linai. The unit was very clean and nice when we checked in. The kitchen was well equipped, and had everything that we needed for our week in Kailua-Kona. All of the appliances worked as they should. There is no air conditioning, but the room was still comfortable for sleeping with the windows open. The bedroom was along the outdoor walkway on the 3rd floor, so you could he any activity outside but other guests were respectful and observed the 10pm-8am quiet time. The pool was nice, and offered a great view of the ocean where we could see spinner dolphins jumping out of the water. The location is excellent, it's about a 15 minute walk down Alii Drive (or a 5 minute drive) from Sea Village to all of the shops and restaurants. I was hesitant to walk the road at first because there is a fair amount of traffic, but there are a lot of cyclists and joggers on the road, and it really is more pedestrian friendly than it first appears. There isn't a beach at Sea Village, but there are several nearby that you could walk to, and many more within driving distance. The resort staff was excellent, we didn't need much from them, but when we did they were always very helpful. The resort feels more like a home than a hotel. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel with maid service, daily cleanings, etc., this may not be the place to stay for. But, if you prefer a place that feels like home with a kitchen, laundry, and dishwasher I highly recommend Sea Village.

Room Tip: You probably get less noise on a 3rd level unit with nobody being above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
243 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

stayed with family for the triathalon. the rules said if you used all your rubbish bags or toilet paper or paper towels you had to replenish yourself. apt 4107 was clean but we were scared we'd be charged for the rubber flap that came apart in the toilet tank. it was dried out and we had to lift it manually to flush toilet. was supposed to be fixed in two days but wasn't. only one set of towels each for 4 people for 5 days. i guess we were expected to wash them after our baths. dryer lint catcher kept falling out 3 times in one cycle so we gave up. it's a nice place but for the price can't you be a little more generous with the rubbish bags and toilet paper? minor broken tiles on the deck and no a/c. they upped the price because of the triathalon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My husband and I just returned from a 10 night stay at the Sea Village. We had a nice one bedroom ocean view unit in bldg 3. We were on the second floor, right above the pool, and and the ocean just to our left. Being above the pool can get quite noisy. However, they do close the pool at 9:30. The other noise complaint would be the location of the bedroom. It's located by the front door which puts the windows at the entrance to the stairs and way too close to the parking lot. People seem to forget that when they're up at 5:30 a.m. loading there car for the day, and stomping up and down the stairs, and talking quite loudly, that there are others still trying to sleep! There is a Murphy bed in the living room. We did sleep on that a couple nights so that we could hear the ocean and get the nice breeze all night. This resort was one of two offered on the Big Island by our DRI timeshare. It is managed by Vacations International. What I discovered is that a lot of the units are privately owned which by reading some of the other reviews could be better or worse. The VI units all have the same amenities. You can tell by the lanai furniture which ones are owned by the resort. We have been very satisfied with every condo offered through our timeshare. The gals in the office (Missy and Lei) where very friendly and helpful. On the day we left, we had to check out by 11 a.m. Our flight did not leave until 8:45 p.m. They offered us a pool key and said we were welcome to stay until 5:00 to use the outside accommodations Also, on the day we arrived at noon, check-in was not available until 4:00 and they did give us a pool key and the code to use the resort internet.

The Big Island is much different than the others. It's not as pretty as you drive around because it's mostly black lava rock everywhere. This resort does not have a swim beach. It's all rock. But the views are all great, and we enjoyed watching the para-sailers and the spinner dolphins from the Lanai. There are some very nice beaches too drive too. We were lucky enough to find Two Step Beach for the absolute best snorkeling. The water was so clear and the fish and coral were just breathtaking. There is a huge Farmer's Market downtown Wed-Sunday which was very nice. There is a lot to do, and a lot of driving to do it. Drive Hwy 19 from the north to see all the waterfalls till you get to Hilo. Come back the same way, because the southern roads are slow and windy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pegsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

They have a multi-million dollar view. No beach, but they do have a cute little pool and hot tub. If you don't like stairs see if you can get a ground floor room, because there is no elevator.Centrally located and friendly staff.
Kitchen had bugs, so keep EVERYTHING in the refridgerator. Pots and pans had mold, so I would suggest paper plates and microwave. Who wants to do your own cooking anyway.
I would give Sea Village a very good rating, but *NO AIR CONDITIONING* makes it uncomfortable to sleep. Overall it is a good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 34theroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
2.4 km away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.4 km away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 km away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.2 km away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Village Resort

Property: Sea Village Resort
Address: 75-6000 Alii Dr, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2310
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Price range (per night): $181 - $221
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Village Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your refuge at Sea Village is located on the sunny, dry side of the island in Kona, where the tradewinds keep you comfortable year round. Float in the seaside pool, or sip estate-select Kona coffee from your private lanai with the Pacific close enough to taste as the surf breaks against the resorts sea wall. A true vacation paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sea Village Hotel Kailua-Kona
Sea Village Kailua Kona
Sea Village Kona
Sea Village Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing