We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“WOW!!!! What more do we need to say?”
other travellers have booked this property
Private cabin nestled in the forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private cabin nestled in the forest
Lush drive up to the cabin Spacious deck with grill for entertaining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Private cabin nestled in the forest
Lush drive up to the cabin
Spacious deck with grill for entertaining
Private 4 person hot tub
Soak under the stars
Driveway between cabin and main home
Lulu, the property mascot!
Hosts Scott and Caroline Carson
Lanai with gas grill
View of beds; below and in loft
kitchen
Living room with fireplace
Loft with queen bed
queen bed
bathroom
kitchen
Owner's home and large yard between cabin and home (300 feet)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sergeant2...
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW!!!! What more do we need to say?”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

FANTASTIC!! Great location, close enough to everything but far enough away to get some peace and quiet. We felt like we were in a tropical paradise (of yeah, we were in Hawaii) being off the beaten path and this cottage is located on the back of the property, so you have privacy and feel like you have the whole place to yourself. Hosts were just great, can't thank them enough for all the "extras" they provided. If you're looking to stay on the Big Island, this is the place to stay! We WILL be back!! Thanks again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Remote Location
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like...................
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KY
Reviewed 26 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 12 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Hi Deena and Kevin! It was a pleasure meeting you both and glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We'd love to have you back again anytime! Thank you for the glowing review!
A hui hou,
Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
briscott9...
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best. Cabin. Rental. Ever. Period!”
Reviewed 15 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This cabin is situated high in the mountains above the town of Kailua Kona (10-15 minute drive to town). It is quiet, beautiful, and the cabin had everything we could possibly need (and more) for a wonderful multi-day stay. The cabin itself has a rustic feel to it with a Western, outdoorsy decor. Very comfortable furniture and beds, and a woodstove, a propane heater, and electric blankets for keeping warm at night. The owners are extremely welcoming and helpful. The property is very close to the Honuaula forest reserve making for a nice evening or morning walk. Beaches are just a short drive away. If you want solitude, peace and quiet, and a nice rural feel, this is the place.

My wife and I loved it, and would rent it again in a second! It's an incredible value as well. It was by far the best and also the least expensive place we stayed during our week long visit to the Big Island.

Highly highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere and peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2012
Aloha Brian and Christine!
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the wonderful review! We loved meeting you both and exchanging stories. Hope the second half of your stay with the kids went well. Come back and see us anytime!!
Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for, and more. Great secluded cabin with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed 2 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin was so much cuter than we even expected. It's located on the property of the owners Scott and Caroline but hidden away from view and it doesn't feel like you are on anyone's property but your own. Secluded, peaceful and welcoming. The cabin is decorated wonderfully with beautiful plants/trees surrounding the property. There are boogie boards, snorkeling gear, beach towels, coffee, books, and everything else you might need for a relaxing fun stay! Very rustic and a true cabin on the side of an old volcano! Close to everything via car and away from the tourist-y areas - perfect mix! PS we had our one year old boy which was a challenge with the open cabinets and other stuff to get into but he loved the seclusion and seeing wildlife/ domestic life (cat and dogs) so it was worth it- the owners even brought him toys to play with. No problem at all. Just blocked off an area for him. The loft is perfect for older kiddos.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2012
Thank you J and J for the wonderful review! We enjoyed having you with us and glad we all had time to visit and sit at the bonfire! Your son was a doll and we are happy you had a good time on the Big Island!! Come back again!
Caroline and Scott
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing