We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stay in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Private House/share nothing, 1/4acre big ocean view, 10 mins to town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
digitalsu...
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stay in paradise”
Reviewed 9 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The house offered everything we'd dreamed of: a porch with sunset views, beach equipement, a fully equiped kitchen, a huge garden with a lot of tropical fruits...
This was the place where I slept best on my vacation, the sleeping room was cool and it was so quiet!

Thank you for joining this place in paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
I am so happy your stay was wonderful..I love that! See you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liane_13
New Westminster, Canada
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mango Cottage. The place was very clean and has so much character. It was very quiet and private. We enjoyed meeting the resident cat. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peaceful place to stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Wonderful guest and you are always welcome at mango cottage!
It is so nice to be appreciated, see you again. Aloha christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latta
Huntersville
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A hotel will never do after a stay here.”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are spending 2 weeks here at the Mango Cottage high above the Kona coast. First you do not need to bring anything except clothes and yourself. This place is totally equipped with everything you need. The space around the house is tropical with flowers, fruit trees and a zillion birds including parrots and turkeys. The hosts are great and will take good care of you. It is close to everything you need and situated in a very secluded spot at he end of a one lane road. Bring something warm to wear in the morning as it gets a little cool. We have not needed to use the fans yet. Minnie the cat is a daily visitor. The turkeys get a bit loud in the morning. The beach is 12 minutes away as well as the airport. The secret is out so plan well ahead.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great bed and wonderful sunsets.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your patience when mother nature gave us a light show! All of you are wonderful, funny and beautiful guests...You are welcome here anytime! We hope to see you when the avocado's are falling! Mucho Mahalo's for everything! Hope NC is nice to you after 2 weeks in the tropical paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanlors
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Mango Cottage”
Reviewed 23 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Mango Cottage for four nights and we would highly recommend this rental. Christine makes sure the cottage is your "home away from home". There were coffee, drinks, and fruit set out for us as well as fresh flowers in all the rooms. The cottage was very clean and decorated nicely. Internet worked great. And the hot tub was a nice place to relax in the evenings.

I was a little worried about being far away from everything, but the neighborhood is so peaceful, I found that I enjoyed being in our own little oasis, and it's only a 15 minute drive to the town and several beaches. The sunsets on the front porch are amazing!

Christine made sure everything went seamlessly for booking, check-in, and check-out. In fact, when we changed to a later flight there was no issue with us staying a few extra hours.

We will definitely be staying at the Mango Cottage for our next visit to the Big Island! Thanks for a great vacation, Christine!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub, sunsets on the porch, peaceful garden surroundings
Liked least: My only teeny-tiny complaint is the queen-size bed, we prefer king. But, there isn't room for a king in the bedroom. And the mattress was so comfortable we didn't have any problems sleeping anyway.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
Much thanks for staying at mango cottage, it is greatly appreciated!
Do come again, you are welcome here anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Your own private home just a short drive away from downtown Kona”
Reviewed 23 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for a B & B when we stumbled upon the Mango Cottage. I couldn't believe that we would be getting the entire house to ourselves, and had my reservations as we are accustomed to staying in nice resorts with maid service and locations right on the beach. In the end, this house couldn't have been more perfect for us. The views of the ocean and nightly sunsets from our balcony were simply breathtaking. The furnishings were very beautiful and there was incense provided which we liked to burn while relaxing outside with the Hawaiian radio music in the background. It was so convenient to have our own washer and dryer and kitchen, and we loved being able to go to the jacuzzi whenever we felt like it day or night. The house is very clean and there is snorkel equipment, beach chairs, an umbrella, a stroller, high chair, clean towels, etc. provided for your convenience. Christine is extremely respectful of your privacy and we didn't see her after our initial meeting at the beginning of our stay. That being said, she is very helpful and has some great suggestions with regards to nearby beaches, restaurants and other places you might want to visit while you are there. If you are tired of paying a fortune for a tiny room and have a rental car, don't hesitate to rent this house! It's small and cozy in a beautiful location overlooking the ocean. The price is also extremely reasonable-a rarity in Hawaii!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space, ammenities, and privacy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
So happy to have you! You are welcome anytime, big thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing