We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great condo, great location!”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jsaundco
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor quality furnishings & kitchen/baths; no locks on doors”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

While the vacation rental was well located on Big Island, nearby Kona, and convenient for travel to parks, beaches, and trails, the quality of the furnishings and kitchen and baths were in poor condition. The outdoor furniture was metal and rotten through, the bedding and towels were poor quality, the decor excessive and tacky, and the kitchen and baths in need of major upgrade. The back sliding glass door had no lock, and the front door was an inadequate interior push lock mechanism; both need replacement. The KKSR community is, however, attractive and has a nice pool and beautiful tennis courts that would suit those wanting to use those facilities. The landscaping and exteriors of the units are very well kept and attractive, and the on-site staff was very helpful and responsive when large swells required putting the oceanfront barricade in place for 2 of the 7 days were we at the unit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Quality of unit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontanaMi...
Florence, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice spot on the ocean, but needs some updates/repairs”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed here for one week during Christmas 2014. Overall, it was a good place to stay.

Positives -

- Right on the ocean
- We saw whales and all kinds of interesting stuff right from our lanai
- Convenient to lots of shopping and restaurants
- Convenient to a beach plus good running options
- Convenient to highway access
- South a few miles from the hustle and bustle, so nice and quiet
- Good value for the money
- Right across the parking lot from the pool and tennis courts, both of which are quite nice
- The surf action sound is quite noticeable. This is a positive for me, but may not be for some.
- Good instructions from Knutson. Everything went well with check-in, etc.

Negatives -

There are a number of repairs/updates needed, most of which seem to be a result of being right on the ocean and continual exposure to salt air and mist -

- Windows are hard to operate and some will not close all the way
- Rust and corrosion on some fixtures
- A piece or two of broken window glass that need to be replaced
- Inadequate locks on the doors could result in a break-in. The front door is a cheap knob lock only and could easily be defeated. The rear door also has a very flimsy locking mechanism and needs a broomstick to place in the sliding door track. A previous guest wrote in the guest book that they had been burglarized. We protected against this by leaving lights on, closing the blinds and turning up the TV whenever away to make it sound like someone was inside.
- Upstairs bathroom lights constantly flicker. I investigated and determined the rheostat in the light switch is probably corroded from the salt air and mist. A new one should correct the situation.
- Housekeeping could have been better. We found hair and dirt in the bathrooms. This was not a big enough problem to cause serious concern.
- There is some salt air residue around from being so close to the surf. This should be expected if you want to be right on the water, but just be advised.
- My wife and I were in the ocean-side (west) bedroom and were warm at times (this was in late December). I would NOT recommend this unit for summer unless you are very tolerant of heat. No A/C.

The surf came up for two days while we were there and the property crew came around and raised the surf barriers on all the units. Sea water was regularly washing up onto the concrete right outside the unit, and occasionally even up on the walls and windows. It's nice to be right on the ocean, but be aware of the resulting challenges.

Check the white information binder for instructions to access WIFI. A frustrated previous guest wrote some helpful instructions after apparently suffering through figuring it out the hard way.

Overall, I'm glad we stayed here and found it to be reasonably priced for what we got. It's obvious this is a vacation rental primarily for generating revenue and not someone's home, but that's probably the case with most of these units. Some $$ need to be spent soon on upgrades/repairs or this unit will continue to decline and not be worth renting. You may want to check with Knutson on the status before renting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - ocean front and otherwise
Liked least: Disrepair of the unit
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaime7880
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great condo, great location!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We loved this place! If you are looking for a quiet and beautiful location for your vacation in Hawaii, this is it! It was very spacious--it was just my husband and I, but you can easily share this with another couple or bring along the kids. It is located about 5 miles from Kailua-Kona which was perfect for us. We wanted to be away from any city or busy area, but wanted to easily travel in for dinner or other activities. The pool was located right across from this unit which was convenient. Speaking of the pool, it was clean and in great shape as were all areas of the property. I also have to mention that the island decor of the condo really added to the enjoyment of it. The paintings, pictures, and other Hawaiian themed decorations were perfect and made this much better than staying in a boring hotel for a week. Only two negatives--The lack of air conditioning was rough for us, but we are used to the cool climate of the Pacific NW so others might not have that issue. Also, we were not given the code to open the front gate and had to call to get it. Other than that, this condo exceeded our expectations. We would rent this condo again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious,clean,fully equipped,on the water!
Liked least: No air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas, United States
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA, United States
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing